Customer Reviews for

Hose Monkey

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Review

I like books that grab u from page one and thats just what this one did. There r some problems with no breaks between scenes where its hard to know where u r at in the story, but overall its a really good thrill ride.

posted by 8888649 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hose Monkey - Surprisingly good story

Hose Monkey is a surprisingly good story. Interesting characters who are well presented and easily gain your sympathy. Several threads in the story lead to several paths of inquiry that may seem a bit disconnected. These threads are followed up by a couple of former ...
Hose Monkey is a surprisingly good story. Interesting characters who are well presented and easily gain your sympathy. Several threads in the story lead to several paths of inquiry that may seem a bit disconnected. These threads are followed up by a couple of former cops who knew and disliked each other back then and who are disliked by some still in the cop business. Throw in some wives and girl friends and a couple of mentally disadvantaged people and it's a good story. HOWEVER, you must be prepared to deal with run-together paragraphs and, even worse, run-together sections. Because of the lack of paragraphing, it is at times difficult to decipher who is saying what. But more disgusting, it's very disconcerting to be reading one scene and suddenly finding yourself in the midst of an entirely different scene about other characters without so much as a space or other indicator that the scene is changing. It seems like such disrespect, such an insult, to the reader when these kinds of errors (probably from translation to E-script) are not fixed prior to offering to the public.

posted by pagemage on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Hose Monkey - Surprisingly good story

    Hose Monkey is a surprisingly good story. Interesting characters who are well presented and easily gain your sympathy. Several threads in the story lead to several paths of inquiry that may seem a bit disconnected. These threads are followed up by a couple of former cops who knew and disliked each other back then and who are disliked by some still in the cop business. Throw in some wives and girl friends and a couple of mentally disadvantaged people and it's a good story. HOWEVER, you must be prepared to deal with run-together paragraphs and, even worse, run-together sections. Because of the lack of paragraphing, it is at times difficult to decipher who is saying what. But more disgusting, it's very disconcerting to be reading one scene and suddenly finding yourself in the midst of an entirely different scene about other characters without so much as a space or other indicator that the scene is changing. It seems like such disrespect, such an insult, to the reader when these kinds of errors (probably from translation to E-script) are not fixed prior to offering to the public.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Review

    I like books that grab u from page one and thats just what this one did. There r some problems with no breaks between scenes where its hard to know where u r at in the story, but overall its a really good thrill ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Thumbs down!!!

    I tried to read this book and have deleted from my library. I don't know why authors take a good story line and have to fill it with language!!!!!


    I will not read a book that has this in it. I know this will never be used. Just wanted to share my thoughts.

    I have to give it a review- so only one star. I would rather give no stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Good Read

    When I first started I wondered how this book could be so long and not get boring. I soon found that it was fast paced, suspenseful and kept my interest. As I neared the end I found I really didn't want it to end. Good plot, interesting variety of characters and not too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Hose Monkey

    Really good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Quick easy read

    Kept my interest with a few twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Good read!

    Story keeps you wondering on who done it and what's coming next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Very good read

    Enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    enjoyable

    I picked this book of a free book offer and found a quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Starclan prophecy

    Fire will eat all in its path starting at the cats of the cliff(cliffclan) finishing at the moutains were evil lurks (mountain clan). Starcl prophecy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Looks ok

    I havent read it but the plot looks ok

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Scourge ti leader

    Do you want to join clans? I need help!! My clan is dieing and i wa wondering if we could join clans.....your clan can cme to dracula.....and live there with me im awfuly lonely....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    A fast read

    It had an interesting plot and kept me reading, but it wasn't anything spectacular. The ebook can be rather confusing though because there is nothing to indicate you're jumping to another scene. It is laced with profanity, too, so I probably would not recommend it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Enjpyed this book

    xx

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Good read

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    runningspirit

    Thanks! *walked to the warriors den.* -Runningspirit

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    It was creepy

    Let's see, what words come to mind immediately to describe this book? Disgusting, profane, disturbing, immature, you get where I am going with this.
    Story line could have held up, but the "romance" thrown in was a very poorly written aspect ofthe novel, with totally unbelievable sex scenes, seemingly written by a pubescent male teenager. Really, that awful and totally irrevulent to the story.
    Violence was very, very sadistic....... I don't know, I have read hundreds of books, but this one was just to freaky for me. Be forwarned....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2