Customer Reviews for

Hot Gimmick, Volume 1 (VIZBIG Edition)

Average Rating 5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will keep you wanting more and more! its that good!

    I got the this book in a rush on my way out of the book store, I didn't even look at the back or inside the book to see if it was good or not, but somthing about it made me want to take it. I took it home and couldn't stop reading it, i fell in LOVE with the book and the characters. Ryo is soo good looking! this books got more love problems then one and it keeps you wanting more i would recomend it to anyone! manga/anime fan or not! its that good and the art work is amazing. I can't wait to start reading the other volumes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Out of the frying pan and into the fire! This is just what Hatsu

    Out of the frying pan and into the fire!
    This is just what Hatsumi’s day has been like. She goes from trying to buy a pregnancy test for her sister without anyone seeing her to becoming the slave of the person she hates most in the world. The story itself is pretty fast paced with a lot of surprises thrown in. It was definitely a book with a lot of emotions both for the characters and the readers themselves. There were many times where I wanted to stop reading because I was so angry at certain people in the book, but I always came back for more. All in all it was a fun and intense read that will put you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, but it also gets you thinking and can really pull at your heartstrings. The second volume is definitely going on my TBR list!
    Hatsumi is a sweet girl and I really empathized with her a lot. She has a big heart, but sometimes it can get her into a little trouble. All in all I really liked her character and will continue to root for her as the series progresses. She is one of those characters that really steal your heart and I can’t wait to find out how the rest of her story goes.
    The other main character is Ryoki who is not one of my favorites. He is a very interesting character in his own right though. He can be a bit overbearing at times, but he also has a sweet side to him that shows through at just the right moments. It is plain to see for me anyway that he really does care for Hatsumi in his own way. I’m not quite sure where things will go in this series, but I hope I get to see a little more about him and his back story in later volumes.
    Overall this is a fun read that Shojo fans should definitely pick up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Must Read Manga

    I never heard of Hot Gimmick before but one evening while in Barnes and Nobles I seen the manga and read a couple of pages and fell in love with it. I love the fact that it has so many genres in it you are always kept in suspense. I recommend this book to everyone and you bet i will be buying the other volumes!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Great Manga, Not for younger audience

    Hatsumi lives in a realistic world with real problems. The plot is twisted and addicting - not too predictable. The art is great and not full of unneeded details that make it hard to follow. However, THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR KIDS/YOUNG TEENS. There are mature themes, so I would say 13+ at least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best I ever read

    I had never heard of Hot Gimmick or Miki Aihara before in my life when my friend got this book and started letting all of us borrow and read it. It was the most interesting, most fascinating, most amazing, heart-pounding, edge-of-your-seat book I have ever laid eyes on. Don't let the fact that its manga scare you away. I've read Shakespeare and Emily Bronte and I thought it was an even better plot than any of the classics. My other friends (some of which barely ever read) also loved the series. It's not a heavy read, and no matter what genre you prefer, I HIGHLY recommend the Hot Gimmick series. I only advise that pre-teens don't read it. Wait until you're at least 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    Four Stars, All in All

    I liked how the main character was an airhead. It made her much more likable and easier to view as a victim. It was also a great contrast to the much more mature content of the rest of the series, which was a nice break in and of itself from the standard love/comedy story. I thought the scripting was a little wierd in places. "I think I might be preggo." Was one, I think. Mostly good with a few minor things. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series, see if it turns out to be a good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    very good!

    When I first heard about it,I thought'oh,I bet it wont be great,but I'll give it a try!'and man,it was GREAT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    First manga I ever Bought!

    A few years ago when I was just getting into manga, I saw this book and decided it looked interesting. Little did I know how great the series was. Probably one of my favorite series to date. Must read for anybody lookeing for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    This book sucks

    Ok, a friend let me barrow the first four books. I read them all in one night and I thought 'Wow, who really likes this stuff?' I was disappointed. When I first looked at the cover I thought it would be good. But boy was I wrong. The storyline, terrible. And a lot of things were left unexplained. I was completely confused. So I'm very glad I never even bought the manga. I wish not to be flamed by HG fans but to me it sucks. I would have given it 1 star but theres a reason I didn't. That reason you may ask? The artwork is somewhat decent. But everything else is just confusing. Please do not spend your money on this title. Use it for better shojo titles. ~Jiyu Motou

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    LOVE IT!!!!!!

    OMG!!! I was looking throught the manga shelves at Barnes and Noble and noticed this HUUUUGE gap in the books....except for one lying face down. It was the last one and convienently the first in the series. I bought it and now I'm hooked on the series!!! Up to #6!!! Any otaku who hasn't read this series isnt an otaku...so buy it! Its just what a teenage girl needs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    oh asuza is hot hot

    you got to love this book it is so awesome if you don't you will never ever get what i am saying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    The Ultimate 'Must Read' Manga.

    Assuming that you are looking into the 1st book of this series, you are wondering...'hmm, should I read this?' Actually, you should, or I think you should. I have a closet full of manga and this has got to be my favorite. Each book draws you in further. This is by far the best manga I have ever read. The story line is very unique and fascinating. This series will have you wondering what'll happen next and is very unpredictable! If your looking for a twisted love story beyond anything you've ever read, Hot Gimmick is a must for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Hot Gimmick is Hot Hot Hot!

    I bought the first three in this series last night and read them allback to back! I can't put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    The best Manga ever!

    THIS IS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST MANGA SERIES EVER! The story is SO good! It is romantic, funny, and keeps you waiting for more! I love the characters (I keep waiting for Ryoki to change and become the kind of boyfriend Hatsumi wants!). I can't wait for more volumes! This is just the best manga out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    Another love... square???

    Hot Gimmick--probably the best shoujo manga I've ever read! It's spunky, hilarious... but best of all, WHAT BISHIE FANGIRL CAN RESIST A MANGA WITH THREE HOT BISHIES? Each volume just keeps getting better and better. Truly, you'll be addicted and be begging for more volumes after you read the first one. ^-^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Could not but it down

    I normaly don't read books about teenage life but in this case it was great. A must read no matter what type of books you are in to. The things this girl goes through, I can't help but fell sorry for her. All in all I give it five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    THE BEST YOU WILL EVER READ

    this manga is awsome! it is drawn really well and the story line does not disappoint. read it you wont be sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    A REALLY MUST READ!

    This was a book that cought my eye in the book store. I was looking for a book when i found this one. I read a couple of pages to kinda get more of an idea of what it was about. I decied to buy it cause obviously it looked good in the store. And when i got home i couldnt beleave what i was reading. It was so good that the next week (i had to save up $10.00 because i didnt have it at that moment and thats why i waited the week....) that i went out and bought the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    FANTASTIC BOOK !!!!!

    Hot Gimmick is a great book. You will enjoy it as mush as I did. You won't regret buying this book. It's about a girl name Hatsumi. Her sister Akane might be pregnant. So Hatsumi goes to the drug store and buy a pregnancy test. On her way home, she runs into a childhood bully, Ryouki. He finds the pregnancy test and make her his slave. Then Hatsumi chidhood friend Azusa comes to recue her. There are more exciting parts in the story as you read along.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    OMG!!!!!!

    this book is totally awsome!!!! i luv all sortz of manga.... BUT this one takez the cake:) AND all the guyz are REALLY HOT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2