Customer Reviews for

Hot Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    "Hot Girl" Tingles with Power & Promise!

    "Hot Girl," is a beautifully written, engaging and priceless gem by author Dream Jordan which I happened upon that provoked and rendered me both helpless and empowered all at the same time. I was elatedly empowered by the God-given hope, talent and power that resides in all of us that's so colorfully depicted and developed in the resonating determination of the main character "Kate," yet I was held captive and emotionally frustrated by the stark reality of the "circumstances," powerfully addressed in this book that young people of all ethnic backgrounds, especially those in foster care have to endure and negotiate.

    Unfortunately, thousands of potential drama-inclined readers will deprive themselves of "Hot Girl," simply because this well-crafted, structured, socially relevant and feverish work is easily "mis-diagnosed," as the typical urban teen dilemma fiction piece when in fact, it is a poignant, coming-of-age, self-actualizing, personal challenge-to- triumph story indicative of all races that draws attention to the intricacies and fragility of making new and sustaining genuine friendships. Exposed even more, "Hot Girl," potently sheds light on the implicit social disgrace and insecurities that foster care children (and adults) grapple with and experience on a daily basis.

    Both men and women audacious enough to step out of their banal reading comfort zone to imbibe and enjoy "Hot Girl," will come away celebrating "Kate," and identifying with all of the book's characters to feel both enlightened and undeniably optimistic. "Hot Girl," tingles with power and promise and I'm now fondly anticipating my next "Dream!"

    Great "NJ Transit or NYC subway" ride home read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    To hottyhey sexy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    i love this

    i love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HOT GIRL.....?HOT READ!!!!!

    GREAT BOOK .....YOU WOULD NOT PUT IT DOWN....MOST OF THE BOOKS I READ AND WROTE A REVIEW FOR.. MOSTLY SAID "CANT PUT IT DOWM", BUT THATS HOW GOOD THEY ARE... THE STORYLINE IS SO RELATIABLE AND YOU AGREE WITH THE MAIN CHARACTER....YOU WOULD SOMEWHAT RELATE TO THE OTHER CHACATERS... UHM..MAYBE... BUT THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES!

    -PEACE//

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    NYC Teens Love Hot Girl!!

    ¿Teacher, why can¿t we read books like this in school!!??¿ She flashes a copy of HOT GIRL, by Dream Jordan in my face. She explains that HOT GIRL is the story of Kate, an urban teenage girl, who starts messing up in school, at home and with boys because she starts following a girl who only values boys and ¿bling¿ (money). But she starts to follow her own mind and does the right thing.<BR/>After reading my student¿s copy of the book, I found her review to be quite accurate. I also found the story of Kate to be engaging and well written. I purchased some additional copies and HOT GIRL has spread like wild fire among the students at my urban high school in NYC. <BR/>HOT GIRL meets the NYS ELA Core Curriculum Standards 2&4: Independent Reading and Partner Reading. HOT GIRL appeals to both strong and shy readers alike. It¿s refreshing to hear the dialogue generated by this book. <BR/>Having universal appeal, Hot Girl is a very real and timely coming of age story.<BR/>I Teach NYC

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Perfect Book For Teens!

    Hot Girl by Dream Jordan<BR/><BR/>As soon as I opened the box and saw the cover of Dream Jordan 's book I knew it was going to be a hit with my youth. Then I read the back and I was sure of it. Reading the book was simply confirmation. My readers for the most part are NOT readers, and don't read as long as they have ANYthing else to do, so a book has to catch their attention from the beginning with the cover and live up to the cover with the content. Dream's book has it all and I can't keep it on the shelf! My youth are struggling with the many issues raised in the book: true friendship, materialism, being parented by foster parents, doing the right thing, issues with sexuality and boundaries. It's a terrific book for girls AND boys. ~ Amy Cheney, Librarian, Juvenile Hall; 2009 Chair Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers<BR/><BR/><BR/>"Hot Girl is a very fast going book that keep up with me and is a perfect book for teen. The cover is very sexy and eye catching." ~Tony<BR/><BR/>"I liked that Kate was smart enough to leave the friend she thought she had and return to the friend she knew she had. I like the half face on the cover because it shows a girl who was beautiful in her own way." Khalilah<BR/><BR/>"I liked the way the book was formated. even the ending was great. the character was so cool and did what she had to do. " Laura

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    Impressive Debut

    Hot Girl is about a young girl who makes a bad choice in friendship. This novel shows what can happen when you let the wrong person in your life. It was so refreshing to read. Kate is a funny and witty character. You will fall in love with Kate and will be rooting for her all the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Significant Read for All Ages

    I was lucky to win a free copy of "Hot Girl". I didn't realize it was Teen Fiction until I retrieved it from the mailbox. However, I wasn't dissatisfied. <BR/><BR/>Kate, a former ¿bad¿ girl, has been in foster care for as long as she can remember. She¿s finally living with a respectable foster family and excelling in school. <BR/><BR/>At a local basketball game, she meets the glitzy, Naleejah. Soon after, she volunteers to ¿upgrade¿ the homely Kate, into a bona fide ¿hottie¿. Willing to risk backlash from her foster mother, Kate is eager to rid herself of her plain Jane persona, hoping to catch the eye of Charles, her childhood crush. <BR/><BR/>All of the characters in ¿Hot Girl¿ are significant and beneficial to the storyline. Particularly, Kate¿s best friend, Felicia who immediately recognizes that Kate is special. Upon introduction, Felicia is accommodating and encouraging. Much to the dismay of Kate. <BR/><BR/>Lastly, Kate¿s tale demonstrates that willpower, perseverance as well as surrounding yourself with positive individuals are essential to attaining success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1