Customer Reviews for

The Hostage (Great Chicago Fire Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great

    Best of th e trilogy. Would not bother with the other two, especially the one about Lucy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Love the complex characters!

    I Love, Love, Love, the Susan Wiggs' books that I have read so far. I have focused on the Historical and love how it is woven into the stories. Her characters are so complex you really feel you know them by the end. But it takes most of the novel to really learn about them.

    This has action and even though it takes place during the Chicago fire, it has only a small portion that is about that event.

    It has the unlikely characters coming together in a very unlikely way that she likes to write about. It also has deep secrets that are unveiled toward the end that help us understand the characters. I think it really makes you think about abuse, and tragedy and how it can affect who you are by the way in which you handle life's challenges.

    The end was not what I expected, or predicted but it worked and I did feel good when it was all finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    An Excellent and Beautiful book in a wonderful series! Read this one first!

    The genre of the book is not one that is in my "normal" reading preferences, I am more of an England or Scotland kind of romance reader, but I am SO VERY GLAD that I picked this book up. I actually was so into the book that I cried and laughed out loud. The characters are very easy to relate to and the hero and heroine will own your heart. I love this book! Just make sure you read this one first. This was really a beautiful and well written book. The best of the trilogy. The book takes you on such an emotional journey, it is the stuff that dreams are made of. I also learned so much about the Chicago fire and about the rich and the poor in Chicago during that time period. You can tell that Ms. Wiggs really put a lot of time and research into the story. BRAVO! I lend this book out a lot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Mimimi result one.

    T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great read!!!!!

    Fast paced. Love her characters and settings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Janet

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I couldn't put it down!

    This is the first of the Chicago Fire Trilogy and after reading it, I MUST read the other two books in the trilogy. It begins on the day the Great Chicago Fire starts and begins by telling the reader that something has happened the previous evening to our heroine, Deborah, that has affected her whole outlook on her life. We are kept wondering what happened until 3/4 of the way through the book. I love how Deborah learns what life is really about, having only known the shallow and glitzy world of the rich and pampered. The wonderful descriptions and the story of Deborah and Tom - a wonderful love story, kept me reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    I wanted much more for this book

    Exciting start with the fire, the author really knows her Chicago landmarks. Then the book became blah, the any other half-heartedly written romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    u want romance and adventure here it is

    this book is amazing if you want to read a book on love and adventure. this book not only has adventure and romance it shows the romance of a prestigous female who doesn't even know who she is until she finds friends with this savage man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Great!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was deeply emotional and had a wonderful chemistry between the main characters. I would recommend this book to any romance fan and it has made me want to read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Not a fan of historical romance.....

    But this book got me hook. It was given to me. At first I thought it will be like dummy romance. As soon I started to reading, I couldn't put it down. It was like, "Be quiet, I am reading..." Finished in two days. I like Susan Wiggs' writing. It's not too fruity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book made me want to read all the time!

    This book was glued to my eyes for a week. I have always been the kind of person who preferred movies over books, but not any more. I actually found it more thrilling to read this story than if I were to watch it on TV. After finishing the book, I had grown so emotionally connected witht he characters, that I was actually sad the book was over because I loved to read it so much. I couldn't wait to go back to the book store and get the second book to the Great Chicago Fire Trilogy! I highly recommend this book because Wiggs has a great Writing Style that is easy to follow and flows. I could write a whole essay about how much I love this book, but it is getting late and I need to go read The Mistress by Susan Wiggs!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2001

    Descriptive, fast paced and amazingly good

    From the very beginning, her wording draws you into the story with the way she makes you wonder... and with the texturized writing style that makes the reader feel as if s/he is there while keeping such a fast pace in the story... this book is written as any romance, but is ever so special and unique, like an epic..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Susan Wiggs Does it Again!

    I really enjoyed this book. Susan Wiggs' stories are unique in that they don't seem to be the same plot with different details each time. She doesn't crank them out as fast as other authors and I can really tell a difference in terms of quality. Tom and Deborah each had many layers to their respective personalities that were gradually revealed and the development of their relationship was quite believable. The end of the book was disappointing only in that I was finished reading my new friends' story and there wasn't anything more. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Endearing Americana romance

    In 1871, an angry and desperate Deborah Sinclair visits her wealthy father Arthur to demand he stop the marriage he wants for his daughter. Arthur, a self-made millionaire from his commerce dealings, wants the acceptance of high society. He sees Deborah through marriage to Philip Ascot as his ticket. Deborah knows no one ever refuses to do something that Arthur demands. Still, she tells him she will not marry the odious Philip. Their squabble remains undecided when the duo flees due to the spread of fire. <P>Tom Silver plans to enact vengeance on Arthur for the devastation on his village caused by the industrial mogul¿s copper mines. Tom kidnaps Deborah, taking her to his remote island home. Though none of the islanders will help Deborah, she soon gains their respect by helping them with their chores. Soon Tom finds himself in love with the daughter of his enemy who returns his deepest feelings. Though she has broken through his heart that had been as icy as the blizzards that isolate the village, he still owes his villagers, but he no longer knows what to do. <P>THE HOSTAGE is a beautiful relationship drama that brings life in a remote late nineteenth century American village to life. The story line is character driven and thus not for those who enjoy action-packed tales. The lead characters are a wonderful duo and the villagers add depth to the look at the era. Susan Wiggs is so good at the descriptions, the audience will winter garb just to feel warm while reading this endearing illuminating Americana romance. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5