Customer Reviews for

The Host

Average Rating 4.5
( 2616 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1790)

4 Star

(504)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

So amazing!

This was just the greatest book! I actually liked it quite a bit more than the Twilight series - those just felt a little too young for me. (Not to say they aren't very good.) The characters in this book are amazing! I got to love them so much, which is almost stran...
This was just the greatest book! I actually liked it quite a bit more than the Twilight series - those just felt a little too young for me. (Not to say they aren't very good.) The characters in this book are amazing! I got to love them so much, which is almost strange because I was so angry with most of them at first (for the way they treated Melanie/Wanderer.) The plot had twist after twist and I couldn't get enough. Despite its being over 600 pages, I read it in a few days. I just couldn't wait to know what happened next! Highly HIGHLY recommened! (And I can't believe Kristina Marrick wrote a review on here!!! I loved her book too!)

posted by Hamlets_sidekick on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

It's readable.

It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an...
It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an adult level. I am 48 and amazed at how many of us older ladies have gotten caught up in her other book just because out daughters have. They are very excellent though!!!

posted by Moma on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    It's readable.

    It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an adult level. I am 48 and amazed at how many of us older ladies have gotten caught up in her other book just because out daughters have. They are very excellent though!!!

    29 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Disliked it

    I really disliked this book. After reading the twighlight series I was dissapointed. I know this one was geared more for adults, but I am an adult and I do like sci-fi. I just couldn't get into this one.

    8 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Impressed....

    I was not impressed with this novel,I was used to so much more from Stephenie Meyer..This was her first Adult Novel. Its Readable..I guess. I think she tried to make it like a romance, but she couldnt.. I didnt even want to finish the book, but i did, just to see how it would end..I think i'll just stick with her Twilight books..Me and some friends of mine all got the book together and each of us had the same opinion, though one of us did not finish..

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Disappointed

    I was hoping this would be as good as the Twilight series, but I couldn't even make it past Chapter 3. This did not hold my interest at all. Stephenie Meyer is an awesome story teller, so it could have been me. I more into the vampire romance and this just felt boring to me.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meyer should stick to the fantasy genre or young adult fiction.

    Imagine if "Bladerunner" had been directed by a "chick-flick" director. Or imagine if the Lifetime channel came out with their version of Star Trek. That is my overall impression of this book. It was a great idea and plot for a science fiction novel but I don't think hardcore sci-fi readers, like me, will appreciate this novel. I feel bad to say this, I feel as if I am betraying my gender, but it takes a certain kind of woman to write sci-fi. Meyer should stick to vampires and werewolves. The Twilight series was great and if she stays with that genre, I think she'll continue to do well. I think if this book came out before the Twilight series, not only would it would not be nearly as popular but probably not as highly rated as well.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    didnt like it

    a huge let down . i wasnt expecting another vampire book, but i was expecting the feeling of romance and excitement i felt reading her other books.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    I thought the story was very interesting but Meyers is not a ver

    I thought the story was very interesting but Meyers is not a very good writer. She writes like she is writing for very young children. The story was very iterating and that is what kept me reading, and I could see this making a good movie. But the reader has to use their own imagination more since the write gives you little but a good storyline full of holes and a foreseen ending with no surprises. I will recommend this just as its an interesting story but don't get your hopes up too high.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Major Tease!

    I could probably sum this up in three words... Nothing ever happens. I really wanted to love this book but 'The Host' wasn't quite what I'd hoped for. It was painfully slow in the beginning but I kept reading until I was too invested to stop. I was hoping for a real page turner and I got it... well, occasionally... followed by a snooze fest... then a couple more exciting passages... then a snooze fest. The middle was good, the end was okay, but I feel like she just tried to bulk up the book with weak and unnecessary stories and dialogue. I actually found myself rolling my eyes during several conversations between Melanie and Wanda. I kept waiting for something really exciting to happen but it never did. Something always ALMOST happens, but never does. And Wanderer's secret...the one thing I kept trudging through the book to find...the last hope I had for this book to redeem itself. When I found out what it was, I literally said aloud 'That's IT?!' Toward the end, I was just waiting for it to be over. I thought the ending was a little creepy and disturbing. So, perfectly perfect and happy that it just didn't feel right. Even the greater themes of the book (Love, Life, Relationships) were just weak, that's the only thing I can say about it...it was just really WEAK. I would definitely read another type of book by Stephenie Meyer, but not a sequel to this one. This book was pitched as a Sci-Fi/Romance but I think Ms. Meyer came up short on both counts.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    In my opinion, it was not good. You may like it, but I did not.

    In my opinion, it was not good. You may like it, but I did not. I am not saying that the Twilight series was the best literary fiction, but it was much better than this book. I believed that the original story concept was about a woman with a split-personality, and then the story was converted into the Science Fiction genre. There was noting SF about the book. The main character (rather half of the main character) only told stories of other worlds. There was nothing off-worldly about this book. Maybe if the characters left the cave, then the not so good book could have hidden behind the scenery or maybe a SF element could been added to the story. The worst part of the book was when the alien half of the main character kissed both Ian and Jared. The created climax was just awful. Really, this saved Mel. I'm glad I was skimming the book when I found this part. Around page 300, I read the end. I skimmed the rest of the book to figure out the ending was reached. A woman talking to her other self, her split-personalities are in love with 2 different guys, angry people thrown in, and it takes place in a cave, Again maybe you liked it, but I did not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    luke warm

    i liked this book much more than the twilight series, because of the underlying message having to with racisim. but it bummed me out that wanderer and bella have the exact same goody-two-shoes, meek, non-violent personalities (though wanderer actually had a reason and it fits this story well).

    its not as science-fiction as i initially thought, or action-y, but...okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    written by the book

    This is an old story that has been updated and retold in an exellent faction however it follows the most basic of writting styles. Its as if the writer followed a "how to write a book" rule book and the author just followed the check list. While I like the story I lost intrest in the book and never finished it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Worth It!

    I really liked Twilight, so when I picked up The Host, I thought I would really like it, too. The plot sounded great, and I was sure that book would be great, too. But I was wrong. Very Wrong. The plot of The Host was alright, but it wasn't executed nicely. It dragged on horribly, and the way it was written was completely different from the authors previous endeavor (Twilight). There was a lot of info in the book that didn't need to be there, and it got boring after only a few chapters. I had a hard time even finishing it. I wouldn't recommend The Host as a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm sure it's great, but...

    Silly me, I thought this would be another "Twilight." I only read about 1/4 of the book before I put it down and found something different. I'm sure it is a great book because I think Stephenie Meyer is so talented but I was looking for something else...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously?

    I was really excited about reading this book because i really enjoyed the Twilight series. I was definitely disappointed by this book. The first 3/4 of it was super boring. I didn't even want to read it. I'd read about 20 pages and stop because it bored me so much. The ending is good though. It was definitely a book i was happy to finish. I wouldn't recommend reading it, at least don't spend your money and buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It wasn't too captivating

    I was really excited to read this first "adult" novel by S. Meyer, but the more I read into it, the more I kept sitting the book down. I would go back to read a few more pages and its just a little too far over the top. It's a slow start and I keep having to force myself to read it to finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    The Host

    I've read the entire Twilight series and loved it. I wasn't too impressed with this one. It was okay reading. Wouldn't recommend this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Disappointing

    After reading all of Meyer's Twilight series, I was intrigued by The Host. After reading so many positive reviews I read it. I was extremely disappointed in this book. I found it hard to read. I finally finished it after trudging through it for a month. I thought the ending was somewhat predictable as well. It was nowhere near the quality that her other books were in my opinion.

    I was aware that the first few chapters were not easy to read, and the book supposedly got better after these chapters. I did not find this to be true. I was waiting for this to happen MUCH later in the book, actually! Anyway, I did not find it to be as great as others have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Not really what I wanted

    I had a hard time getting through the entire book. I could not grasp the alien thing and how it worked. I enjoy vamps and such but for some reason, the alien thing wasn't my cup of tea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eh. Stargate SG1 Copy Cat

    Yeah I got really mad when I first started the book because Meyer's idea is basically the same as a show called Stargate SG1 where aliens enter through the back of a human's neck and take control of their body. The humans are referred to as hosts by the aliens. I got so mad about that that it took a lot out of me to continue reading. The beginning of the book is terribly slow and takes a while to get through...but once you hit about the mid section of the book it starts picking up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't even finish the second chapter...

    This book absolutely confused and bored me. I am an avid reader and devoured Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series in just a few days. This book just never made sense. It's very offbeat and the storyline is quite unique. I may think differently if I ever decide to finish the book but until then, it's collecting dust on my shelf.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4