Customer Reviews for

The Hot Kid

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Love Elmore Leonard and this was his best.

    This is a great audiobook and I think you would miss a bit by just reading it. The reader was great and the book was a whole bunch of fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    I could not put this down!

    I loved this book! It is such a fantastic, fun, interesting story peppered with heroes and villians of a bygone era that is still rich within our everyday lives. It is a story of fathers and the sons they raised - one who sides with the law, and one who doesn't - and the women they loved. I could not recommend this book more! It is so fantastic that you will wish is would never end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    If it takes you 3months to read a book the book isnt dumb you are

    This book acsally is good and i find it very intereesting. And to anyone who doesnt hint hint there dumb!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Not worth the time or money.

    I bought this book because, after the author died, I heard wonderful things about him. I've had the book for three months and I am on page 67. Why don't I just archive it and get an author that I love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Great book!!!!!!!

    Man!!what a great audio book it really makes you feel like you are in the thirtys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    This book was AWESOME, I've read it twice. Each time I read it

    This book was AWESOME, I've read it twice. Each time I read it I felt like I was in the 30's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    I can hear the movie producers slicing throats from here

    I'm convinced that Elmore Leonard is a literary genius. He just never seems to disappoint, despite a prodigious output. This is a brilliantly layered novel filled with characters just not found in other novels: 'quirky' is the usual adjective applied to Leonard's 'people,' and I'm powerless to come up with a better one. I absolutely love the way Leonard explores the minds of low-lifes and somehow makes them very appealing (I keep thinking of Ray Bones, Leo Devoe and super-opportunist Chili Palmer from 'Get Shorty': these are prime-time weasels but somehow we CARE about them). How the hell does he do that? In 'The Hot Kid,' he does it yet again with gangster wannabes and big-time losers who more or less worship or resent super-cool hero (maybe anti-hero) Carlos Webster. The plot bobs and weaves like a seasoned prizefighter, but Leonard is in total control of his material. The novel is not only exciting, but really gives us a highly readable and most interesting history lesson about the bad guys (and slimeball cops) who polluted the late '20s-early '30s in Oklahoma. Leonard is so good that he'll give you stuff that's so slyly funny and you're five lines ahead of him before you realize you've missed something hilarious. His dialogue is just so deadly accurate that it must be difficult for screenwriters to rearrange ANYTHING he's written. I don't envy them. Carlos Webster and 'The Hot Kids' who surround him are just waiting for the cameras to roll. I can't praise Elmore Leonard enough, and I'm amazed that he can still get it up so spectacularly at the age of 81. All hail the Dutchman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Dutch scores again

    Hot lead hot babes great dialogue. Dutch paints a picture of Oklahoma in the 30's. Bonnie and Clyde, check your rear view mirror. There are very few writers who have the talent to have words written that actually speak to the reader.Elmore Leonard is one of the few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Exceptional Writing

    Every time I read Elmore Leonard, I am in awe of his writing style. No one can quite match him, in my view. It's like he's sitting across from you, telling you a story. Absolutely great! Carlos Wesbster is one cool US Marshal who meets up with the likes of the Ku Klux Klan, gangsters from Kansas City, and one pestering gangster wannabe, Jack Belmont whose goal is to become number one on the Most Wanted list. References to Bonnie and Clyde, Baby Face Nelson, and other famous gangsters of that time make the read that much more fun. Exceptional book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    Dutch Strikes Again

    With his newest novel, The Hot Kid, Elmore Leonard shows that maybe his future...should take place in the past. The exciting cops and robbers tale is his best in years, and stars Deputy US Marshal Carl Webster, who is Leonard's coolest creation since Chili Palmer, and one whom we''ll hopefully see again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1