BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution - and How It Can Renew America

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution- and How It Can Renew America

The World is Flat opened our eyes to the rise of technologies like high-speed Internet and the knocking down of barriers both literal (the Berlin Wall) and figurative (the opening of China's economy to free trade). As Friedman notes new technologies, political paradigm ...
The World is Flat opened our eyes to the rise of technologies like high-speed Internet and the knocking down of barriers both literal (the Berlin Wall) and figurative (the opening of China's economy to free trade). As Friedman notes new technologies, political paradigm shifts and, more importantly, innovative individuals at the helms of startups have leveled the playing field in the global economy. Now things are getting worse, and the clock is ticking. Americans have squandered most of the goodwill extended since 9/11, writes Friedman, and in the years of the Bush administration no thought has been given to what 9/12 is supposed to look like. The climate is changing, but the administration has spent most of its tenure denying it and insisting on a particularist view that we deserve to be profligate because we're Americans. Our political blindness and ignorance vis-a-vis other nations now butts up against the world's instability and, Friedman continues, 'the convergence of hot, flat, and crowded is tightening energy supplies, intensifying the extinction of plants and animals, deepening energy poverty, strengthening petrodictatorship, and accelerating climate change.'

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

This guy lives in a 114,000!!! square feet mansion and gives us lessons!

This guys is what one can call a total fake, he lives in an obscene huge mansion, Not green, he is a lobbyist for the GOP and AIPAC, he promoted the war in Iraq, justifies war crimes all over the world, drives a NON green car, and all he does in this book is propaganda ...
This guys is what one can call a total fake, he lives in an obscene huge mansion, Not green, he is a lobbyist for the GOP and AIPAC, he promoted the war in Iraq, justifies war crimes all over the world, drives a NON green car, and all he does in this book is propaganda things that he does not practice at all!
Matt Taibbi wrote and article, google it talking how this guy has become a converted "green" guy but yet his actions are nowhere to be seen, Besides this his own wife is the owner of thousands of Malls around the globe and the US, super polluting machines! And they destroyed pristine lands in order to build more malls just last year, this guy is using green as a money making machine! shame on him he should eat less as well

posted by HarvardMe on January 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Hot, Flat, and Crowded with Information

    Hot, Flat, and Crowded is a very insightful book that explains what the earth's problems are regarding global climate change, the advancement in and the substantial dependence on technology ("flatness" of the world), and the exceeding world population. The second half of the book is dedicated to sharing ideas on how we can slowly, yet significantly, lessen these problems. Although Friedman successfully describes our world's issues and how we can eliminate them, the book tends to share an over-abundant quantity of scenarios, interviews, and news stories, one after another. This puts the reader in a state of perplexity because of these abrupt changes. The vast quantity of political, economic, and statistical information left me confused and a little bored because of the somewhat monotonous string of information. Otherwise, I learned a lot about our world's issues that I didn't know before. Getting an insight of other countries' problems and achievements made me want America to be #1 in being "green" and environmentally cautious, while still being an economically and politically stable nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    recommended for people who what to learn about what is happening with the going green and the environment.

    The first chapter of this book is vary good, but as you read on it tends to get a little more wordy or lots of words between interesting facts. Thomas Friedman could have added more things like how average Americans can help the environment. All around this is a decent unless if you don't believe in a cleaner and heather future for the following generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I did not realize all of the things that went wrong behind the scenes of the recent financial crisis. Friedman lays things out in a way I can understand. He took it beyond what you here in the news.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Dont buy this book! Read the book summary.

    I tried for three weeks to get in to it. Message is old but vaild. Buy the book summary. Also this book is not a good reflction of Thomas' other works. The lexus and the olive tree and the world is flat were both great books and worth the read at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    good read

    felt overcome by so many quotations it seemed lengthy but a good read for any passionate green person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Hot, Flat and Crowded..." should be required reading for everyone - within and outside of government

    As is his custom, Friedman, in "Hot, Flat and Crowded..." weaves together complex, interdisciplinary issues and ideas and packages them in a way that is consumable for the broader population. "Hot, Flat and Crowded..." should be required reading for everyone - within and outside of government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    Informative AND Enjoyable

    Very similiar to his The World is Flat, but it draws you in, and his views of the world tend to be quite insightful. This book, like his previous one, is very information-dense, but he has a way of presenting information in such a way that I often felt like I was being pulled into a novel, and wanted to see how everything is going to turn out! But it's OUR novel, it's the story of us on our planet, and although much of what he portrays is dire, he does highlight some ways in which our actions can make a difference in the world. I tend to like "gloom and doom aplocalyptic books" when they are just fiction. I greatly appreciate when non-fiction "gloom and doom" is soundly factual and at least hints at the potential for improving the situation. After reading this book, I tried to talk many friends into reading it, just for his ideas on renewable energy alone. I suspect the thickness of his book intimidates, but hearing him speak in the media, or listening to this book on audio-tape is quite pleasurabele and the subject is completely engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, Insightful Author

    This book is another triumph for Tom Freidman. He understands the dynamics that will not only change the global economy but the very way we live.

    Masterful job.

    Roger Chiocchi
    Author, Baby Boomer Bust? How the generation of promise became the generation of panic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Making the Case for Real Climate Reform

    Friedman's book, meticulously researched, provides a strong case for real environmental reform beyond the "Simple and Easy Ways to Save the Planet" approach that is more often heard in local news programming and on magazine covers. He not only lays out why reform would improve the climate effects across the globe, but how a U.S.-led effort on climate change would dramatically improve the nation's economy and bring many of the poorest of neighborhoods and their people out of abject poverty in our 1st-world nation. Ranging in argument from the need for stronger government legislation and regulation to how local utilities currently work and how they need to improve, Friedman's argument is logical and engaging. The book does suffer, at times, from excessive repetition and random appeals to emotion rather than logic, but on the whole the thesis is strong and should appeal to any engaged citizen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    Overall good book

    Starts a bit slow. But Excellent second half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved it

    The first half of the book is pretty depressing stuff but thankfully Friedman gives us hope that something can be done to stop our decline into the environmental abyss.

    A must read for anyone with kids who is worried about the type of world we are leaving them. The only thing you can think of when you put it down is how can I get involved?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Hot Flat and Crowded

    This book highlights the total lack of a national "energy policy" for the past 1/4 century, and proposed solutions. His arguments make perfect sense, but will take a grassroots movement to overcome political opposition. <BR/><BR/>If he would have edited it by 1/3 it would have been a much better book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fits with the president elect's agenda

    This was a great read. I loved how it explains the contributing factors to our current dilema with the environment, it shows us a practical way to get started, and fits well with my recent studies for spiritual growth. Move forwards, and learn.<BR/><BR/>This book makes more sense if you read the World is Flat by the same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Transformational and Informative

    As a "Environtmentalist" - whatever that really means these days - I was given this book by a friend, and not knowing Mr. Friedman's passion for this topic, I was innitially very skeptical, to say the least. However, with that said, after finishing the book, I have since ordered 10 copies to distribute to my friends. <BR/><BR/>Overall, the book is a huge 420 page "Environmental For Dummies" book on energy and conservation, and how each of these has a profound impact on all world inhabitants, and yes, that includes us Americans, who just happen to be only 3% of the population yet we consume 25% of the total energy in the world today. This abitite for energy consumption is fueling the fires of many petrol dictatorships around the world, some are our allies, and some flat out hate America. <BR/><BR/>Read the book if you are interested in understanding the direct relationships with energy consumption, petrol dictatorships (Google Dubai in 1999 and now, just 10 years), and the environment, specifically increased CO2 levels and what that means for our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    Great Author

    Excellent

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7