Customer Reviews for

Hostile Witness

Average Rating 4
( 1118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(539)

4 Star

(355)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

166 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I...
This is the first book I read by this author and I was very pleased. It had a lot of twists and turns and kept you on edge. I liked it so much I bought two more of her books. I would recommend that you read the books in order so as to understand the characters. If I had not read this first I would have been confused as to who one of the characters was and how she was a part of the story, and, her issues that make the stories unique. This is a good book to bring to the beach or anywhere that will allow you the time to keep reading as you will not want to put it down. The only problem with the e-book version is it does not separate the chapters and it can get confusing. I wish they would fix that problem since it can be annoying.

posted by ilovetoreadPA on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Fantasic but...

I couldn't stop reading this book, a real page turner! My only issue was that there seem to be one or more pages missing in the middle of the story, the conversations jumped ahead and I had to make assumptions.. fantastic for a free book!

posted by 3162861 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 355 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Keeps you guessing

    Lots of twists that you don't see coming. Interesting characters keep you guessing. Was a quick and entertaining read.
    (Downloaded just fine on my Nook)

    95 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good

    Wasn't sure how I was going to like this one. Though it was long, it flowed really well. The story was good and even offered a few surprises. I liked the characters, and am interested in finding the other books they appear in. I would recommend this to people that enjoy a good courtroom drama.

    29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great book!!

    Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down. Suspenseful with a great storyline.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Good Read

    The book has a lot of things going for it - a sympathetic victim, several characters you don't like and hope are guilty, and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. The characters are well thought out but the author took the right approach in revealing just enough about each of them so you were still curious about their past and their personal motivations so the reader is left to fill in some of the blanks on their own - is Josie taking on this case for the right reasons, what will become of Hannah, etc. A great find for a free (at least when I picked it up) book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Good Read

    Had never heard of this author and was looking for something to read. Caught my eye because of the price as an ebook. This book turned out to be a great read. Once I started I could not put it down. The story was great. I am looking forward to reading the next book with the same characters.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great story!

    A great story that I couldnt put down!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Legal Thriller...

    This was a good read. I loved the twists and turns of the story. It kept me guessing throughout the whole book. If you like legal thrillers (like John Grisham) this is a good book, well written. I would recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Fascinating!

    Fascinatiing! Unpredictable. Grreat subplots.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Very good.

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Thrilling, suspenseful, keeps you reading.

    Quick read! The author keeps you hooked with lots of plot twists! Every character seems to be harboring some dark secret. In the end, the truth prevails but even the winners seem to lose something.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Recommended

    Suspenseful. Keeps you guessing until the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Good read, but Good read, but . . .

    Is it bad editing or incorrect grammar on the author's part? Commas are used rarely. But truly annoying is the common misuse of then for than.

    Good stoytelling otherwise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Very good

    With some stories the reader knows from the very beginning whodunit. These stories are much like watching an episode of "Columbo." The joy comes from following along with the protagonist as she or he discovers what we already know. Rebecca Forster's "Hostile Witness" is no "Columbo" adventure. When 16-year-old Hannah Sheraton is accused of killing her step-grandfather, a California Supreme Court judge, Hannah's mother seeks the help of an old college friend, Josie Baylor-Bates. Josie is so very sure the vulnerable young girl is innocent, yet she is plagued by self-doubt because she had been equally sure that a previous client was innocent... only that client, after being freed, murdered her own children. Is Hannah telling the truth... is Hannah's mother telling the truth? And if not... who is protecting whom?

    This is a story that kept my interest from beginning to end. Complex family relationships and conflicts unravel as we travel side-by-side with Josie Baylor-Bates in her quest to find out whodunit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Easy to get caught up in!

    First few pages were hard to get started, made me feel like the book was going to be different than it ended up being. After the initial rough start, I could barely put it down. Looking forward tobreading other books by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    good book

    This book was great. I am an on-the-go reader and therefore always searching for what I can pick up and put down without needing to read back every few pages to remind myself of where it was headed and this suited me perfectly. Great characters, twists, a little sex, some death and a little investigative thinking. Good book all around.
    One complaint that came to mind. There is a little too much time threatening the reader in the beginning not to share the book with a friend and that out of respect for the author we all need to purchase our own copy. First response, get real. Good books are for sharing. Secondly, I got my copy for free from the Free Friday Nook Books, so ha!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    kept me interested throughout the book!

    kept me interested throughout the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Very Good Read!

    Good story, fast easy read with surprising twists, I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read...

    Yes, there were a few typo's.. yes, there were a few areas that seemed to fall off but this is a really good thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Very good

    I read it in Nook color and the words weren't running together. There were some places where it needed a page break instead if one scene starting and the next one beginning in the next sentence. But... that's just editing. The story and plot were very good. I can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Great book

    Lots of twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 355 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18