Customer Reviews for

The Hostile Hospital: Book the Eighth (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Hostile Hospital

This is another great and exciting book from Lemony Snicket. It's the eighth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. This time, the Bauldelaire orphans are hiding out in the Heimlich Hospital. But then, as usual, Count Olaf discovers them again. Violet is about to under...
This is another great and exciting book from Lemony Snicket. It's the eighth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. This time, the Bauldelaire orphans are hiding out in the Heimlich Hospital. But then, as usual, Count Olaf discovers them again. Violet is about to undergo the worlds first(and unnecessary) cranioectomy. Can Klaus and Sunny save her in time? Join in the action and see for yourself.

posted by J_Murrey6 on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The hostile hospital

Wierd book but awesome its about the baudlaire siblings sunny,klaus,and violet all 3of them are running away from an evil nasty man count olaf who is trying to take their money.when they stop at a general store they hear about vfd so they try to find out the secret of ...
Wierd book but awesome its about the baudlaire siblings sunny,klaus,and violet all 3of them are running away from an evil nasty man count olaf who is trying to take their money.when they stop at a general store they hear about vfd so they try to find out the secret of it.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    The Hostile Hospital

    This is another great and exciting book from Lemony Snicket. It's the eighth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. This time, the Bauldelaire orphans are hiding out in the Heimlich Hospital. But then, as usual, Count Olaf discovers them again. Violet is about to undergo the worlds first(and unnecessary) cranioectomy. Can Klaus and Sunny save her in time? Join in the action and see for yourself.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good

    I really liked this book but you should read 1-7 first
    =[] =[] =[] =[] =[]

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Indapendint

    I like how now the Baudilares are going to have to go through life without Mr. Poe (not that he was of help any way)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was terrific!! It's contents contain many pieces of a puzzle and keep you going. In every chapter and page something happens wheather good or bad to the three Baudelaires.It was so much fun to read this book. I highly reccomend it!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME

    The Hostile Hospital: By Lemony Snicket

    The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket is the eighth book in the Series of Unfortunate Events book series. The story starts when Violet, Klaus and Sunny went into the Last Chance General Store to hide from the police. Can you already tell how exciting this book is? Don't stop reading there...it only gets more exciting! After being recognized, the children must flee for their lives. They find a van, and after a long argument, they decide to stowaway in the van. Because of the crimes they just committed, they need to create disguises and new identities. Their stowaway tactics work amazingly because the van took them to a hospital which allows them to search for a man connected to their uncle, the story's villain.
    When they go into the hospital, the children had to work in the Library Of Resources. The person that put them there, told them that children had to be seen, not heard. So the person that gave the children the job, didn't present himself and only told the children what to do, also he would tell the children to be quiet when they talked. If the book is getting this exciting... image how it will get as we keep going. After being told what to do, the children went to the library. While the children where in the library, they had to set up papers. They could only read a bit of a paper, and then they had to decide where the paper had to go. Towards the end, the villain assistant separates the children, and the older sister is left alone.
    When the younger sister and brother can't not find their older sister, it seems as if hope as abandoned them. This book turns out suspenseful, even when you least expect it to be. This book is better than all the one's I read, because the kids must find the sister before it's too late. After the children are with the volunteers, they get a list with patients!! Only one problem... which patient is their older sister with a disguised name, and is getting a cranioectomy surgery!! When the younger brother and sister can't find there older sister, the children have to find a strategy to find there sister. Towards the end, the children's strategy work's, but did they find there sister? BUY THE BOOK if you want to find out!!
    The darkness was almost all around the room. Almost as if it were claiming it's territory. The children were in the room with the patient that they were going to perform cranioectomy for the first time in the hospital. The villains assistance were there to watch the operation gain life. The children had to stole the people to find a way out of the room. The younger bother talked about the rust of the saw he had. After a few more things that he talked about, the crowed got sort of mad. The people were tied that the operation still had no life. Who is this mystery patient though? As the children set their sites on their mission(s), the reader has to infer and predict throughout the entire story. When you think that might have figured out something, the book turns the tables around sometimes, and says something different/complete different. BUY THE BOOK PEOPLE! It is really this EXCITING, and MYSTERIOUS.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    The hostile hospital

    Wierd book but awesome its about the baudlaire siblings sunny,klaus,and violet all 3of them are running away from an evil nasty man count olaf who is trying to take their money.when they stop at a general store they hear about vfd so they try to find out the secret of it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    example review

    i give this book 4 and half star. this book has a thrilling adventure and mystery. these book is about threee children trying to get away from villans and police. this book is great if you are looking for problem solving and escapes.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    this particular book out of all the series is awesome!!!!!!

    i first read this book in school by my english teacher told me to read the 1st book and i did as soon as i read it i was hooked and i keepet asking for more and more and so on.... but this book this particular book is awesome because its full of adventure and mystery and like realy fun to ready ive almost read the whole series and i love it i highly recomend this bbok to you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Amazing

    The best one so far!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Perfectly Formatted

    A Series of Unfortunate Events 8: The Hostile Hospital / 9780061757204

    I've reviewed the content of this 5-star book elsewhere, and would like to focus my review here on the ebook formatting. This ebook is perfectly formatted and is the ideal example of how to correctly migrate a paperbook to ebook format. The pictures at the beginning of the book are inserted correctly, and the table of contents is linked correctly to each chapter. I also did not observe any errors in the text nor any formatting issues with special characters. I am very pleased with this ebook purchase and recommend this edition of the book highly.

    ~ Ana Mardoll

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Best book ever

    BEST BOOK EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    The series of unfourtunate events

    I think that this series is an interesting series full of crazy twists and turns! This series holds all of the tales of the Baudelaire orphans, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    If u want to know what vfd means

    If u want to know what VFD means go ask the nice person or do anything with a word or thing u dont know about. (Hint not an old fashoined dictionary) <p> from a person who knew the story too soon............. <p> merry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Not read

    I have not read it yet but i have read 1-7 and i loved them. DONT SPOIL IT !!!!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Vfd

    If anyone wants to know what vfd is just put vfd in your headlines and ill tell you what it stands for. But only if you are going to die if you do not know. The best part of a book is the surprise. This is an awesome series and i reccomend them. Mr.
    Snicket has an eloquent way with words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Book

    OMG this book is bettrr that i expected. I love this and would say that everyone who like mysteries should totally read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Listen

    I think it is a good book but it is sad all it really is is orphans getting hurt in time of need it is really good but just a little parts are very sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Another one of my favorites. Don't what else to say about the bo

    Another one of my favorites. Don't what else to say about the books that I haven't already said. Another good sequel. Love the covers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Tyler and Carry

    Carry let out a cry of pain. "For gods sake she's in labor!" Tyler yelled

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Cool

    Best series ever plz read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17