BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Host

Average Rating 4.5
( 2618 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1792)

4 Star

(504)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

So amazing!

This was just the greatest book! I actually liked it quite a bit more than the Twilight series - those just felt a little too young for me. (Not to say they aren't very good.) The characters in this book are amazing! I got to love them so much, which is almost stran...
This was just the greatest book! I actually liked it quite a bit more than the Twilight series - those just felt a little too young for me. (Not to say they aren't very good.) The characters in this book are amazing! I got to love them so much, which is almost strange because I was so angry with most of them at first (for the way they treated Melanie/Wanderer.) The plot had twist after twist and I couldn't get enough. Despite its being over 600 pages, I read it in a few days. I just couldn't wait to know what happened next! Highly HIGHLY recommened! (And I can't believe Kristina Marrick wrote a review on here!!! I loved her book too!)

posted by Hamlets_sidekick on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

It's readable.

It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an...
It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an adult level. I am 48 and amazed at how many of us older ladies have gotten caught up in her other book just because out daughters have. They are very excellent though!!!

posted by Moma on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Sucked In Yet...

    After reading such rave reviews, and absolutely loving her Twilight series, I thought this would be a great read. So far, not so much. I am only about 100 pages in, but I am so thoroughly bored with it already. I am finding that I am easily distracted while trying to read this book, and that does not happen when I am genuinely into a good read. Once I finally got the rest of my Black Dagger Brotherhood series in the mail, I finished reading those instead. Then I started on the Immortals After Dark. I just can't seem to pick up The Host again to continue where I left off. Maybe someday...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe deja vu would be a more appropriate title.

    First off, I do not want this to be an opinionated, negative review, as so much as an honest recollection of my personal account with the novel. <BR/><BR/>After being an avid reader since the age of five, I was shocked to find out I hadn't heard all the commotion about the "Twilight" series. A friend who works at a ookstore kept mentioning a black book with a white chess piece on the cover. After brushing it off, it seemed as though everywhere I looked I was being bombarded with Meyer's name and series. <BR/><BR/>I finally caved and bought the first book, Twilight to begin reading. Every single novel I have purchased I choose to reread after at least a year has passed. I feel as though your perspective and appreciation of literature changes with time, and some books must be read twice for the full value. Let's just say it might not be a full year before I revisit it. <BR/><BR/>After the first book, I was hooked. Completely. And the whole vampire, sci fi genre never appealed to me. If anything, the books I relate to most are the ones that in real life seem most plausible, but contain a character struggling to overcome a battle. I finished the entire series, Twilight, new moon, eclipse, and breaking dawn in under a week.<BR/><BR/>Naturally when I saw the host as another one of her books, I immedately picked it up without even reading the back cover. I began it immediately and finished it within two days as well. <BR/><BR/>The story and plotline were well developed, keeping the reader immensed throughout the entire story. Meyer has an uncanny ability to have the reader empathize with the characters in very real ways. <BR/><BR/>The major problem I had with this novel was the feeling I could not shake of familiarity. And not in a good way. The storyline was revolved around two young women fused as one, again in a love triangle where two men battle it out for her. It strangely reminds you of Bella caught inbetween Jacob and Edward. While it makes a good twist, REAL readers want something else from an author to keep them engaged. No one wants to hear the same story with different names attached. Creatively, there were a surplus of other angles Meyer could have carried the book in, but chose the safe route, one that she has used previously in FOUR other books. Take a risk why don't you. <BR/><BR/>Other than that, the book was mostly enjoyable. It seemed to lack the depth of the twilight series, and it is not a novel I would gush about openly to other readers. If you're extremely bored and a friend has a copy, it's a great time killer. If not, I don't know If I'd reccommend it as a must have.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay ...

    When I finished reading it, I realized I liked this book. But it was a chore to read, at time, because the author -- whom I admire very much, and I loved the Twilight series -- needed to have been heavily edited in this book. It just went on for too long, particularly the below-ground parts. I did like it though. Quite an innovative premise ...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Host" by Stephenie Meyer

    "The Host" is a book about a girl whose planet is being taken over by alien parasites called "souls". Every body of a species is to be taken over by the souls. As the humans turn in this cycle, many try to run, but most cannot even tell which humans are taken over. When the souls take over a body, every part of the person inside dies-except for Melanie. As she and her soul go on a mission to find Melanie's still "wild" human love, danger approaches and they both start to regret every decision that they made.
    As an overall rating, I would give this book a three out of five stars. Stephenie Meyer is an all time favorite for her Twilight books, but this novel seriously lacked. As I read, I approached a boredum and found that I often did not remember what I read. I think if it were a little shorter, it would be a much better book. I would recommend this book to adults with long attention spans, because as a teenager my attention span was not long enough to finish this book without re-reading chapters to remember what it is that I read. I would also say for you to not buy this book but to borrow it from a library, because if it so happens you dislike the book, you would not want to see it on your shelf for you will bore yourself just by its sight. My advice to Stephenie Meyer: STICK TO THE VAMPIRES.

    -(TYLER)-

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    meh

    I guess I was expecting a lot from this book. Towards the end I found myself skipping a lot of needless verbiage just to finish it. I personally, failed to connect with the characters however I thought the general premise was entertaining. I really really wanted to like this book but unfortunately, it was anticlimactic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    I really thought it was just OK. I liked the concept, but it se

    I really thought it was just OK. I liked the concept, but it seemed to move rather slowly. The parts that were intended to be suspenseful did not incite that type of emotion from me as a reader. It seemed superficial in excitement, and I had a hard time determining what the actual climax was meant to be. It was all rising action that took a long time to play-out. I did feel the sadness and confusion of our main characters, but I never felt really invested in them. I think Meyer writes males much better than she writes females. I believed the dedication, protectiveness, jealousy, and loyalty of the males. I did finish it, but I feel that the story could have been moved along at a faster pace than the 600+ pages allowed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't expect another Twilight

    Twilight was brilliant--as evidenced by the craziness surrounding the books and the movie production. This book just wasn't addicting. Who wants to "escape" into a world of filthy dark caves while being hunted ny aliens...the draw just wasn't there for me. The story itself is pretty original and I admire Meyer for being so imaginative...but it just didn't rivet me. Suffice to say that I wasn't hunkered down in my house reading this book nonstop. It's a good summer read but, ultimately, it's forgettable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ok Book

    It had a very slow and frustrating beginning. Took me a lot of effort to continue reading. However, once I past first 5 chapters, the story just got more interesting. To be honest, I expected more out of this book, especially after reading Twilight set.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good perspective on humanity

    The book didn't thrill me, and I didn't fall in love with anyone in the story, however it was a well written story and it left me with some lasting thoughts. It wasn't nearly as great a story as the Twilight stories, but I still enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good, Not Great

    It wasn't a bad story, actually very interesting. But my disappointment was that the character I became most interested in ended up fading from the main character position rather quickly ( Melanie), and I continuously wondered when she would come back to the forefront ( she didn't). I found that I did not like the main character very much ( Wanda), and never got over my dislike even at the end. I still think it was worth reading, just not as good as I thought it would be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    The Host

    The Host is without a doubt one of the best books I¿ve read this year! I absolutely loved the Twilight saga, and I was ecstatic when I heard about ¿The Host¿. The Host is supposedly an ¿adult¿ novel, but I didn¿t have any trouble reading it. I can¿t decide which books I liked more The Host or the Twilight saga. The reason I love reading Stephanie Meyer¿s books is because she always does an amazing job developing her characters. I hope Stephanie Meyer¿s decides to write more books like the Twilight saga and The Host.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    The Host was a pretty good book, although it was a bit slow but

    The Host was a pretty good book, although it was a bit slow but it did get better farther into the book. I was a bit disappointed with the ending, I'm afraid. I think that if there was one thing I would change it would be the end. I would have shown it from Melanie's mind when she woke up and then continued on to Wanda's. I was a bit mad that after waiting so long for Jared and Melanie to be reunited, there was hardly anything that included them when they finally were (which was not written about.) I do not think that this was a bad book, but it tended to lose the reader's interest and didn't really pick up for a while. Also, as I have already stated, the ending was very dissatisfying. But it was most certainly NOT a bad book, just from my personal view, I would have made a few tweaks. However, I am not Stephenie Meyer and her opinions or ideas are not mine and I can't really criticize them. I did like it though, just was a bit dissatisfied. But overall, I think for many readers, this will make the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Slow start, good ending.

    It took me a long time to read this book. For me, that is an indication that a book is not that great. I have a hard time putting down great books. I found myself looking for excuses to put the book down. I only finished it because someone told me it gets good halfway in. It did, thankfully. The ending was good so I can say I liked the book. I would not read it again, however. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed feelings....

    It is very different from her other books, which is fine but it is very Sci-fi! You have to be very open minded and in to that kind of thing. I have not finished it yet, just in the middle so maybe it will get better. So far a little slow also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Alright but not if you're expecting Twilight quality.

    This book was a bit of a letdown after how enticing the Twilight saga was. It was an interesting idea but not very well-developed plot or characters. In the end, it was a bit choppy. I didn't hesitate to put it down for a week at a time, but in the end, it was feel good. Didn't love it, didn't hate it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Worth the time

    Coming off of a Twilight Saga high, I was really looking forward to "The Host". I was a bit put off and actually started and stopped reading the novel 3 times before I gave it a final go. I'm a fan of Sci-Fi, watching more than reading, but the first couple chapters were just really confusing to me. Once I got past that, however, the story came together nicely including Meyer's obligatory love triangle. I am excited to see this come together as a movie, though I don't think it will be as big as the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    It was okay...

    The plot was a little slow at times but finished up nicely. Nice break from vampires!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    decent

    overall decent...however it seemed slow. i expected to not be able to put the book down (because of my expectations from twilight) but it was just OK. not the epic love story i expected

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Compared to Stephanies previous books this was poor.

    The writing style was decent but the overall book was poor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    This book was a good book. At the end i was tears so bad i could hardly read the words. But it was a hard book for me to get into. The begining was hard. But i think i was because it was so different from the twilight series. It was the same in a way. because they both deal with stuff that we are not sure exist. After i got past about the first 5 chapters i was hooked. I am hoping that there will be a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9