Customer Reviews for

The Horse Whisperer

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

jw

The story kept my interest the entire time. The characters were developed so that you can feel there emotions.

posted by 8718069 on October 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I only got the sample of this book, but right away I noticed this book has a LOT of curse words. I'm a high school student, so I hear them all the time, but I prefer not to have to read five in one sentence of my book, especially when they are not even neccessary. I not...
I only got the sample of this book, but right away I noticed this book has a LOT of curse words. I'm a high school student, so I hear them all the time, but I prefer not to have to read five in one sentence of my book, especially when they are not even neccessary. I noticed the other reviews didn't say anything about it, so if you're younger or don't like curse words, I wouldn't read this book.

posted by 1395115 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    jw

    The story kept my interest the entire time. The characters were developed so that you can feel there emotions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Love this book!!!!!!!

    I absolutly love this book. I would reccomened it to anyone. You should definetly read it!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    AWESOME READ THIS BOOK

    Gish i noticed the curse words too! But i just ignored them cause im used to it. This book does get a little gross at times but other than that i thought this book was really great. I thinl the author did a great job in discribing, i could really picture the stuff in my head. I HIGHLY RECEMEND THIS BOOK?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    I only got the sample of this book, but right away I noticed this book has a LOT of curse words. I'm a high school student, so I hear them all the time, but I prefer not to have to read five in one sentence of my book, especially when they are not even neccessary. I noticed the other reviews didn't say anything about it, so if you're younger or don't like curse words, I wouldn't read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    AWESOME BOOk!!!

    This book is called The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans. It¿s about a girl, her horse, an accident and the recovery. The girl is Grace and her horse¿s name is Pilgrim. One morning after snow has just fallen, she and her friend go on a trail ride. While out, her friends horse slips down a slope and crashes into Grace, all four of them falling into the road. A truck coming down the road tries to stop but can¿t in time. Grace¿s friend and her friend¿s horse both die in the accident. Grace lives, is in a coma for awhile and has to get part of her leg cut off. Pilgrim is almost put down but Annie, Grace¿s mom won¿t let them. His wounds eventually heal but he is emotionally scarred. Grace has recovered enough to go home by Christmas. Pilgrim is also moved back to his stable, but lashes out at anyone who tries to go near him. He lives in a stall that is never cleaned out and they shove food and water through a small opening in the bottom of the door. Annie calls a trainer to come and see Pilgrim and help him. The trainer, Tom is disgusted with what he sees, the horse¿s living condition and the way the barn is run. He goes away without helping. He is supposedly the best and Annie is to stubborn to let him just say ¿no.¿ She drives out to Montana from New York, with the horse and her daughter Grace. Grace didn¿t want to go and wanted the horse to be sold. They come unannounced and this time Tom is forced to look at the horse. In the end he decides to help, but now it¿s more than just the horse¿s problem. Annie and Grace are having problems too. Read the book to find out how everything works out. The book was so exciting to read. There was something happening all the time. Annie was yelling at someone, Grace was having trouble with her leg or Tom was working with a horse. I definitely felt like I was in the book because I could understand just about everything that was going on. The main conflict, which was getting Pilgrim better did interest me. I wanted to know if Tom could fix him. The character¿s were very realistic. They were very normal and didn¿t have anything very odd about them or any special powers that made them not so real. The books ending was pretty satisfying although there was one part that was disappointing. I won¿t give it away but it had to do with Tom and I thought it almost ruined the story because it seemed so unreal. The author wrote the book in third person. Sometimes the author gave a characters thoughts or opinions on what was happening in the story. There weren¿t too many hard words in the story and I could understand everything that was going on, but there were a few tough words that I didn¿t know. There wasn¿t anything really unique about the author¿s writing. It was basically the same as other authors. The author used a lot of dialogue but not so much description. There was a lot of tone, when Annie got mad, when Grace was happy and when people were relieved. I would give this book a nine out of ten. It was a great book but there was one part that kinda ruined it for me and didn¿t make sense. I would recommend this book to people fourteen and up. Probably girls and people who want to read a book about a family having a hard time together and a horse who has been through a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Excellent

    I couldnt put this down excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Horsrlover group correction

    We will meet at Black Beauty

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Beautiful book.

    This story is dazzlingly amazing. The power of remaining positive it gives is goig to stay with you forever. Incredible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Jace&Buckshot

    Buckshot stamoed his hooves, knicckering softly. Jace sgifted his weight from side to side, flicking the flies away feom him with his long tail.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A mare

    A pregnant thoroughbred mare trotted in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    V

    P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Annie to my new stallions

    Go to res3 or talk to me here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    You guys may join

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    To jamison

    Sure! Im Pheonix. A black stallion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Jenny

    H-hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Just loved this book. Exciting, love story that has so many aspects! Makes me want to pack up and run west!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Plz read

    I watched the movie...WARNING NEVER WATCH THE MOVIE!EVER!IT WILL PUT YOU TO TEARS!JUST DONT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Excellent read- very good book

    A must read- easy and fast read. Well written and meaningful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Evans' fan

    Well written; involving story. Usually I hate the movies that are made from books because they change and omit so much, but I liked the movie of this better just because the ending of this book SUCKED.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Marie alice /.-

    Is this a good story to read? Will it be worth the time or will i not want to finish it ? I wana know people(s) opinion before i actually buy it on my nook .. btw im a 16 year old sophmore in san antonio ^_^ <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7