Customer Reviews for

Host (Rogue Mage Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique subject

    I love this series! Defintley a change from the usual Vampire, Witch, Sidhe subject stories. Has similar plot line of "woman who keeps discovering she is more powerful than she thought". I liked that it kept me focused on little details of the story to be able to follow and understand the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Excellent!

    The most recent in the Thorn series but hopefully not the last. I loved every minute of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Fantastic

    With each and every book by Faith Hunter, I become more and more chained to the worlds she creates. I am bound to Thorne and her friends with no desire to free myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Really good read, well written. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    I hope she writes another Thorn is a great character

    I enjoy Mercy's strength and tenacity despite her inferiorty... good readl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful

    I really enjoyed this book, I enjoyed the entire series. The heroine is smart, she is capable and determined to save her townspeople despite the fact that a good number of them would like to see her lynched. I'd recommend reading this entire series, and then move on to Faith Hunter's Jane Yellowrock series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    The Host

    good read hope there is another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very Nice conclusion to the series, but leaves the door open for more.

    I read through the entire series over the course of 2.5 weeks, they were all that entertaining.

    The blend of action and character interactions were especially well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    The 3rd book in the Enclave series features the climactic showdown between the forces of light and darkness. Thorn St. Croix finds herself as a pawn in the war between the angels of light and the demons of darkness, when all she truly wants is to find her sister. Thorn's determination to find her twin has driven her to the ultimate showdown with a Major Darkness in one of the best battle scenes I've ever read. My head was swimming as I read page after page. Faith Hunter has boldly combined new age to the sci-fi fantasy genre and given readers an exciting series set a century after the apocalypse in the Appalachan mountains of North Carolina. This has become one of my favorite series to read and I anxiously await each new title as it comes. I hope there are many more to come. Go Faith!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy reading about the continuing end of days

    The Apocalypse occurred over a century ago reducing the human population by six billion. Seraphs sent by the Most High monitor and control human and neo-mages behavior. The neo-mages were born from mothers pregnant before the first plagues happened and survived the Last Days. Neo-mages are said to be born without souls abandoned by the Most High and they can manipulate creation energy to produce what looks like magical results.------------ Even though the Most High has forsaken the neo-mages, Thorn St. Croix from Mineral City, Carolina has risked her life protecting the townsfolk from the fallen Seraph called the Dragon, who is second in command of the Fallen¿s armies. He tried to escape and Thorn and company went down to his hellhole and fought one of the Dragon¿s minions and contained him.. The containment has not lasted and soon demon spawn and other Fallen invade the town. Thorn battles them with the help of the townsfolk who accept her as their protector. The Dragon uses energies from the battle to cut off the town and Thorn knows it is a matter of time before the enemy breaks free and tries to bury the town. She is their only hope if she can stay alive and fulfill the prophecy.------------- Even though she supposedly has no soul, Thorn fights for humans against the Dark as if she is the one facing final destruction from neo-mages and fallen Seraphs readers will admire her sacrifice placing others before herself. Thorn is alarmed when a Seraph insists she is the one who is the key in the ongoing war. Although prophecies are an overused device in apocalypse thrillers, fans will enjoy reading about the continuing end of days.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2