Customer Reviews for

The Host

Average Rating 4.5
( 2615 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1790)

4 Star

(504)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

So amazing!

This was just the greatest book! I actually liked it quite a bit more than the Twilight series - those just felt a little too young for me. (Not to say they aren't very good.) The characters in this book are amazing! I got to love them so much, which is almost stran...
This was just the greatest book! I actually liked it quite a bit more than the Twilight series - those just felt a little too young for me. (Not to say they aren't very good.) The characters in this book are amazing! I got to love them so much, which is almost strange because I was so angry with most of them at first (for the way they treated Melanie/Wanderer.) The plot had twist after twist and I couldn't get enough. Despite its being over 600 pages, I read it in a few days. I just couldn't wait to know what happened next! Highly HIGHLY recommened! (And I can't believe Kristina Marrick wrote a review on here!!! I loved her book too!)

posted by Hamlets_sidekick on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

It's readable.

It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an...
It was ok not the best or the worst. After reading the Twilight books I think I may have expected alot more out of this. It was readable not boring but not nearly as exciting as her other books. Maybe she should finish her book about Edward and kick it up a little to an adult level. I am 48 and amazed at how many of us older ladies have gotten caught up in her other book just because out daughters have. They are very excellent though!!!

posted by Moma on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 504 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Host was an interesting surprise

    After reading her "Twilight" series of books and finding them enjoyable, I was curious to see how she would write a completely different type of story. The host is different, still could be read by older teens, but it is a lot eerier. This is one of those apocalyptic type novels where Earth gets invaded by aliens, but in her story, the invasion is such a subtle one that it makes one feel a little creepy about the outcome. Her characters are fantastic. It takes a little while to get into the book, but she stays true to the characters all the way through. I enjoyed reading it for escapism, it reminded me of some of the Orson Scott Card books that I've read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I AM A TRUE FAN OF STEPHANIE MEYER

    THIS IS NOT THE TYPE OF BOOK THAT I AM USED TO READING BUT I AM VERY GLAD THAT I DID!!! STEPHANIE MEYER IS A GREAT AUTHOR AND HAS AN AMAZING MIND!!
    TO ANYONE THAT READ THE TWILIGHT SERIES YOU NEED TO READ THIS ALSO!! THIS BOOK IS SUPPOST TO BE JUST FOR ADULTS BUT I DON'T FIND IT ANY MORE ADULT THAN TWILIGHT!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Interesting concepts.

    The book starts out very confusing and sometimes spends too much time explaining theories and characters. I wish that it had more examples or side stories. Once I understood the basic concept of the plot, it was very interesting and engrossing. I liked the idea of the 'souls' being transferrred to different body forms, but wasn't intrigued by the explainations of the other 'worlds.' I really liked the arrangement of underground living. It's definately food for thought.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    The Host

    The Host, by Stephanie Meyer, was probably one of the most well written books that have ever come to stores. The plot of the novel was also quite interesting. It¿s about a group of aliens who are called `souls¿ who take over bodies in planets all over the universe. They do everything the host did before the Souls over took them. They all look exactly like they did but their iris is a silver instead of normal color and they have small scars on the back of their neck. Everything goes smooth until they go to planet Earth. The beings are stronger thinkers than they are use to. Instead of easily taking over their minds and bodies a couple of them are able to fight for their body. Poor Wanderer had this problem. As her host fights back for her body she tries to figure out how it can stop. Wanderer now had to battle things she has never experience before; love, the love of her host, and saving mankind from extinction.<BR/> I think that Wanderer like her name was simply just lost. She had been to almost every planet and could not find her calling. Once she finally did find a planet she liked she had to share her own body with another person. This was hard for her because she loved everything her host loved. There was a part in the book where she sees Melanie¿s, the host, little brother she falls in love with him just as her host had. She wants to hug him and love him but she can¿t. To do this it would give away that Melanie was still inside her. When Jamie goes on one of the raids and comes back sick Wanderer feels responsible. She feels that she could¿ve done something to save him which she was wrong and in the end lets her emotions get the best of her. Also she falls in love with Melanie¿s old boyfriend Jared. Jared is a hard working guy who hates to be distracted but when Wanderer comes back in Melanie¿s form he can¿t help but wonder if he can get his girl back. So he does everything in his power to do so. <BR/> I think this was an extremely well written book. It had romance, action, laughter, and sometimes just a good chat between characters. I think that this is Stephanie Meyer¿s best written book and will be cherished for generations to come. I believe that each character was made with such extraordinary care that they could actually be real in this world. This book is now in my favorite category and I will probably re-read it soon.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Blown Away ..!

    I was never into much science fiction until I read this book. This book is also captivating just like all of Stephenie's books are :-) . It makes you think how much you should value life. What's the real meaning of love. 1 of things i thought about is the fact that (Spoiler Alert) Jared i think fell somewhat in love with wanda. And the confusing part was Ian how he managed the whole situation ex : tellin jared 2 kiss wanda so melanie can come back (sumwat) mentally . I was like how and who do you know to love if you can't tell them apart because their in the same body. Anyways this book was confusing but thrilling. It's took me longer to read but it was worth it. I never thought i was going 2 luv it , cuz i was never into sci-fi but now I hope stephenie comes out with the host 2 or sumthing lol.<BR/>Stephenie has to literally be the #1 writer (in my opinion) of the decade 4 writing vampire books ! I hope she keeps working but at the same time she should take a (long) vacation 4 all hard work these past years.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    This is the first novel I have read by Stephanie Meyer and I am

    This is the first novel I have read by Stephanie Meyer and I am glad I took the time to do so. I have read YA Teen Paranormal/ Romance authors before and so I was naturally expecting the style of writing that focuses on female feelings with stylistic prose. Not to say that the protagonist &quot;Wanda/ Wanderer&quot; does not pull the reader into her emotional maelstrom--she does so often and it is rich with flavor as she shares the feelings of her host, Melanie--but the book is written with a direct style I usually find in more action-oriented genres. Something I personally prefer over the &quot;purple prose&quot; that is often found in YA Teen Para genres.

    The plot is simple enough to follow, yet pleasantly unpredictable. The themes of Kindness and Sympathy are well sculpted throughout by Meyer's very realistic use of the dichotomy of human feelings in terms of selfless v. selfish to counterbalance the--to use Mrs. Meyer's own favorite term for her parasitic aliens &quot;souls&quot;--altruistic.

    I felt that the major conflict--and the incredible reversal of that conflict through character growth were perhaps the best parts of this book. Wanda's antagonist is a shared mind, shared feelings with some rather steamy incidents regarding romantic jealousy over two separate men, and then the classic conflict of protagonist against self as she fights her own desires and alien rationale.

    The imagery is incredible, as well as the simple beauty of the alien parasites from their physical form to their direct labeling system that reflects a culture derived from unconditional love and honesty.

    One of the things that I appreciated about this book was the hypertext questions and musical links to go along with Mrs. Meyer's listening recommendations for certain sections. It is classified as YA, and the discussion questions at the end would definitely help place The Host in a good classroom environment, but it seemed to me to be not so much of a YA read as a very clean adult novel.

    I did find one minor slip in the story and that was in the characterizations towards the end. Some of the characters seemed to jump to extremes, especially in Mrs. Meyer's use of phonetics for dialogue to reflect rustic vernacular. It was not that she did so poorly, quite contrary, but that it was just suddenly much more pronounced at the final fifth of the book. Also, the actions of &quot;loving&quot; violence against the protagonist seemed a bit over-the-top as well, almost to the point of being uncomfortable and out of character.

    Overall, I am very glad I read The Host and look forward to reading more from Stephanie Meyer should she continue along the SF/ Romance genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    A great read. A little slow at the beginning, but captivating ju

    A great read. A little slow at the beginning, but captivating just the same.
    Also, to those of you who may not know, this Movie-Tie In edition also has the Bonus Chapter. I worried about this because I wasn't too fond of the first editions cover and liked this one better. So I was happy to find that this edition does have the bonus chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    The Host, by Stephenie Meyer, is a fiction book about love, sacr

    The Host, by Stephenie Meyer, is a fiction book about love, sacrifice, and determination. The main story line of this book is that our earth is attacked by aliens who take our bodies and use them as “Host’s,” or just a place to store their own soul. But there is one girl, Melanie Stryder, who will not let this happen. She eventually does get caught, which leads her to become a “host” to Wanderer. However, Wanderer can still hear Melanie inside of her head and have emotions like Melanie, which has never happened to any alien during this process before. They end up finding the base camp of humans together, who are in hiding, which consists mostly of Melanie’s family, including her brother Jamie, her Uncle Jeb, and her boyfriend, Jared. The Host is easily one of the most entertaining and thrilling books I have read, and probably one of the best books I have ever read. Meyer’s has brought a feeling of emotions, both good and bad, and she has written a book that you can never put down. Overall, it is a very good read, especially if you are into the futuristic books that have been coming out lately. I recommend this book to any person that has an interest in other books that Meyers has written and any other author like her.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    This was a great book and it is worth reading! Had a wonderful e

    This was a great book and it is worth reading! Had a wonderful ending too. I was really curious how it was going to be after reading Stephenie's Twilight Series and I was thoroughly impressed. She is a great writer and I will continue to read her books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    People who love romance but with alittle twist.

    When I first got the book I didn't think I was able to finish it because it was so thick it was so imaginably unreadable, but then in the first couple of sixty pages it was so confusing and alittle boring,but as I kept on reading and I understood what it was talking about and it was really interesting it wasn't like any other book I read before. I was amazed at how much could be written about a story and so detailed. The finally was not at all what I expected that was one of the things I love about it.

    Overall it was to die for!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    The Host proved to be a new, original, and creative work for Ste

    The Host proved to be a new, original, and creative work for Stephenie Meyer. I admit that I found the book a slow starter, but after the first couple chapters it was easy to become absorbed in the characters and the story. I have never been interested in Science Fiction novels but this book provided love, war, friendships, and an original take on alien invasions. This is considered and 'adult' novel, but I do not think it is considerably more adult than the Twilight series, however I feel like Meyer developed into a better author in this book. I would recommend this book, it proves that Meyer is capable of more after the Twilight series, and she is not a one trick pony. It is a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Meyers Invasion

    Best selling author Stephenie Meyer wrote The Host as her first adult novel. Like other novels by Meyer, The Host is centered around young love with a bit of a science-fiction twist. An invasion of alien-like creatures called ¿souls¿ have taken over the Earth and nested themselves inside the brains of humans to take over their minds and bodies. The main character, Melanie Stryder, has had her mind invaded by a soul after years of hiding but she will not go down without a fight. Melanie still has some of her consciousness, so she manages to convince the soul who invaded her to find where Melanie¿s loved ones are hiding. What follows from this is a story of true love and determination. I enjoyed this book because it was not predictable. It¿s a mix of a love story and sci-fi, the combination of those two things was what made the book impossible to put down. Unfortunately there were some downsides to the book. The story did not get interesting and intriguing until about two-thirds into it. That made the book seem a lot longer than it really was. This book is not for everyone. Even though it is considered a science fiction, it is more focused on emotions and drama. So people who are more into romance novels would probably enjoy reading it more. The Host is similar to Meyers best selling book Twilight. Both books are more interested in the relationships and emotions of the characters, so people who enjoyed Twilight would most likely enjoy The Host. People should read this book if they want a ride of emotions and an unlikely love story. This book caught my attention from page 1, and even with a few minor dislikes, I still loved the book. Overall I would rate The Host with a 4 out of 5 stars. It¿s a great read, and I'd highly recommend this novel to any reader to give the book a chance, not only to romance or science fiction fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    spoiler alert...thorough Critique

    The novel ¿The Host¿, by Stephanie Meyer, is vivid chronicle regarding an alien society that has come to Earth and is killing off the human race. The aliens are referred to as souls that never die of age and must inhabit a host in order to live. In this process, the human soul is killed so that the alien soul can have complete control over the body. There are few humans alive, that are in hiding from the souls who are trying to kill them. Melanie was a human until she was captured and a soul was then placed in her body. Wanda was the soul that was placed in her body, but Melanie was never erased completely. Her thoughts and emotions were still present in the body¿s mind. There is also a love story going on at the same time between Melanie and another human, Jared. When Melanie was captured, Jared lost his true love sending him into despair and forcing him to go find other humans underground. Since Melanie is still partially alive, she forces Wanda to take her body to where all her human friends are hiding. Wanda is adopted into the community, but Jared has a strong hatred towards her. Then another human, Ian, falls in love with Wanda during this time. Once Wanda begins living with them, the humans try to figure out a method to bring Melanie back. They keep trying and in the end Melanie gets her body back and Wanda lives as well. From the summary this book seems pretty interesting, but the way the author told the story is confusing to the reader. There was a lot of unimportant information that was given within the first 3oo pages of this book that could have been left out. It was unnecessary to the plot and did not make a difference in the end. The story itself was very intriguing; if the author would have got right to the point, it would have been better. Also, if the plot wouldn¿t have been interrupted by a flashback or memory every 5 seconds, readers would take more interest. With all the flashbacks it was difficult to distinguish past and present. Other the other hand, the figurative language and plot was executed extremely well. Readers can picture every scene vividly with Meyer¿s use of imagery. The plot was a maze. It kept taking odd turning and leaves you guessing for more. The twist at the end shocks you because you are not expecting this outcome whatsoever. The themes present are easily relatable to modern society and everyday challenges. Although this story takes place in the future, it still withholds societies present morals. The characterization is among the best I¿ve seen and helps readers picture the characters extremely well. The authors writing style is a bit dry and hard to grasp at first, but once you begin reading this book you can¿t set it down. The authors tone fit¿s the present situation and adds to the complex writing style present. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to take the time to read it. It is not a children¿s book and is more appropriate for high school readers. This novel is a great for projects and book reports because it contains almost every literary element you could ever need. All in all, this was a good book and I am glad I decided to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Really great story

    This book started out a little weird for me but then I found myself not being able to put it down.
    Really enjoyed reading this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic read!!!

    Wanderer is a lost soul living a new life out of different 'Hosts'. There's only one problem, the original human who lived in her host is trying to take control of her body once again. This book is an interesting and entriguing read that will keep you from putting the book down. It is very confusing in the beginning but gets much better as the book goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book

    I found this book much better than the Twilight series. However, reading the 1st 100 pages was very hard to get through, almost didn't hold my interest and I was kinda confused. But after getting through that, the plot and the characters became better. Now after understanding, I couldn't put the book down. I loved the characters she created and this sciece fiction universe. It was very unique. I actually liked the idea of it. This book explores the end of humanity and what the humans have to do in order to survive in a world of souls that are taking over. Therefore, it's a good book. A must read, but have patience on the beggining. Overall, it made me want Stephenie Meyer to do a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very intriguing novel

    I have to admit that the first couple chapters were a little dry; however, once you start really seeing where this novel is going I found it hard to put it down. The basic premise is that a silvery centipede like life form (souls as they call themselves) invades earth & are implanted into people's necks where they (in most cases) replace the persons consciousness, then live out the life span of that host form. When the life form ages, they (the souls) are extracted & sent to another civilization (if they wish) to inhabit another body. The story centers around one implantation in that the host's will is so strong that there is a fight for control. Most humans have been "occupied" (the telltale sign is a silver ring around the pupil), but others know what is happening & are on the run trying to avoid implantation, living in small bands as best they can. This book is the tale of the host/occupant being taken in to a band of hiding humans including her boyfriend & son. Naturally the majority of the band wish the now occupied host dead & not living amongst them. However over time & under guard, the host & occupied "soul" work together, ending in the "soul" seeing what a terrible thing her race of people have been doing to civilizations throughout the galaxy. The "soul" works with the humans to find a way to successfully remove souls from the host body (so that the host lives & recovers), then send them to another planet. Once past the first 3 chapters, I found this a real page turner and a very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Keep Reading

    This book wasa perfect read. It may start out slow but take your time on this book! Overall great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Must Read!

    I absolutley loved this book. Even more than I liked the Twilight series. It was a little hard to get into at first but once you do.. It's just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 504 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26