Customer Reviews for

Horseplay

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

This book is funny and realistic!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun, clever, quick read.

A little hokey but worth reading if you're into horses.

posted by Franciek7 on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Very readable and highly recommend!!

    This may be one of the funniest books I've ever read. As a rider of dressage and a former working student, I love the idea that the main character, as an adult, metaphorically runs off to join the circus. Although my experience was considerably different, the close bonds that form with other workers through hours and hours of thankless hard labor were well represented in this story. I've read this book 3 or 4 times and just recently re-purchased it again through Nook. It was just as funny and entertaining as the first time I read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down. I really enjoyed th

    I LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down. I really enjoyed the story of Judy leaving her life behind to start a new one as a working student at a horse farm. It gives all of us in our 30s hope we might even be able to do such one day! I love horse books but it is hard to find really good adult horse stories. Look no further, this is it! It had me laughing out loud and in some parts I couldn't stop laughing! I hope she continues to write more books and I wouldn't mind a sequel to this one! Definitely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awesome

    Such a great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Outstanding

    I couldn't put it down from the moment I started reading it. Truly heartwarming tale of friendship, the unbreakable bond between women and horses, love, healing, resilience, and determination. A great book for horse lover and non horse lover alike. Will definitely make you laugh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Perfect

    This book is funny and realistic!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Laugh out loud funny

    I hadn't read a book (other than to my kids) in over 10 years and found this to be so enjoyable that I bought two more to give as gifts to my other 'horsey' friends. I wrote to the author to tell her to please 'write more books soon!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Frosts leader stable

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Funniest Book I've Ever Read

    Picked up this book on a lark at the grocery store. It intrigued me because I grew up around horses, had just broken up with my boyfriend, and could relate to the story's theme. Once I started it I could not put it down, it was not a schmaltzy romance, it dealt more with the clique of women that had formed on the horse farm. Their adventures were hilarious, LOL type of hilarious. I hope this author will continue to write. My only complaint with this book was that the horses seemed viscious. I have lived and worked around horses (Western) and did not have a fraction of the injuries and physical calamities these women did. That was the only unrealistic part about this book, otherwise I heartily recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun, hilarious book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    One of the Best

    I LOVED this book. It is a great story about a topic I am obsessed with. A great story with horses mixed in is a winning book. It kept me laughing all the time and I didn't want it to end. Everyone in love with horses should read this book because it may cross some familiar territory. READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    One Word - Sensational!!

    You can't help but getting caught up in this breeze reading book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Horseplay - A ride worth waiting for

    I was instantly drawn to the characters both human and equine. Ms. Singer does a fantastic job incorporating the country life into Judy's city lifestyle. I absolutely loved the book and hope she continues to write. You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Entertaining, Great read

    This book is so much fun:-). If you like horses and dressage, this is the book for you. It's funny, sad just all out good. Pick it up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Be prepared to laugh!

    I am a tried and true 'book-alcoholic' and this is one of the most humorous, well written, page turning, 'can't-wait-until- it's-5:00 (and the workday is done!) so-I-go-home-and-read' books I have ever, ever had the priviledge to read! Absolutely LOVED it! A definite MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Excellent Romp, Very Funny

    If you like sassy independent characters and lots of horses with quirky personalities, this is the book for you. I read this in two hours and laughed my head off. Judy Singer reminds me of Janet Evanovich, but without the murder mystery part. Her characters are lovable, easy to identify with, and just plain fun. It'll keep you up long past your usual bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    A fun, laugh out loud trip to the world of horses

    I absolutely loved this book and have shared it with all of my friends. I haven't laughed outloud like this while reading a book in years. How many times have we found ourselves in similer positions on a horse or coming off... I loved the way Ms. Singer captured a 'middle-aged' horse lovers feeling physically, emotionally and spiritually. You can't help but fall in love with all of her characters and feel you know them personally. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Sophisticated humor

    Ms. Singer's debut novel Horseplay takes a clever, funny, look at friendship, family,and relationships. While other novels with a similar premise use the safety nets of backdrops like LA and New York, Ms. Singer has bravely centered her story in the dust and haybales of the dressage ring. Anyone who follows Judy Braun's hilarious adventures from Long Island to Olympian Katarina Reinbolt's North Carolina horse farm will find themselves in the company of the funniest and most colorful characters to ever ride across the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1