Customer Reviews for

The Hot Flash Club Chills Out (Hot Flash Club Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book was so much fun to read. I identified with these women, and was able to live vicariously through them all on vacation!! A pleasurable read, total escapism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    great

    I really loved this book. I can relate to the HFC members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Glad they came back

    The ladies, are fun to be with. When a series is this good, you develope a kinship, and good to catch up, and read whats going on with their lives. I hope Nancy will continue letting us know whats going with their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Too Much Whining!

    These women need to go buy some lumber, build a bridge and get over it. It is depression listening to all the woes of these women. When they are not whining about the how much they have to do, their weight, there partners etc. they are jumping in and out of pathetic love affairs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Excellent!

    In this fourth installment of the Hot Flash Club the five friends think that they will have a wonderful time relaxing in Nantucket for the summer as they house sit for a friend. But life is not as simple as the quintet would like it to be, and they each have problems in their personal lives that they must deal with. Between caring for her elderly mother and her fiancé¿s lazy adult son, Marilyn feels that she and Ian will never get to plan their wedding. Alice cannot say no to helping out her son and his wife and runs herself ragged caring for their infant daughter. Faye tries not to let her boyfriend drag her down as she gets excited about painting for the first time in years. The married and divorced several times Shirley cannot keep herself from falling for a good-looking fisherman on the island, and Polly struggles with the fact that her boyfriend is still at the beck and call of his ex-wife. ***** As I seem to be steamrolling toward the hot flash years, I can empathize with the everyday trials that these five women encounter. Nancy Thayer has written a delightfully wonderful and humorous novel with real characters making it so easy for the reader to care for the women of the Hot Flash Club. I thoroughly enjoyed this Hot Flash Club adventure and look forward to another. *****

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Chillin' Out Indeed!

    This summer, I was introduced to this group of aging women. I read the first book,The Hot Flash Club and loved it. As I searched for the 2nd book, The Hot Flash Club Strikes again and couldn't find it. I happened upon this book. I found a lot to relate to for myself as I am 54 and the ladies are all my contemporaries with similiar problems and ailments. Problems like Shirley's dilemma with Stan,the bore really hit home. I, too, have a gentleman friend of the same ilk and Polly's dilemma with her son, daughter-in-law, and grandchild remind me of my life. I must say I enjoyed their fun times on the island with the many things to do, the mystery, the new friends, and the decision they must make. Nancy Thayer left enough room for the next installment and I can't wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    interesting relationship drama

    Faye has never slept with any man except her beloved late husband Jack, but plans to seduce Aubrey if his adult daughter would give them a moment or three without her interference. Though she loves her son, her daughter-in-law and her grandchild, Alice is tired as her boyfriend Gideon notices. The widow Marilyn and her lover Ian discuss marriage, but she has some doubts. Polly feels all alone as the others Hot Flash Club member bonded before she joined the ex-wife of her lover Hugh still interferes, and her son and grandson are kept on a leash away from her by her daughter-in-law. Shirley knows what all alone really means as the trice divorced woman is the only member without a man. --- At the monthly meeting in Legal Seafood, Shirley announces to her pals that a former client Nora Salter has asked her to house-sit her Nantucket summer home while she heals from an operation. The five weary Hot Flash Club members see this as a chance to flee from their current doldrums at least for a couple of months of fun and sun. They might have reconsidered their escape if they knew that the chaos of their relationships will follow them to the dunes of the Cape. --- The latest Hot Flash Club tale is an interesting drama as each of the quintet of menopausal females has relationship problems to contend with, which leads them to escape to the Cape only to have their difficulties follow them. The story line enables the reader to see deep into what motivates each of the fearsome five females. Though the pace can be a bit slow at times, series fans will enjoy the latest escapades of the HOT FLASH CLUB CHILLS OUT as no rest come to the weary. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    I laughed...Then I cried

    What a book. Totally recomnd this to anyone. I cried so much but then I laughed. I may not be close in age to these ladies but on certain issues I can certainly sympathize with them. Loved it...Can't wait for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1