Customer Reviews for

Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution - and How It Can Renew America

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution- and How It Can Renew America

The World is Flat opened our eyes to the rise of technologies like high-speed Internet and the knocking down of barriers both literal (the Berlin Wall) and figurative (the opening of China's economy to free trade). As Friedman notes new technologies, political paradigm ...
The World is Flat opened our eyes to the rise of technologies like high-speed Internet and the knocking down of barriers both literal (the Berlin Wall) and figurative (the opening of China's economy to free trade). As Friedman notes new technologies, political paradigm shifts and, more importantly, innovative individuals at the helms of startups have leveled the playing field in the global economy. Now things are getting worse, and the clock is ticking. Americans have squandered most of the goodwill extended since 9/11, writes Friedman, and in the years of the Bush administration no thought has been given to what 9/12 is supposed to look like. The climate is changing, but the administration has spent most of its tenure denying it and insisting on a particularist view that we deserve to be profligate because we're Americans. Our political blindness and ignorance vis-a-vis other nations now butts up against the world's instability and, Friedman continues, 'the convergence of hot, flat, and crowded is tightening energy supplies, intensifying the extinction of plants and animals, deepening energy poverty, strengthening petrodictatorship, and accelerating climate change.'

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

This guy lives in a 114,000!!! square feet mansion and gives us lessons!

This guys is what one can call a total fake, he lives in an obscene huge mansion, Not green, he is a lobbyist for the GOP and AIPAC, he promoted the war in Iraq, justifies war crimes all over the world, drives a NON green car, and all he does in this book is propaganda ...
This guys is what one can call a total fake, he lives in an obscene huge mansion, Not green, he is a lobbyist for the GOP and AIPAC, he promoted the war in Iraq, justifies war crimes all over the world, drives a NON green car, and all he does in this book is propaganda things that he does not practice at all!
Matt Taibbi wrote and article, google it talking how this guy has become a converted "green" guy but yet his actions are nowhere to be seen, Besides this his own wife is the owner of thousands of Malls around the globe and the US, super polluting machines! And they destroyed pristine lands in order to build more malls just last year, this guy is using green as a money making machine! shame on him he should eat less as well

posted by HarvardMe on January 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    This guy lives in a 114,000!!! square feet mansion and gives us lessons!

    This guys is what one can call a total fake, he lives in an obscene huge mansion, Not green, he is a lobbyist for the GOP and AIPAC, he promoted the war in Iraq, justifies war crimes all over the world, drives a NON green car, and all he does in this book is propaganda things that he does not practice at all!<BR/>Matt Taibbi wrote and article, google it talking how this guy has become a converted "green" guy but yet his actions are nowhere to be seen, Besides this his own wife is the owner of thousands of Malls around the globe and the US, super polluting machines! And they destroyed pristine lands in order to build more malls just last year, this guy is using green as a money making machine! shame on him he should eat less as well

    17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution- and How It Can Renew America

    The World is Flat opened our eyes to the rise of technologies like high-speed Internet and the knocking down of barriers both literal (the Berlin Wall) and figurative (the opening of China's economy to free trade). As Friedman notes new technologies, political paradigm shifts and, more importantly, innovative individuals at the helms of startups have leveled the playing field in the global economy. Now things are getting worse, and the clock is ticking. Americans have squandered most of the goodwill extended since 9/11, writes Friedman, and in the years of the Bush administration no thought has been given to what 9/12 is supposed to look like. The climate is changing, but the administration has spent most of its tenure denying it and insisting on a particularist view that we deserve to be profligate because we're Americans. Our political blindness and ignorance vis-a-vis other nations now butts up against the world's instability and, Friedman continues, 'the convergence of hot, flat, and crowded is tightening energy supplies, intensifying the extinction of plants and animals, deepening energy poverty, strengthening petrodictatorship, and accelerating climate change.'

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Stick to what you know

    Friedman is knowledgeable about the middle east and should stick to that subject. When he ventures 'off the farm' to energy and politics his bias and hatred of George Bush colors his judgement and he becomes a 'raving preacher of doom'.

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    A Doable, Win-Win Plan

    64 of 67 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars A Doable Win-Win Plan, September 8, 2008 By Norma Lehmeierhartie (New York, USA) - See all my reviews (REAL NAME) In Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution--and How It Can Renew America, Thomas Friedman presents an irresistible opportunity for Americans--one that can save the planet and increase our wealth. The world is flat because of globalization--which is good, as ideas and practices can spread effectively. What is not so good is that our world population is exploding and countries like India and China are seeing an increase in wealth, which puts more strain on the world's resources and increases global warming. Friedman begins the book with a discussion of how America has changed post 9/11. He uses the example of the US consulate built in 1882 in Istanbul. The consulate was built in the heart of the city: 'it was an easy place for Turks to get a VISA, to peruse the library or to engage with an American diplomat.' Following the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the building was closed and a nearly impenetrable consulate was built. This all but stopped visitors from visiting. Although the new building does protect against attacks, it isolates Americans and impacts on how we are viewed and how we see ourselves. Friedman writes that he wrote the book because: 'An American living in a defensive crouch cannot fully tap the vast rivers of idealism, innovation, volunteerism, and philanthropy that still flow through our nation. And it cannot play the vital role it has long played for the rest of the world--as a beacon of hope and the country that we can always be counted on to lead the world in response to whatever is the most important challenge of the day.' That challenge is global warming. He proposes we begin a massive project called 'code green.' Friedman identifies three broad trends in our society: 1. The post 9/11 building of walls around us to protect Americans from foreigners. 2. Since the 1980's, politicians acting 'dumb as we wanna be,' meaning we will get to fixing the roads, global warming and other issues when we get around to it. This includes politicians like Bush 'protecting us' from gas taxes and other unpleasantries to keep our standard of living, or the fact that we are in war and don't have to make any sacrifices (save the soldier's lives.) 3. Nation building at home. This is the one good trend Friedman sees and he writes about the plethora of innovative, imaginative souls who devote their energy to finding green solutions. Friedman considers what is now called the green movement to be more like a green party. He cites several 'green' books that include the words 'easy' or 'lazy' in the titles. The authors write books where: 'everyone is a winner, nobody gets hurt and nobody has to do anything hard.' I have read several of these books and agree--much of the advice is fluff. However, I do see the recent deluge of books and articles on sustainability as changing the consciousness and buying habits of the country. Many people who begin by making 'painless changes' get serious about the environment and one or two of them may be the next inventor of the solar-run car. I also believe that when millions cut down on the use of plastic and other nonrenewable resources, that it does make an environmental difference. The increase in population and wealth and buying power all tax our already limited supply of petroleum, coal and gas--all substances that cause global warming and pollute our planet. Even if you didn't 'believe' in global warming, it is a fact that petroleum--now needed in unprecedented amounts--is rapidly becoming an increasingly difficult product to procure. If you think spending $5.00 a gallon for gas for your car is a hardship, that price will be considered nothing in a few years. Folks, we are running out of time and oil. Friedman gets that Americans can use the diminishing supply in no

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution- and How It Can Renew America

    Hot, Flat and Crowded is great, just like Friedman's previous book. As in The World Is Flat, he explains a new era--the Energy-Climate era--through an illuminating account of recent events. He shows how 9/11, Hurricane Katrina, and the flattening of the world by the Internet (which brought 3 billion new consumers onto the world stage) have combined to bring climate and energy issues to Main Street. But they have not gone very far down Main Street the much-touted 'green revolution' has hardly begun. With all that in mind, Friedman sets out the clean-technology breakthroughs we, and the world, will need he shows that the ET (Energy Technology) revolution will be both transformative and disruptive and he explains why America must lead this revolution--with the first Green President and a Green New Deal, spurred by the Greenest Generation. Hot, Flat, and Crowded is classic Thomas L. Friedman--fearless, incisive, forward-looking, and rich in surprising common sense about the world we live in today. Highly recommended. People who like business books will also enjoy the other book I read this week: Squawk!: How to Stop Making Noise and Start Getting Results. It's been a big boon to my productivity as a manager already.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    Grinds on you

    I got it after the first few chapters. I find it insulting when any author say if you don't do something a certain way you must be either not 'enlightened' or 'uninformed'. And his pure science leaves something to be desired. When he states that the measurement of CO2 in the air has incresed every year since 1750, one has to wonder how they measured CO2 in 1750 ...or 1850...or 1950. And when they give reasons on why the planet is getting hotter, they convienently leave out that the sun is going thru a stage of getting hotter (sunspot activity)--but is now getting cooler. Hmmm, I wonder why they left out the fact that China just went thru 2 of its coldest winters on record. Does anybody take into consideration that instumentation is much more precise than it was a hundred hears ago. Just forty years ago you measured tempurature by 'looking ' at a thrmometer--no digital. Garbage!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Should have been edited for better emphasis

    Friedman explains how global warming, a fast growing population, and an astonishing expansion of the world's middle classes are creating a planet that is 'hot, flat, and crowded.' The dangers posed by these changes are clear: global warning, energy and natural resources will be scarce, petrodictatorships will flourish, energy poverty, and biodiversity loss, and extinction of animal species. In just a few years--2012--according to Friedman, it will be too late to fix things. The US must step up to the plate and take the lead in a worldwide effort to replace our wasteful, inefficient energy practices with a strategy for clean and efficient energy, at the same time we start a massive plan of conservation that the author calls: 'Plan Green.' Not only it is a great challenge, but also a great opportunity and one America can't afford to miss. Not only is American leadership the key to the healing of the earth it is also our best strategy for the renewal of our country. Hot Flat, and Crowded is a classic book: fearless, incisive, forward-looking, and rich in surprising common sense about the challenges--and promises--for a better future. My only concern with the book is that it should have been edited for better emphasis. After a while he just kept repeating himself.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book irked my nerves,

    although this book might appeal to some it did not appeal to me. I disliked the book and just wanted to throw it across the room. Not only did i dislike the book the title also reminded me of a teens vajayjay. Take my advice and do not read this book.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Excellent explanation about the demographics of the world and Friedman's view about where we are headed. With the world becoming Hot, Flat and Crowded, Friedman explains what he thinks that we need to do in order to avert global catastrophe!

    Even though I don't believe all of the "facts" in the book and I am sceptical about certain of Friedman's conclusions, the book is very intellectually stimulating and should be required reading for every American!

    Friedman very competantly explains how the world is becoming Hot (global warming), Flat (economic parity) and Crowded (population explosion). His historical perspectives are very good and help the laymen to understand these core issues.

    It is difficult for anyone to really know with certainty where we are headed with global climate change. Friedmans climate change conclusions are sobering and very well could be correct. However, Friedman does not give a balanced appraisal of the global warming debate. In a few places he uses emotionally charged arguements to support his conclusions (instead of sound scientific facts)about climate change. Friedman almost completely ignores the views of all climate scientists and considerable scientific information that might in anyway be contrary to his views. Although his global warming conclusions may indeed be correct, Friedman looses some credibility by using (at times) intellectually disingenuous arguements.

    Friedmans vision of the future, clean energy, etc, etc is appealing. It would be difficult for most readers to argue with his vision. However, the devil is always in the details. I suspect that the United States lacks the political will to implement his plan. I also suspect that the real economic costs to implement Friedman's vision are more than he represents. If his conclusions about climate change are correct, then we may have no choice but to make considerable social and energy changes, whatever the cost. However, if Friedman's climate change conclusions are exaggerated, it might not behove us to ruin our economy to avert a non-existent environmental castastrophe.

    Climate change and energy are the compelling issues of our generation. Reading Friedman's provocative book is intellectually stimulating and certainly worth the time to read regardless of whether you agree with the conclusions reached by Friedman!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Green is the new Red

    Just look at the people who push the green movement. Most or all of them have strong backgrounds in communist or Maoist beliefs. The green movement is more about transferring wealth than saving the planet. If it were about saving the planet, then every true believer in the movement would be svelte vegans who walk from speech to speech instead of the overweight, meat-eating, private jet fliers that they are.

    Add in the fact that the science behind the green movement, that increasing CO2 levels cause global warming, is fundamentally wrong since CO2 levels have been rising for the past decade while global temperatures have fallen and you have what religious skeptics call a religion. According to religious skeptics, religions are based on myth and belief in something that cannot logically be true given evidence to the contrary.

    I didn't read this book the first time it was released and I certainly won't be reading it this time.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    Don't waste your money

    Nothing new here--I would imagine most sophomore level environmental science majors could come up with something at least as compelling.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    What is credit history?

    Im an incoming ninth grader reading this book for my college level humam geography class. I am wondering if anybody could help me out and tell me what credit history is. Thank you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    One Star for Charity's Sake

    It's yesterday's book, and poorly wrtten. You won't find the issues of the day here; you'd never guess the US is broke, the EU on its last legs, international bureaucracies feathering their nests.
    There are the simple mistakes: e.g., on p. 179, Brazil's largest city is spelled two ways in three lines. There are sins of ommission: nowhere do we read of natural gas being a good and cheap replacement for gasoline, instead we get statist comments and stupid praise of ethenol. Junk science is big; we have global warming, we have hybrid cars, we have needs to radically expand government regulation of damn near everything.
    Finally, and most egregiously, we have calls for "revolutionary bureaucrats! Ever met one?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Outstanding, Realistic Book with Problems and Solutions

    I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in our environment, where we may be going, what the problems are, and some realistic ways that problems can be addressed. Thomas Friedman uses his extensive experience in the mideast as well as many other countries to discuss how this is a worldwide issue and how this needs to be addressed in a worldwide manner.

    The only improvement might be that he probably could have made his points quicker, but he set the stage for all points with facts and input from various experts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Hot, Flat and Crowded gives an overall picture of the impact of science and technology and its impact on critical problems facing us on a global scale in the near future. A must read for all, including members of the National Academies.

    As am endowed professor at a top 50 research university and an internationally recognized research scientist, I strongly recommend Thomas Friedman's book. It reliably accurate, clearly written and interesting to read. It give a glimpse into the future and points out sensible and relatively simple thing we can already do to make the US economically competitive and deal with the present and real threat of global warming. I am buying copies and giving them to my friends.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    Hot, Flat, and Crowded

    Thomas Friedman¿s Hot, Flat, and Crowded raises awareness to the worlds problem of global warming, a rise of the middle classes, and rapid population growth. He does an excellent job of showing the connection of all three issues. He addresses these controversial issues with well reasoned viewpoints and facts. It is an easy and interesting read. After completion of the book, I found myself motivated to want to make a difference, and work to change the ways we live to create a healthier and more stable environment. It is important that we change to a greener way of life so that not only will we be able to live in the world we were born into, but also generations to come.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Hsh

    :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Bailey

    "I do trust you."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Important Look at Our Possible Future Many people would rather

    Important Look at Our Possible Future

    Many people would rather have a root canal than read a non-fiction book about economics, especially one that doesn't paint a glowing picture of the future.

    Hot - the result of global climate change. Flat - the world is not becoming literally flat, of course, but geographical features that once assured isolation, like mountains and oceans, are ever more easily surmounted. Crowded - seven billion people and growing.

    If you are one of many who've recently sweltered through an unusually hot spring, summer, or fall, consider how much less pleasant it will be if/when our ancient, outdated power grid can't support all our electrical needs, and we have more and more rolling blackouts, with no air conditioning or even ceiling fans to move air around.

    Yes, that is the direction we are headed. Sounds grim, and it could be, but there are plenty of ways that particular future can be averted.

    It starts out quoting The Onion, about American's propensity to buy cheaply made crap from China. Crap that quickly breaks and thus must be replaced, and being Americans, we can't seem to stop ourselves from consuming even more crap.

    The book doesn't just present arguments and statistics, but uses lots of anecdotes to illustrate and drive the points home. The first half of the book presents the problem; the second half offers solutions. The style is easy to read, and the arguments are compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    The Big Green Fraud, by Them REALLY Filthy Rich Folks. Because the nonstop war machine hasn't bankrupted the FOOLS blindly supporting it ENOUGH yet.

    I'm not going to bother reading yet ANOTHER piece of "Green" propaganda. You would not waste your time away from recycling or gardening if you REALLY paid attention to the fact that the GREEN in this movement is representing MONEY & most assuredly~ NOT the flora OR the , inconsiderate fauna bovine cloud FARTS in the atmosphere. Nosir. There is climate change on this here planet, there is ALSO~hold on to yer hat~a pretty darn good history of the universe that THIS & the entirety of space actually, really, unbeleivably CHANGE!!!!! Over & over, hurtling through time, against ALL odds, it seems to RECOVER all by it's damned self! According to the SEND ME YER GREEN OR WE ARE ALL DOOMED guys, "climate change" {which in Swahili means "my wallet only contains change!"} Is a PERFECT ruse to guilt people into supporting your nothing but honest {cough}…totally really cares about mothet earth, current politician, and the various others who are profitting off of making you do stuff like ditching incandescent bulbs - to, um, replace them with HIGHLY expensive new age of bs bulbs that if GOD FORBID you bust one you better have HAZMAT on 911 ready~lest you seriously & permanently contaminate all living things around . INCLUDING , lord have mercy ~ factory farms, adding THAT poisin to cow farts!. OH! The humanity! I think I just figured out why 1000s of birds fall dead at yer feet sometimes. BLAST that GREEN cloud of cow flatulence with the cherry red bag of on top of extreme toxins! I think really, if you want to help save this highly polluted earth from doom, you gotta do some real simple stuff. Like recycle. Like DO NOT THROW CIGARETTE BUTTS ALL OVER HELL AND HIGH WATER GOD THAT IS SO DISGUSTING ALREADY, bend over & pick up trash that some clueless clod threw down & show THAT example of caring enough to want to make things much better regardless of who might think yer a nut. Or a hippy. How about making this planet safe for all of us by throwing politicians in jail for using depleted uranium on innocent people? By not allowing ANY MORE WARS! OR, by allowing people here to be employed again in trades of construction or artisans, things we USED to do AND BE PROUD of. Or, throwing ALL corrupted politicians displaying a love of power over the poor & a love for amassing more ill gotten gains than a body could EVER hope to spend, let alone need, in jail for crimes so grievous that we can't seem to "get" how bad we need to stop allowing this behavior & attitude of "to big to jail". We CIVILIANS are never to big to jail, or be molested by TSA! And while we are thinking pollution is SO bad we are killing the earth, is there a movement in this country to abolish the invasive radiation that we have been exposed to in airports for the last TWELVE YEARS? Politicians are SUPPOSED to be OUR employees. We have forgotten this fact in America. The only green in Washington that matters, or really, in this NewWorldOrder that we are fast letting take over, is MONEY. The GREEN MOVEMENT IS AS HONEST AS MAINSTREAM NEWS. Choose to go along with that ruse , that abomination, & your people 50 -100 years from now will be asking what we asked after WWII & operation paperclip, Korea ,Vietnam, And most unexplainable of all, 911. Why didn't we do a THING to wake from the matrix of lies & corruption & save this country, let alone the world, from unbridled greed which led to it's destruction? GLOBAL WARMING MONEY IS AS PROFITABLE AS THE WAR MACHINE. Think about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7