Customer Reviews for

The Horse God Built: The Untold Story of Secretariat, the World's Greatest Racehorse

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Book

I loved this book. I was born after Secretariat ran his great races but this book helped me to understand what a great and magnificent horse he was. It also is a great read because it talks about all the wonderful and devoted people behind the scenes that don't get enou...
I loved this book. I was born after Secretariat ran his great races but this book helped me to understand what a great and magnificent horse he was. It also is a great read because it talks about all the wonderful and devoted people behind the scenes that don't get enough recognition and the helped lead Secretariat to his victories. I own horses and have a great love and respect for them. I recommend this book to all i know!

posted by King_SolomonME on May 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Secritariat's life, or his grooms life?

I am personaly a huge fan of Secritariat, and for that matter any race horse who really put their heart into racing as Secritariat did. I enjoyed reading this book, but felt a little bit miss lead. I thought that I was going to be reading a book all about Secritariat's ...
I am personaly a huge fan of Secritariat, and for that matter any race horse who really put their heart into racing as Secritariat did. I enjoyed reading this book, but felt a little bit miss lead. I thought that I was going to be reading a book all about Secritariat's life and his victories and hardships, but instead the book focuses more on the grooms. The book seems to go off topic of Secritariat quite a bit and talks most about the lives of the grooms, and how little recognition they normally recieve for the hard work that they do (which I agree is true, but I want to know about Secritariat). If you are interested in the life of grooms on the backstretch, this book is for you, but if you are looking to seek more information about Secritariat you may want to look for a different book.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    Wonderful Book

    I loved this book. I was born after Secretariat ran his great races but this book helped me to understand what a great and magnificent horse he was. It also is a great read because it talks about all the wonderful and devoted people behind the scenes that don't get enough recognition and the helped lead Secretariat to his victories. I own horses and have a great love and respect for them. I recommend this book to all i know!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    Interesting read about the people in Secretariat's life

    The Horse God Built, The Untold Story of Secretariat was nothing of the book I expected. It was mostly of the author and the different interviews he had done to find out about Eddie Sweat, Secretariat's groom. Lawrence Scanlan was a good writer for this book because he was enthusiastic about his findings in the horse world. He also was very appreciative of all the work these jockeys, grooms, and trainers put in to win a race, but mostly just the grooms. Scanlan went and explained horse terms that non- horse people wouldn't understand and even explained some race track slang. His enthusiasm for finding out as much as he could was very apparent. This book did not include much about Secretariat's life and how he came to be. I will admit I was expecting more when starting this book and thought we needed more background at first, but the more I read the more I got bored with the telling of Eddie Sweat from friends and acquaintances. This book explained the love of the horse and the relationship between human and horse. Everyone that Scanlan interviewed told him about the incredible love between Secretariat and Eddie Sweat. Secretariat would only let Eddie take care of him without trying to harm in some way. I would highly recommend seeing Secretariat the movie, as it is more about the horse and his wins and losses more than the people. This movie comes into theaters on October 8th , 2010.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    not enough info on Secretariat

    This book was very informative, but I didn't expect to read so much information about Secretariat's groom. I didn't think there was enough information about the horse himself. The book talks more about Secretariat's groom than Secretariat. Nonetheless, it was a great book and I enjoyed reading it very much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Secritariat's life, or his grooms life?

    I am personaly a huge fan of Secritariat, and for that matter any race horse who really put their heart into racing as Secritariat did. I enjoyed reading this book, but felt a little bit miss lead. I thought that I was going to be reading a book all about Secritariat's life and his victories and hardships, but instead the book focuses more on the grooms. The book seems to go off topic of Secritariat quite a bit and talks most about the lives of the grooms, and how little recognition they normally recieve for the hard work that they do (which I agree is true, but I want to know about Secritariat). If you are interested in the life of grooms on the backstretch, this book is for you, but if you are looking to seek more information about Secritariat you may want to look for a different book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Horsey Love!

    I love all horses, especially chesnuts. It's like this book was made for me. I mean, I am shocked at some of the reviews on here. Seriously harsh. I think that the real message in this story is really good and smart. I mean, it's a really good story for horse-loving christians

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Expecting to read a book about Secretariat? The front cover say

    Expecting to read a book about Secretariat? The front cover says "the untold story of Secretariat" so why wouldn’t you pick it up? Instead, author Lawrence Scanlan uses Secretariat to bait horse lovers into reading his liberal political views on racism and to promoted class warfare. Scanlan to the rescue of grooms. Not all grooms. Just black grooms. Eddie Sweat wasn’t complaining so why is Scanlan using Secretariat to bash Chenery ande others? “Scam-man” actually presents his own unsubstantiated assumptions and speculations in a manner intended to sway the political views of readers. I wanted to read about Secretariat, not liberal politics. For a non-fiction book that was promoted as the untold story of a beloved real life horse this cheesy tactic at political posturing is nothing less than disgraceful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Awesome book

    This book is the best book I've ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Don't Recomend it.

    I bought this book based on intrigue from the title. I had not really research the best books on Secretariat. While this may be a nice supplement to other books. I do not recomend it for your first Secretariat read. I only made it about half way through when I decided I could no longer force myself to continue. It is written more like an encyclopedia or bibliograhy with a few good short stories and quotes. I felt like I had to sit through an entire chapter of references to be teased by a few morsels of exciting story only to start again with the references.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    *

    I was very dissapointed the book was a Christmas present to my husband that never came he is really interested in the true story of Secretariet.

    Linda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Picke it up and put it down

    Want to read the REAL story of the hero of 1973 that provided sonething to look forward to in tines of...well not so grea tines???? Get the book secretariat by willia nack. This....book...is a insukt to his memory and although it has a good title and picture, this book has almost bothung to do with the anazing horse. It is barely about Eddie sweat either. Dont waste your money. I bought this and highly regret it. I am a horse racing geek/fan and i had to put it down. IT IS NOT WORTH IT GO READ SECRETARIAT BY WILLIA NAVK NOT THIS THING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Hey what about Ruffian

    Dont forget about Ruffian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Secretariat truly was the best racehorse that ever lived but not

    Secretariat truly was the best racehorse that ever lived but not only the best racehorse the best horse!He was soooooo sweet and acted like my old horse that I loved SOOOOO much.Probly even more than I loved Secretariat!!! I woul allways Reccomend this book to EVERY pearson!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And I thought that it was Abosultly enough information on Secrctariat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Love

    I absolooty love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Hi

    This is such a good book you got to get it if you don't i would be mad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    I loved it

    Awesome book i loved it highly recommened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great

    For the people who want to know more about secratariate and not his divoted people read the book secratariate's medow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!!

    The book is true and great it blew me away it was so amazing so get this book don't be dum and not get it be smart and get the book two words for you amazing wow!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great!

    Very well written. Accurate. A nice job recounting one of horse ravings all-time greats. Ranks up there with Bill Nacks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Awesome!

    Great book**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3