Customer Reviews for

Hostile Intent

Average Rating 3
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down

I was hooked from the very beginning. Walsh made it clear from the beginning that this was not an ordinary terror strike. It was not until the very end that all of the pieces fit together.

I loved all of the prototype technology, which could very well already be in...
I was hooked from the very beginning. Walsh made it clear from the beginning that this was not an ordinary terror strike. It was not until the very end that all of the pieces fit together.

I loved all of the prototype technology, which could very well already be in use. I did have to go back occasionally and re-read something to help clarify what was actually going on. But, that was probably because I was so intent on finding out what was going to happen that I didn't pay enough attention. I don't consider that a flaw in writing style but rather a flaw in my reading.

The fact that I cared enough to really understand what was happening at every level is a testament to how much I enjoyed the story and the characters.

posted by scmysterylover on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't finish the book...

This book was a terrible attempt at the Vince Flynn type thriller. At times, I found myself skipping entire sections that bored me. The NSA agent that is the main character is not believable and not likeable. I read the book through page 130 which resolved one subplo...
This book was a terrible attempt at the Vince Flynn type thriller. At times, I found myself skipping entire sections that bored me. The NSA agent that is the main character is not believable and not likeable. I read the book through page 130 which resolved one subplot, and was not interested enough in the overall plot to continue. This book takes the intrigue and mystery of the CIA/NSA agent way overboard to a point that feels unrealistic. I could not find myself attached in any way to any characters and could care less what happens to them.

posted by AceHighBluff on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't finish the book...

    This book was a terrible attempt at the Vince Flynn type thriller. At times, I found myself skipping entire sections that bored me. The NSA agent that is the main character is not believable and not likeable. I read the book through page 130 which resolved one subplot, and was not interested enough in the overall plot to continue. This book takes the intrigue and mystery of the CIA/NSA agent way overboard to a point that feels unrealistic. I could not find myself attached in any way to any characters and could care less what happens to them.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Another Example of You Get What You Pay For

    I didn't stay with this sorry book past about 30 pages, if that. Poorly written, ghastly plot. My only consolation is I didn't waste any money on it.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    Great plot idea, but fails to deliver storyline and confuses the reader in wondering whether a chapter was missed somewhere.

    I cannot believe how terrible this book is. The plot concept is good. Development of the story is awful. I was so confused by what was going on and what the characters were trying to do. In some parts, the writer goes too deep into certain aspects of his story that confuses even more. There appears to be an assumption made by the writer that anyone who reads this book will be a member of the armed forces and would understand all the necessary details. Reading this was like interviewing an officer who thought you were another officer. I have read Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, WEB Griffin, and all those writers take the time to fully develop their characters, while detailing what is going on. On the front cover, John Fasano (Darkness Falls) is quoted, "The Vince Flynn for the 21st Century". I would not even put Vince Flynn and this book in the same category.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a steaming pile

    Wow, I really didn't like this book. I made it 7 chapters into the book before I couldn't take any more. While the terrorist action in the book is despicable and probably disturbing for more sensitive people, the technology referenced in the book was down right insulting!

    Why would the Large Hadron Collider be used to control a computer network that was "infinitely faster than the Internet"? Why would a super-duper double-secret network be connected to IMDB-Pro just to collect movie character names? Why would every thing in someone's house be rigged to explode in the even of a break in?

    The stupid finally overtook me and I was unable to turn the page. That what when I knew it was time to pull the plug on this pig.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Characters are unlikeable

    Protagonist is completely unlikeable. The protagonist hates himself, his foster father, his government, his country, and countrymen. He is disgusted by the government and the average citizens he is supposed to protect.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    Horribly written

    My four year old's books are better written than this. You can see where the author wants to go in a scene, but he simply chooses to not put the words down on the page. He goes straight from A-L while bypassing B through K. This was actually painful to read to at times. I think that Mr. Walsh needs to fire his editor and find someone who can clean up his writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Awful book

    Hateful descriptions of Americans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Copy?

    Read Peace warrier.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    H

    Vg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    So boring I gave up about half way through

    This book had promise until Devlin, the protagonist, appeared. After that, it spiraled downward, becoming ever more preposterous, unbelievable, and downright boring. I like my espionage thrillers on the realistic side, and this completely missed the mark. I won't waste my time with this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Awful

    This book is about 100 pages to long. Very slow read because of the endless "fill" that doesn't make the story any better and terrible proof reading.. I dread the fact I bought the three book series because other authors mentioned his writing. Now figuring out they probably recommend because he'll never be a threat. It will be a while before I try book 2, l can only handle so much self punishment at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3