Customer Reviews for

Hostile Witness

Average Rating 4
( 1118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(539)

4 Star

(355)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

166 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I...
This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I had not read this first I would have been confused as to who one of the characters was and how she was a part of the story, and, her issues that make the stories unique. This is a good book to bring to the beach or anywhere that will allow you the time to keep reading as you will not want to put it down. The only problem with the e-book version is it does not separate the chapters and it can get confusing. I wish they would fix that problem since it can be annoying.

posted by ilovetoreadPA on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Fantasic but...

I couldn't stop reading this book, a real page turner! My only issue was that there seem to be one or more pages missing in the middle of the story, the conversations jumped ahead and I had to make assumptions.. fantastic for a free book!

posted by 3162861 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great Book

    This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I had not read this first I would have been confused as to who one of the characters was and how she was a part of the story, and, her issues that make the stories unique. This is a good book to bring to the beach or anywhere that will allow you the time to keep reading as you will not want to put it down. The only problem with the e-book version is it does not separate the chapters and it can get confusing. I wish they would fix that problem since it can be annoying.

    166 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Keeps you guessing

    Lots of twists that you don't see coming. Interesting characters keep you guessing. Was a quick and entertaining read.
    (Downloaded just fine on my Nook)

    95 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unable to put it down

    Hostile Witness is the first book in the 'Witness Series' that includes Silent Witness and Privileged Witness and is an impressive introduction to the key characters: Josie Baylor-Bates is the talented lawyer who takes on the impossible murder case, defending the very troubled teenager Hannah Sheraton. As the story unfolds you get caught up in the drama of the storyline as well as the underlying issues of mother/daughter relationships. The characters develop over the course of the three books. Start with this one and get them all.

    73 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Hello Hollywood???? Make this a Movie!!!

    I read and review a variety of books so when the opportunity was presented to read a Thriller, based on an actual Court Case, I jumped on it and am I ever glad I did! Ms. Forster gave me a Thriller ride of a lifetime---Her characters are beautifully developed and well written, the plot goes at a pace to match a racing heart, her storytelling is superb and totally spellbinding. I am sorry to say, “Hostile Witness” is the first book I have read by Ms. Foster but I will tell you, it will certainly not be the last!! I now have all the books in this Witness Series and am enjoying every minute, every page, every thrill. I suggest any of you reading this review do the same.
    I visited her website and discovered not just a great author, but a caring, loving person with an awesome family, strong values and a brilliant mind. Shame on me for not finding her sooner and Shame on Hollywood if someone doesn’t have the sense to approach this woman and make her books into movies---not just a little miniseries---no, no no---I am talking major motion picture. There are so many talented actresses out there to play the persistent, strong Josie and the vulnerable, lost and abused Hannah. I give this book 5 stars only because there are not 10 to give! Thank you, Ms. Forster, for giving your readers such a jewel. Keep writing and allow us to “witness” your extraordinary characters and stories for many years to come!!

    41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good

    Wasn't sure how I was going to like this one. Though it was long, it flowed really well. The story was good and even offered a few surprises. I liked the characters, and am interested in finding the other books they appear in. I would recommend this to people that enjoy a good courtroom drama.

    29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Excellent

    Many twists and turns. Could not put it down. Looking forward to sequel silent witness.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fantasic but...

    I couldn't stop reading this book, a real page turner! My only issue was that there seem to be one or more pages missing in the middle of the story, the conversations jumped ahead and I had to make assumptions.. fantastic for a free book!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awesome

    Great read! Keeps you guessing the whole book...did she or didnt she? YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great Read!

    If you enjoy Law n Order you will enjoy this author!!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great series

    Read all for of the witness series. Worth reading, well written characters, keep the plot moving in all 4 books. Just when i thougth i knew who did it, Ms Forster would thrown a curve to the plot making doubt you did it.
    Recommend reading the series. I' m going to buy the rest of her other books to read.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Writing style is distracting

    The story and plotline are good, but this book isn't very well written. A writer myself, I am quite particular about writing style, correct use of words and tenses, good flow, etc. If you don't notice these things or they simply don't bother you, then you will enjoy this book.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    hostile witness

    Good read but soooo many spelling and grammatical errors. Awful editing.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great book!!

    Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down. Suspenseful with a great storyline.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Good Read

    The book has a lot of things going for it - a sympathetic victim, several characters you don't like and hope are guilty, and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. The characters are well thought out but the author took the right approach in revealing just enough about each of them so you were still curious about their past and their personal motivations so the reader is left to fill in some of the blanks on their own - is Josie taking on this case for the right reasons, what will become of Hannah, etc. A great find for a free (at least when I picked it up) book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not impressed

    I wasn't impressed with the main character in this book -- although it was a quick escapist read. I was often distracted by misspellings and grammatical errors.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Good Read

    Had never heard of this author and was looking for something to read. Caught my eye because of the price as an ebook. This book turned out to be a great read. Once I started I could not put it down. The story was great. I am looking forward to reading the next book with the same characters.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    D

    Ok just finished the book
    I love it! so many twists and turns that u dont see coming and the killer isnt noticable untill the end when you put the pieces together. Very long and does swear. Im gonna try to um read the other books bc this author was very good...... recomending to mature teens and older. Talks about the obsesive/compulsive disease and i really enjoyed that little info that that the author threw in there. The book does get vielent in the end and so it spices up the story. People in the book lie tons and so it is difficult to see the truth till the end, but that makes the book that much more intersting. I liked how the author made it inpossible to know if Hannah is guilty of murder or not. Also, ( not trying to be a story spoiler!!!!) But Hannah is also abused, and is a cutter. She could be a guide for a cutter in help and could be a possible help for a abused teen so they can understand that the abuse is not their fault. Hannah is also a painter, which helps her get through here problems and in the end the paintings help find the answers when Hannah is injuried and cannot speak to Josie the detective. Some love-making involved between Josie and Archer but doesnt descibe it just states the facts

    Enjoy

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Great

    If i could give this book more stars i wouldve. This book is such a page turner and i couldnt stop reading it(Ill say, i read it in 2 days!) Hannah sheraton is a wonderful character and i really enjoy the plot. Strongly recommend

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great story!

    A great story that I couldnt put down!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Could have been more interesting and twisted

    It was intriguing. Sometimes it dragged on though...two characters will go on saying the same thing for two or three pages. The ending wasnt that shocking. The story built up all this suspence and crazy evidence against one of the characters but it all went to waste when they pinned the crime on someone else.
    Not sure if i will be reading another Josie Bates novel...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56