Customer Reviews for

The Hostile Hospital: Book the Eighth (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Hostile Hospital

This is another great and exciting book from Lemony Snicket. It's the eighth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. This time, the Bauldelaire orphans are hiding out in the Heimlich Hospital. But then, as usual, Count Olaf discovers them again. Violet is about to under...
This is another great and exciting book from Lemony Snicket. It's the eighth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. This time, the Bauldelaire orphans are hiding out in the Heimlich Hospital. But then, as usual, Count Olaf discovers them again. Violet is about to undergo the worlds first(and unnecessary) cranioectomy. Can Klaus and Sunny save her in time? Join in the action and see for yourself.

posted by J_Murrey6 on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The hostile hospital

Wierd book but awesome its about the baudlaire siblings sunny,klaus,and violet all 3of them are running away from an evil nasty man count olaf who is trying to take their money.when they stop at a general store they hear about vfd so they try to find out the secret of ...
Wierd book but awesome its about the baudlaire siblings sunny,klaus,and violet all 3of them are running away from an evil nasty man count olaf who is trying to take their money.when they stop at a general store they hear about vfd so they try to find out the secret of it.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME

    The Hostile Hospital: By Lemony Snicket

    The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket is the eighth book in the Series of Unfortunate Events book series. The story starts when Violet, Klaus and Sunny went into the Last Chance General Store to hide from the police. Can you already tell how exciting this book is? Don't stop reading there...it only gets more exciting! After being recognized, the children must flee for their lives. They find a van, and after a long argument, they decide to stowaway in the van. Because of the crimes they just committed, they need to create disguises and new identities. Their stowaway tactics work amazingly because the van took them to a hospital which allows them to search for a man connected to their uncle, the story's villain.
    When they go into the hospital, the children had to work in the Library Of Resources. The person that put them there, told them that children had to be seen, not heard. So the person that gave the children the job, didn't present himself and only told the children what to do, also he would tell the children to be quiet when they talked. If the book is getting this exciting... image how it will get as we keep going. After being told what to do, the children went to the library. While the children where in the library, they had to set up papers. They could only read a bit of a paper, and then they had to decide where the paper had to go. Towards the end, the villain assistant separates the children, and the older sister is left alone.
    When the younger sister and brother can't not find their older sister, it seems as if hope as abandoned them. This book turns out suspenseful, even when you least expect it to be. This book is better than all the one's I read, because the kids must find the sister before it's too late. After the children are with the volunteers, they get a list with patients!! Only one problem... which patient is their older sister with a disguised name, and is getting a cranioectomy surgery!! When the younger brother and sister can't find there older sister, the children have to find a strategy to find there sister. Towards the end, the children's strategy work's, but did they find there sister? BUY THE BOOK if you want to find out!!
    The darkness was almost all around the room. Almost as if it were claiming it's territory. The children were in the room with the patient that they were going to perform cranioectomy for the first time in the hospital. The villains assistance were there to watch the operation gain life. The children had to stole the people to find a way out of the room. The younger bother talked about the rust of the saw he had. After a few more things that he talked about, the crowed got sort of mad. The people were tied that the operation still had no life. Who is this mystery patient though? As the children set their sites on their mission(s), the reader has to infer and predict throughout the entire story. When you think that might have figured out something, the book turns the tables around sometimes, and says something different/complete different. BUY THE BOOK PEOPLE! It is really this EXCITING, and MYSTERIOUS.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Listen

    I think it is a good book but it is sad all it really is is orphans getting hurt in time of need it is really good but just a little parts are very sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    The hostile hospital

    It ws exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    this book

    this book is good but ami the only tired of the writer telling the reader to stop reading the book if we want happy endings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Creepy

    You can just GUESS why its so creepy. Its called "the hostile hospital". It is super scary but not too scary. Ya know, you wont have too many nightmares frome it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Great

    You should get!! Amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good

    This book was kind of disturbin in some parts but was a good book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is sooooo good i totally luv it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    One of the best books i have ever read!!!!

    I highly recomend this book. I would recomend the series of unfortunate evrnts series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    its a book that you dont want to put down i started reading at 9:00pm andwas reading until midnight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    simply incredible

    this book really brought out the team work, brains, sensitivity, and care out of the bauldlaire children. this adventure will have you off your toes!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    it was a very good book

    This book was very interesting. If you like to read mystery books than you should definitely get these series. i find it very fun to read Snickets writing. i feel that he writes in a strange but cool way. in my head i always love how it sounds to read this book. this book got alot better than some of the other books he wrote. this book has all the better accept with a twist in it. one of the baudelaires is gone. you will have to read the book to find out. in my head i feel like his writing speaks to you. the one annoying thing is that it always leaves me hanging at the end. you know, sometimes you just want to know the end. but i do like that you have to think alot to read this book. the author really likes to explain his thoughts in the book through a very vague vibe. you have to really read between the lines. but when you do finally understand what it means. the books become even more amazing. the one thing you should look for, is that sometimes his writing is not very clear so if you want an easier thing to read i would not chose this book. also i like that he puts himself and his personal life into the book to have it make more sense to him and the reader. the last thing i would like to adress is that the author makes the book funny by adding world wide things that people would not notice every day. so if you want a book like this, then i would definitely choose this series and especially hostile hospital.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    My book review on The Hostile hospital

    Book Review on A series of unfortunate events: Hostile Hospital By: Lemony Snicket Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are three orphans who have had one weird life in the past couple of years. They were first adopted by there Uncle Count Olf. Who was the meanest person they have ever had to stay with. He just wanted them for the money. Plus all of Count Olf¿s ¿helpers¿ in the story. There is a hook handed man and a guy that looks like nether a guy or a girl. And then there Count Olf¿s girlfriend Ezma. Plus two powdered faced women. In this book he tries to steel there fortune by trapping them in a hospital and getting the oldest one, witch is Violet, and perform a fake surgery on her that well kill her. Then when the middle child walks, witch is Klaus, they would kill him on the spot. Since they are all being blamed for killing a bunch of people. Then they would take the smallest one, which is Sunny, and keep her so they could get there fortune. They did all this in the summer when its really hot so the would be easier to track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    suspenseful

    You should deffinatly read this book because it is very original and it's very suspenseful it reall keeps you going and you never want to stop reading it. You should deffinatly read this because you get some very important info about the fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Finally, something original.

    Though I enjoyed the previous books, they became rather monotonous. I was glad that the seventh book ended differently making a nice transition into something new. I'm not sure how much longer I could take the cycle of the children being put into homes that were either already bad or destroyed by Count Olaf, then needing to prove it is Olaf when nobody believes them, and finally showing the truth to Mr. Poe who pulls them out just to put them in some other horrible place. The events may now be worse but at least the books are improving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    The Horrible Hospital

    After being chased out of a city, the 3 Baudelaire orphans go and work at a hospital's library of records looking to find a secret file. Violet is abducted and the other 2 children are left to find her. Great for anyone who likes anagrams or 14 year old brain transplants. One of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    After Reading This You Can't Stop

    Me, these kind of books aren't really my type, but this book really gets you hooked. It has been reccomended to me by many people. There is no doubt Lemony deserves to be a bestseller, such detail and flow. I was a little shocked at the fast pace, but overall a perfect book for ages 9-12. Lemony has such great ideas and creative thoughts he is one of few on my list. I can really feel his emotion he puts into the piece. My one major comment was that his books are very repetitive, not on ideas, but on endings. They all end up the same way, but with just one more clue. Overall a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket

    Raul December 01 The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket The Eight Book of the Series of unfortunate Events The Hostile Hospital, the eight book by Lemony Snicket, is an extraordinary book filled with a lot of action and leaves the reader with questions. (While I was reading this book I had q questions of my own like, what will happen to the Baudelaire children if they get caught by the shopkeeper.) The main plot of this story is about three children whose names are Sunny, the youngest, Klaus, the middle child, and Violet, the oldest. These three children try to find the meaning of the pages that they got from the Quagmires. But in every book there has to be a bad guy, well in this book there are a bunch. First there is Count Olaf. He is an evil man who is trying to steal the Baudelaire fortune. He has a girlfriend who helps him out which she is important to the story. Then, there are Count Olaf¿s associates who help him out and are important to the story too. These are the main characters in the story and what they are trying to do. If you read this book you will definitely not be disappointed. In my interest, I like a book with a realistic touch but with a kind of twist on the character as well. In The Hostile Hospital there are three children (as I mentioned earlier) who are orphans and had, had couple of parents. The twist here is that the children the children are wanted for murder that they didn¿t commit and the cops are closing in on them. Also, some more twist on the children would have to be at the Heimlich Hospital when they are accused of burning a very important building. Those are the kind of books that I like to read, (they seem more interesting). If you are like me, then you will not be able to put this book down until you finish it. It¿s a great book. Do you remember that I said I said this book had a lot of action? Well, it does. In the beginning the book starts out at the Last Chance General Store. The action gets good when the children are discovered for murder. Then the book gets more interesting and more interesting. Especially when the Baudelaire children get to the Heimlich Hospital. It gets very good then. You will love this book as much as I did when you get to the part of the Hospital. Many people like a book with a mystery, and I am sure on of those people. This is an exciting book with the mystery of the Quagmire pages. For example, in one of the Quagmire pages, it had something about the V.F.D. The children think that they might have found out the true meaning about it. But do they is the mystery. The book has more mystery but I cannot tell about it because the information might ruin the ending. This is all I can tell you, so get out there and read this book. Now that you have read my book review, what will you do next? (I hope you make the right choice).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    Lemony Snickett does it again!

    I thought that this was an awesome book! It keeps me reading. It also kept me wondering well after I finished the book! I recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    This book is o.k.

    I give this book 4 stars because it wasn't as exciting as the other books in the series but it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3