Customer Reviews for

Horse Soldiers: The Extraordinary Story of a Band of U.S. Soldiers Who Rode to Victory in Afghanistan

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling True Story About U.S. Special Forces vs. Taliban in Afghanistan

    As he did "In Harm's Way", Doug Stanton has written another factual, thrilling account; this time about a small band of Special Forces soldiers ordered to Afghanistan on a secret mission shortly after 9/11 to assist local warlords in the fight against the Taliban in the northern part of the country. The soldiers pursued the enemy on horseback, riding over brutal terrain and fighting battles along the way, to capture the city of Mazar-i-Sharif. The book culminates with the exciting battle at the city's fortress Qala-i-Janghi, which will hold your attention and take your breath away. It seems like you are right there watching the soldiers fight an enemy that greatly outnumbered them. In "Horse Soldiers" you get to know individual soldiers and their families. While the men faced unsurmountable odds in Afghanistan, their families waited at home in great anticipation to hear from their loved ones. Can the soldiers trust the Afghan generals who are leading them into the battles? Are the people in the villages members of the Taliban? The soldiers must be constantly cautious and on alert. Stanton's narrative is researched exceptionally well; the book reads like a novel. Stanton has included a list of key players at the beginning of the book, which I found helpful and referred to often. Also, maps and drawings help you better understand different vital locations. Beliefs are contrasted between CIA Paramilitary Officer Mike Spann, loyal to the U.S., and the young American found fighting alongside the Taliban, John Walker Lindh. The Horse Soldiers combined strategies of calvary warfare with 21st century aerial bombardment technology. The soldiers make an effort to befriend the local townspeople and avoid civilian casualties. That they did so serves as a valuable lesson for America's fight in Afghanistan today. For the most part, this is a country of a proud people fighting oppression by the Taliban and in search of its place in the modern world, in pursuit of humanity for all its citizens. Stanton's "Horse Soldiers" is a book with heart, with an unforgettable message.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mounted Fury

    Doug Stanton has written the gripping true story of American Special Forces fighting against and sometimes along side Afghan warlords in their hunt for the Taliban in what can only be described as the Wild West meets High Tech in his bestseller, "Horse Soldiers". I remember when this story first broke a few years ago. I followed it closely on Fox News and CNN with both pride and fascination as I watched US Special Forces units, along with a host of colorful and often deadly array of individuals battling the Taliban from the air, ground, and on horseback as they transverse some of the most beautiful and inhospitable land on the planet.

    Doug Stanton has done a wonderful job of relating their stories. Written from the perspectives of those who participated, "Horse Soldiers" provides outstanding examples of how to merge the high tech of today's military with the needs of the mission, which in some cases, required US troops to take a backseat to the egos of Afghanistan's ruling warlords who, without their assistance, we stood no chance of success. What I personally enjoyed the most as former military, was that in writing the book, Stanton doesn't allow himself to get in the way of those telling the story, namely those who took on and fought the Taliban a some journalist do. Kudos to Stanton!

    I can easily see this book becoming required reading at any of our nation's military academies. As I commented to friend of mine recently, "Horse Soldiers" is like a Tom Clancy novel, only this is real! So, if you're someone who is interested in the war on terrorism or simply enjoy high adventure, this book is for you.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Every American should read this book. I knew we had brave young men serving in these Speical Units. Any young man or woman wanting to join one of these elite units should read this story.They would understand the vigorous training reguirement.

    I'm a Vietnam Vet, Combat Infantryman, so I can sure understand their heavy loads carried on their backs. As was pointed out in the book, you can't carry enough ammo.
    This is a very good read, my thanks to the Doug Stanton for telling their story.

    SFC Joseph H Wolfe, Jr. USA (RET)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling True Story About U.S. Special Forces vs. Taliban in Afghanistan

    As he did "In Harm's Way", Doug Stanton has written another factual, thrilling story about a small band of Special Forces soldiers ordered to Afghanistan on a secret mission shortly after 9/11 to assist local warlords in the fight against the Taliban in the northern part of the country. The soldiers pursued the enemy on horseback, riding over brutal terrain and fighting battles along the way, to capture the city of Mazar-i-Sharif. The book culminates with the exciting battle at the city's fortress Qala-i-Janghi, which will hold your attention and will take your breath away. It seems like you are right there, watching the brave soliders fight the enemy that greatly outnumbered them. In "Horse Soliders", you get to know individual soldiers and their families. While the men faced unsurmountable odds in Afghanistan, their families waited at home in great anticipation to hear any news from their loved ones. Can the soldiers trust the Afghan generals who are leading them in the battles? Are the people in the villages members of the Taliban? The soldiers must be constantly cautious and on alert. Stanton's narrative is researched exceptionally well; the book reads like a novel. Stanton has included a list of key players at the beginning of the book, which I found helpful and referred to often. Also, maps and drawings help you better understand different vital locations. The book also describes persons of constrasting beliefs - of CIA Paramilitary Officer Mike Spann, loyal to the U.S., and the young American found fighting with the Taliban, John Walker Lindh. The Horse Soldiers combined strategies of calvary warfare with 21st century aerial bombardment technology. The soldiers made an effort to befriend the local townspeople and avoid civilian casualties. That they did so serves as a valuable lesson for America's fight in Afghanistan today. For the most part, this is a country of a proud people fighting oppression by the Taliban and in search of its place in the modern world, in pursuit of humananity for all its citizens. Stanton's "Horse Soliders" is a book with heart, with an unforgettable message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Excellent read

    If you think you're a tough guy read this book. Afterwards, if you still think you're a tough guy you're probably in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Good book

    This was a good book and gave lots of details about the beginnings of the war in Afghanistan. There are a lot of names to keep track of so I would recommend a cheat sheet if you have a bad memory like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Play minecraft to all

    Funest game ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Meticulously written, and a fascinating read! This book will ins

    Meticulously written, and a fascinating read! This book will inspire and later infuriate you as we had Osama within our grasp only to let him squirm away. Nevertheless, the Horse Soldiers' tale of commitment and bravery under overwhelming conditions deserves your undivided attention!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reading this book allows those of us that may not have or may no

    Reading this book allows those of us that may not have or may not know someone in our present day wars some insight into the thoughts behind the events that have occurred in the last ten years with our American troops in the Eastern world. We read about the events, as we now know them, that occurred on September 11, 2001 and how America has responded from the point of view of the troops. This book offers readers a worth-while view of the events and offers insight, valuable information, and allows us to "see" the war from "inside" at the point of the war and how this war has an impact not just on the American troops, but troops of the Afghan people. In reading this book "Horse Soldiers" a sense of compassion and caring may come into your emotions and assist readers to understand a little more the mental and emotional toll of war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Fantastic read

    Never given five stars before but this book deserved it. Any book that can expand your knowledge on a subject and be a "light" read is a great book. I have been reading a few books on Afghanistan and as of yet have not read anything positive about the Afghan army. Most of the other books have been written by the soldiers in the story. This book is different. I have learned many things about Afghanistan and it's people, soldiers and the beginning of USA army involvement in that war. Action scenes are gripping. The soldiers are and were brave. The loss of so many people is heartbreaking.

    A story about war that will bring the scenes right into your home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Everyone should read this story.

    Everyone should read this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Awesome book and different view of the War

    This was the 1st book I read about the Afghanistan War and it truly amazed me. This book is way different then reading press clippings or internet articles about the war. It gives an in-depth view of the 1st couple of months after 9/11 and what the US did.
    It's an amazing story that has so many twists and turns. Who could have known that the US worked with warlords or had Special Forces ride on horseback through the country? It is an amazing read and I recommend it to anyone. Great page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    THE BEST POST 911 BOOK

    The book portrays the indvidual soliders, their personalities and families and the exceptionally detailed battles waged by special forces and the Afgan soldiers. Great descriptions of the logistical battle to insert SF solider and CIA operators. This is a must read if you really want to know went on in our secret battles. This is truly a historical book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Great book

    Actually read this via audio.very inspiring.makes me glad that we have guys out there ready to do whatever it takes so i dont have to.thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Wish I Read It Sooner

    Wonderful story of our bravest and brightest fighting alongside Afghans with supplies from REI. Great look at how the Army's Special Forces live and work behind the lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Excelent!

    I found this book to be extremely good.
    Although, I may be baised considering my uncle was one of the men in the group of soldiers, but that fact aside, I still found it to be a thrilling and gripping (and very factual) novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Great read very educational

    #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Facts make this book a living history of a new kind of war for americans.

    The author of this book went to extraordinary lengths to print only the facts and the circumstances that make this more than a story.The reader of this story will come away from this book with the knowledge and reverence for the bravery of these Americans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    Is an awesome book about the war on terrorism which mixes the technology of the US military and the long tradition of afganistan warlords fighting battles traveling on horseback.....gives you the insight on how resiliant the taliban and afganistan fighters are...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Coming from a veteran and seeing a good friend die in combat in Lwara, Afghanistan this book is the best non-fiction war novel I've ever read.....

    Absolutely amazing. Gave me chills and made me feel as though I was actually there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4