Customer Reviews for

Hostage of Lies

Average Rating 4.5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    Hostage of Lies
    Maxine Thompson
    ISBN: 978-1-59983-095-7
    Urban Books

    Hostage of Lies was a pretty good book. This book touches bases on slavery, voodoo, interacial marriages, and prejudice. The family in the book has alot of issues and secrets.Titi gave birth at a tender age and gave the baby up for adoption. On her father's 75th birthday she chooses to come home and search for the baby she gave up.Her current husband, her second, does not know she had gave birth to a 3rd child, and is multi-racial, though she passes for white. Two men want her back, one her first husband, the other is the father to the baby she gave up for adoption.
    Titi's father is out-right mean to her and Titi never understands why she is being treated this way. She knows she messed up her father's standing in their community as minister.

    This book describes the events as they unfold, the secrets are the best as you never know what is coming next. This book is intriging to the last page, and secrets all the way. I highly recommend this book to everyone, no matter their race, or thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Novel...Loved the Ending!

    This book was a good read. Dr. Maxine Thompson's skilled use of the written word is impressive and quite obvious as she weaves a tale of doubt, deceit, and heartbreak...and those are just a glimpse of what is going on among her characters! There were times when I did become slightly confused while reading the novel because at various points in the story, the author takes the reader back in time to reveal relevant history - be it African American history or the more personal history of one of her characters. However, this made the story that much more realistic. Her main characters are enduring. You will condemn some and have emphathy for others, and their journey of emotional struggles will leave you contemplating your own stance in life. The book will keep you guessing. The suspense continues to mount until you just HAVE to know the answer to the 'who, what, and when'. If you enjoy reading well-written, quality fiction, you will enjoy this book. I REALLY loved the way the author executed the ending! I'm looking forward to reading more of her works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Many Underlying Stories

    Overall, this was a pretty good book. It was a difficult read for me, though. There were so many underlying stories, and the fact that it was told out of sequence, with so many characters, that I was a little confused at times. This book touches on slavery, voodoo, interracial marriage, family relations, prejudice in the African American community based on skin color, expectations for people who've "made" it in the African American community, genealogy...

    There is a lot of racism, and a lot of the use of the "n-word", that I was uncomfortable. Although I'm African American I've never experienced much of either of those two issues, which is probably what made them uncomfortable for me. I've never heard the "n-word" used in my immediate family - ever. Not from my parents or siblings. If my memory is correct, I was 18 the first time I heard that word, and I remember the specific circumstance. It wasn't pleasant, and I'll never forget it, though.

    Oh my gosh this family has a LOT of issues and secrets. Whew! Nefertiti, called Titi, birthed a child at a young age and gave her up for adoption. She has been estranged from her family for years, and chooses the weekend of her father's 75th birthday celebration to come home and begin to search for the daughter she gave up for adoption. Her current husband, her second, doesn't know that she gave birth to a 3rd child, and is multi-racial, but could pass for white. Nefertiti's family and Nefertiti herself have unresolved issues around this. Isaac, her first husband and the father of her two other children, who cheated on her and ended up marrying the woman he cheated on her with, and who now makes him absolutely miserable, wants her back. Pharoah, who is the father of the girl she gave up for adoption, has served two tours in Vietnam, and is unstable, also wants her back.

    Her father is down-right mean to her, and she doesn't understand it - except that she's being punished for getting pregnant at such a young age, which would ruin her father's standing in the community as a minister. The real reason is so much worse.

    This book describes the events from the Wednesday that she comes back home to Shallow's Corner to the day after her father's birthday celebration, and is packed with intrigue. All the way to the last page. I didn't know that very last secret was even coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Who is survive the deceit and the lies? Who will finally be set free?

    Hostage of Lies
    By Dr. Maxine Thompson

    Throughout our lives we make choices that mold our futures and sometimes affect us in both positive and negative ways. Spouses, boyfriends, first loves and career decisions affect our futures and often reflect on the way others treat us. Unfortunately, mistakes and digressions into paths we should not follow, often cloud our judgment reflect poorly on the way others act toward us in our presence. The characters in Hostage of Lies, all harbor secrets that they do not want uncovered. Some secrets more harmful and destructive than others. Those that pass judgment should not cast the first stone on others since their records are not pure. This brings me to my review of Hostage of Lies a novel that brings to light many relevant issues of the present and comes full circle with some from the past.

    Nefertiti is a proud African American woman who has reverted back to her African American roots. Changing her appearance and wearing the clothing indignant of her heritage, she returns to her home after being castigated and banished by her father, she reenters his life and others in Shallow Falls to find the answers to many questions that have been harbored within her soul and mind for too long. Married to Isaac Thorn for 12 years and having two children with him, her bond to this small town is still quite clear, but how strong remains to be seen. Pharaoh, Isaac's half brother was the first man that she was intimate with and these two men have been reliving, reviving and rekindling in their own minds the feelings for her, their animosity for each other and their own brand of anger that spews from their lips when together.

    Nefertiti returns to her parent's home for her father's 75th birthday with one important goal in mind. She intends to find the child she gave birth to 23 years ago and will stop at nothing until she does. Hidden beneath her frustration is anger so deep that nothing will ever remove the pain, degradation, the abuse and the scorn festered upon her by her father. Exiled, banished and forced out of her family's nest, she is deemed a disgrace, harlot, and embarrassment in the eyes of her father, family and church for one mistake.

    There is much more to this story than Nefertiti's. Calissa, Miss Maggs, Isaac, Tiger and many others harbor secrets that should they be revealed would change the complexion or way people few them even more. Calissa too was banished and cast aside by her husband and diminished in the eyes of her children by their father for one mistake.

    This is a story about mistakes of the heart, abuse more heinous than just by inflicting pain on her person physically, and about reopening your heart to others and allowing the hate, the cruelty to finally melt away and allowing forgiveness in. Take an ice sculpture so frozen solid that it looks like it will never melt and will stand the test of the hot burning sun or a burning flame. Nefertiti, Calissa, Ms. Maggs and many others have felt the scorching flames as the ice that formed in the heart of the abuser was inflicted so hard that they formed their own private shield in the outside, but on the inside the ice water turned boiling hot and the scars caused by the heat and the flames could no longer be withstood and their self esteems and their courage dripped away.

    Power is what controls who and what you are in Shallow Falls in the eyes of Reverend Godbolt and Reverend Deacon. Both are powerful men who lived their liv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Secrets of a Small Town

    HOSTAGE OF LIES: SECRETS OF A SMALL TOWN

    Have you ever felt haunted by your past? Are you curious about your family history? Are you considered the black sheep in your family? If so, you can relate to the main character of "Hostage of Lies."

    Forty-year-old Nefertiti has finally returned home after seven long years. The man who banished her from Shallow's Corner is celebrating his seventy-fifth birthday. But Titi didn't come back to help with her father's party. She came back home to Michigan for other personal reasons: to find the child she gave up for adoption in 1967. Meanwhile, brothers Isaac and Pharaoh are still fighting over Titi like a piece of property. It seems that old habits die hard, while the absence of Titi made their hearts grow fonder.

    The story itself takes place over a span of five days. However, the history goes back generations. At times it was difficult to follow the storyline since it is told out of sequence. Although I understand the author's intent to explain the past and prove its importance to the characters present lives. "Hostage of Lies" is a written example of how secrets affect a family. Dr. Maxine Thompson cleverly combines African-American history and suspense into a deep plot.

    January 24, 2010

    ? L Marie ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1