Customer Reviews for

The Hot Flash Club (Hot Flash Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If your a woman heading over the hill...

    then you will find youself here, I'm guessing. I read so many books, I have trouble remembering them unless they are VERY special. This one touched my soul. You will be here and you will recognize your friends. And you will feel better for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    Since I am now a "woman of a certain age," I could relate to a lot of how the characters felt. This was a really enjoyable, fun book to read. Can't wait to read the other Hot Flash Club books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    Some Great Books!!!

    I read the first "Hot Flash Club" book. I found it to be very entertaining and original. The characters are witty and clever. The best part is they are realistic and even remind me of people I know.<BR/>I am now reading the 2nd book but have not finished. So far it is just as witty for the most part. There are some sad things in it too--i.e. Claudia and her terminal cancer.<BR/>I am glad to have been introduced to these books by a friend who told me they were great.<BR/>I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    FINALLY!!! FLASH WITH SASS!!!

    I loved this book. When I was in my thirties, I asked my son to please tell me if I ever started acting like my mother. When I was in my forties, he told me and I cried. Now I'm 53. He told me again and I said,'YES!'. He's now 32 and I'm going to send him a copy and make him read it and answer questions that only someone who read it would know the answers to! I'm lucky enough to have finally found a husband who understands, and loves me enough to shut up if he doesn't. Anyone who gives this book less than 5 stars is either to young to understand, in denial, or too old to remember. But how could one forget...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Loved the book

    I have read the book years ago. I have tld all of my hot flash friends about the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    Very quick, fun read with many different character types.

    Enjoyed this quick reading book about many different types of characters and their lives. I did not want it to end when it did, and will read the next book in the series to see where the characters go...

    Enjoyable, light with a different type of writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read, very fun!

    I absolutely enjoyed this book. It was a quick easy read, and was fun to get lost in these womans lives. Very entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read for Women of a "Certain Age".

    Most women will find a character to relate to in this book, if not, they know someone like one of the characters. It's fun to follow them and watch the transformations along the way. Alice, Faye, Marilyn, and Shirley become "friends" that you want to catch up on their lives and find out what they do next.
    This book is a fast read and flows well, can't wait to start the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    Excellent Read

    This is a new author for me. I was impressed by how much research she did in developing her characters and hitting it head on. Could not put the book down. Excellent Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    great girlfriend read!!!!!

    wonderful book...just loved it...the next one is just as good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    A Must Read For Any 50+ Woman

    This was my first Nancy Thayer book. I usually reach for the mystery novels but chose this for a quick light read. I read it in two days and I now can't wait to get the sequel to the HFC. I identified with all four characters in some form being a 50+ myself! I highly recommend this book for a fun read for any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    At age 65 I can relate to much of the story line

    Normally I reach for a mystery but this was a page turner. The more I read the more I wished for a HFC of my own. Now I'm anxious to read other books written by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Great read!

    I just finished reading this delightful book. I enjoyed it a immensly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    What a treat for Females over 40 !

    This book is a true delight if you're approaching or have reached Hot Flash land. Written by, for and about us select females who can really appreciate the story. The characters ring true, the plot is involved enough to make it hard to put down and there's laughs galore. One of those books you hate to see come to an end. A definite keeper to re-read. Hopefully, there will be a sequel !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Thoroughly enjoyable!

    I found this book fun to read and hard to put down. I hope that there is a sequel, because the ending left me wanting to know more about these great women, their friendship and futures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    At times both funny and poignant

    The four middle aged women meet at a Boston party where they share doubts about their future in light of recent defeats. The quartet hits a chord and vows to help one another, forming the aptly named Hot Flash Club....................................... Faye the widowed artist feels as if she cannot paint anymore. However, helping scientist Marilyn solve a locked door mystery goes a long way for her to recover her confidence.............................. Marilyn caught her long time spouse cheating and has doubts about her son¿s fiancé. She feels people reject her because of her intelligence. However, Faye shows her how to reach her artsy side and Shirley teaches her the art of relaxation through massage.................................... Shirley the masseuse wants her own spa as she carries her work table from client to client. Alice helps her see her real worth while Faye and Marilyn encourage her to seek some of her dreams........................................ Alice receives boosts of confidence from her new pals and unkinking massages from Shirley. She for the first time in a four decade business career competes for a job against a younger healthier female................................. With each other to assist one another the foursome regroup to overcome hot flashes and life¿s curveballs and find friendship, support, and a renewal of spirit........................... Though the use of flashbacks tell how one of the protagonists got to the current situation, that technique slows down the flow of the story line. Still the four key players are solid and fans will enjoy this middle age chorus line chick lit tale.................................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the first book I have read by Nancy Thayer, and I have t

    This is the first book I have read by Nancy Thayer, and I have to admit I am quite impressed! The writing style is perfect. The story is quite catchy- you cant put it down. I can't wait to read the second book of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    a must read for any woman group

    I enjoyed this and can hardly wait to see what they are going to do next with my girls. So reminds me of my own group my husband calls the Banker B****es!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Fun! Fun! Fun! Must read for women who are Menopausal!

    This is the first in a series of books highlighting the women of the Hot Flash Club, how the club came to be and who these women are. They embody all of the issues that can come up at this stage in life - far beyond hot flashes. You have women starting businesses, perking up their looks, dealing with stale marriages, dating younger men, finding love, finding love wannabe's and coming into their own wisdom and power. They have you chuckling and falling in love and rooting for their characters along the way. For a fun and entertaining read, I highly recommend this book as well as the others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Great read! The characters are very addicting, you want to know

    Great read! The characters are very addicting, you want to know more, you want to know what else they will encounter and how will they handle each others characters as they are so different from each other. The book gave you enough information to want to read more...and there's another book after this one!!! Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3