Customer Reviews for

Hostile Witness

Average Rating 4
( 1116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(538)

4 Star

(355)

3 Star

(154)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

166 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I...
This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I had not read this first I would have been confused as to who one of the characters was and how she was a part of the story, and, her issues that make the stories unique. This is a good book to bring to the beach or anywhere that will allow you the time to keep reading as you will not want to put it down. The only problem with the e-book version is it does not separate the chapters and it can get confusing. I wish they would fix that problem since it can be annoying.

posted by ilovetoreadPA on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Fantasic but...

I couldn't stop reading this book, a real page turner! My only issue was that there seem to be one or more pages missing in the middle of the story, the conversations jumped ahead and I had to make assumptions.. fantastic for a free book!

posted by 3162861 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1117 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Good story Hopeful

    Good story that could have been much better with some editing: punctuation would have aided reading pleasure; shortening would have heightened the drama. Some scenes seem endless and don't really add to the plot. Then, after 700+ pages, after another too-long scene, the novel is "suddenly" at an end, although this is the only part of the novel where more information would be welcome.
    Too bad, really, because the plot does grip--despite impatience with the sloppyy editing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Excellent read

    Had this book for awhile, read a few pages here an there. When I finally decided to sit down an really read it I couldn't put it down!! Really enjoyed the suspense.... just when I thought I had it figured out, there would be a twist in the story. Thanks for reminding me how much I enjoy reading an relaxing with a good book!! Looking forward to relaxing with the series!


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Legal Thriller...

    This was a good read. I loved the twists and turns of the story. It kept me guessing throughout the whole book. If you like legal thrillers (like John Grisham) this is a good book, well written. I would recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Just okay

    I wasn't crazy about the writing style so I wasn't able to get into a good flow to read. I will finish it because I always finish what I start.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Fascinating!

    Fascinatiing! Unpredictable. Grreat subplots.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great Book

    A Must read, very good book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Very good.

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved it

    Very very good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Excellent read

    This book kept my attentiin from the very first page. Must read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Eh

    It looked really interesting, the first chaper seemed okay, but I could not find myself finishing it. Maybe it was the author or maybe it was just me, who knows?
    I would start to read other books after I got to the second chapter. And would procrastinate. I just could not finish it. To those who did, and enjoyed it, very well. But I just couldn't. The details were nice but it seemed that everything just sorta dragged on. Everything was going really fast at first, but then, suddenly, things got to the point where the author would talk about the main character doing pointless things just to pass the time.
    Hopefully everybody else enjoyed it, I could probably see why, but I just could not do it.

    -Have an excellent day, everybody! (:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Violence and profanity not appreciated!

    I'm interested in compulsive/obsessive disorder and if this story had been written without taking God's Name in vain, and with less discriptively violent scenes, I would have enjoyed reading it. I will not read other books by this author if she continues to use profanity.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Not bad...

    A good story line but the author could have made some cuts to shorten the book by at least than 300 pages. Why I say this is because it wasn't hard to figure out who the real killer was way before the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Wow.

    This was totally, unexpectedly good! I cant wait to read more of her books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Some Women should NOT be Moms

    A real page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Thrilling, suspenseful, keeps you reading.

    Quick read! The author keeps you hooked with lots of plot twists! Every character seems to be harboring some dark secret. In the end, the truth prevails but even the winners seem to lose something.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Good Read

    Kept my attention - Full of twist and turns - Interesting characters -Quick read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Recommended-good book to read

    This book kept my interest and was an interesting storyline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Recommended

    Suspenseful. Keeps you guessing until the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Many typos in ebook version

    This would be a very enjoyable book-- well-developed characters, absorbing plot-- BUT the ereader version is full of runtogetherwords like this that mostannoying! If these typos don't annoy you overmuch, I recommend the book. Luckily I paid a low price to download it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Good light read

    If you like courtroom drama, give this a try. The novel features a likable protagonist (lawyer) and a troubled teen who is in a close relationship with her mother. The mother seems to have some issues of her own. Unfortunately, some of the minor characters are stereotypes. You will know them when you see them.

    The plot has some surprising twists.

    The author or publisher needs a good copy editor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1117 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56