Customer Reviews for

Hostage Zero (Jonathan Grave Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 529 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A bargain for under $5...

This e-book was more of a "shoot-em-up" than I usually read, but I was compelled to keep turning the pages for more. The characters weren't just seasoned mercenaries, they were tough guys with hearts of gold...well, maybe bronze.

posted by lovemynookFL on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Author could stand to do some research

I had previously read another book in the series and though it was a good read. This time the author failed to do some basic research and it spoiled the book for me. One of the characters is portrayed as a Marine "medic" throughout the story. Cursory research would h...
I had previously read another book in the series and though it was a good read. This time the author failed to do some basic research and it spoiled the book for me. One of the characters is portrayed as a Marine "medic" throughout the story. Cursory research would have led the author to the fact that there are no Marine medics. Navy corpsmen accompany Marine units.

Semper Fi

posted by mechnginear on August 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one intriguing suspensful read!

    This is one intriguing suspenseful read!! Two students, Jeremy Schuler and Evan Guinn, from Resurrection House, are kidnapped in a late night raid on the facility. Jonathan, (Digger), Grave and his team seek to save their lives. The rescue expert questions why these kids and others are being kidnapped because there is no ransom money available to make it worth kidnapping them. Digger runs Security Solutions which funds Resurrection House and also a secret firm within the firm known only to key employees. Schuler is left for dead nearby, while Guinn is wisked away to the South American jungles of Colombia. Grave learns that there is a connection between the government and the mob who are behind the abductions. It keeps the reader entertained for hours!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A bargain for under $5...

    This e-book was more of a "shoot-em-up" than I usually read, but I was compelled to keep turning the pages for more. The characters weren't just seasoned mercenaries, they were tough guys with hearts of gold...well, maybe bronze.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting thriller

    In Virginia, former marine now homeless Harvey Rodriguez finds the kid near death and tries to help Jeremy Schuler survive as he had been left for dead; his roommate Anthony at the school for children of jailed parents remains kidnapped. Not far away, posing as FBI Agent Leon Harris, freelance hostage rescuer Jonathan "Digger" Grave questions nineteen year old jailed prisoner Jimmy Henry while his associates Boxer and call me Ven-ee-chay" watch his progress and his back from different milieus. He tells the teen the associates who hired him they do not want any information re the kidnapping or shooting to get out so he will bust him out, but if betrays him he will kill him.

    Digger and his team seek to save the lives of Jeremy and Anthony. The rescue expert is confused why these kids and others are being snatched as there is no ransom money available to make it worth kidnapping them. Thus they begin the quest with the only one caught: Jimmy Henry. However, though not one to put anything passed those in power, Grave is shocked when he realizes a connection between the government and the mob is behind the abductions.

    This is an exciting thriller as the audience learns why the abductions occur, who the victims are, and what choices the older lads have between slave, overseer, or death. Fans will be hooked from the moment Digger goes after Jimmy and then his associates in what is a fast-paced action-packed tale as the hero and his teammates learn the hard way that the enemy kills with No Mercy to the innocent.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I only hope that a real Jonathan Grave exists

    In Hostage Zero, Jonathan Grave's hostage recovery work takes him to a jungle cocaine factory in Columbia. There he finds not only the kidnapped child he seeks to rescue, but a whole "city" of abused child laborers. As in his previous book, No Mercy, part of this plot deals with government/political corruption. I like Jonathan. I like the group of friends who are part of his personal black ops team. One new member of the team is Harvey, ex-Marine medic and convicted pedophile. I hope I will see him again in this Jonathan Grave series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read on the same level as Ludlum and Lee Child.

    It was hard to put down my Nook and go to sleep or to watch TV. The characters are believeable and well developed. The plot was very interesting and real in that it depicted the horrows of the coca production in S. America. I hope to read more from this author. His workn would make a great movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Fabulous! Johnathan Grave ROCKS!

    After reading No Mercy, the first Johnathan Grave book, I didnt think it could get any better. I was wrong! This book is awesome...fast paced, great characters and great action! I cant wait for the next book. I recommend this book and No Mercy to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    Page turner and action packed

    I have read "No Mercy" and now this one "Hostage Zero" and loved both. They are action packed! I am looking forward to reading more of John Gilstrap books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Great book!

    John Gilstrap is a master at suspense and keeps you on the edge until the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    Author could stand to do some research

    I had previously read another book in the series and though it was a good read. This time the author failed to do some basic research and it spoiled the book for me. One of the characters is portrayed as a Marine "medic" throughout the story. Cursory research would have led the author to the fact that there are no Marine medics. Navy corpsmen accompany Marine units.

    Semper Fi

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Good read

    I liked the book it was a bit predictable, and seem to have a few plot holes, but all in all it was a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Action Action!

    Another awesome book. Great storyline about how good guys will go into a jungle to rescure children. Kept me reading it without putting it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    I highly recommended!

    John Gilstrap is one of the best writers. And his, Jonathan Grave series are the best! If you like intrigue and action, you have to read these!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    ?

    Where is the sample ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    John Gilstrap is perfect reading if you want a hero. The Jonatha

    John Gilstrap is perfect reading if you want a hero. The Jonathan Grave series is a Hero Born. Page after page of suspense! You will want to get to the next book in the series as soon as you get to the last page. John Gilstrap has truly created a Hero. Brilliant. Write faster Mr. Gilstrap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Read the first book and just hot two snd three. Great resd love the story line and the characters

    Worth reading..characters and story great . BN put this in my books you might like and hit it dead on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Gilstrap one of the best

    Love the hero. Great writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Another great book by John Gilstap.

    Mr. Gilstrap was in error when he claimed that one of the characters was a Marine corpsman, which explained his sensative side. Corpsmen are the best of best but are actually Navy enlisted personnel. I thought that the writer was in error the way he wrote about Marines versus Army. There is huge difference between services and the way they function and what they are trained to do.
    Great book otherwise.
    RCH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Morgan

    Ill bb in about 3 hrs ps im carmen so we can just stay at chick res 2

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Jack

    Kk..

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    I am hooked on this series...

    I just stumbles on this author and now I am hooked on this series he is writing. Please continue them. I have read all of them in the last week!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27