Customer Reviews for

Hot Lights, Cold Steel: Life, Death, and Sleepless Nights in a Surgeon's First Years

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    This was Dr. Michael Collins first book and he should win a rookie author of the year award for it.

    Review of Hot Light, Cold Steel on October, 27 2011
    This was Dr. Michael Collins first book and he should win a rookie author of the year award for it. Hot Lights, Cold Steel is a nonfiction story about Dr. Collins road to become a Orthopedic surgeon. Dr Michael Collins grew up the oldest of oldest of 8 brothers. He worked his way their college working as a construction worker. He earned his undergrad degree at University of Notre Dame. After graduation he worked as a cab driver. After two years of blue collar work he was accepted into Loyola University Strich School of Medicine. After graduating from medical school and becoming a doctor Dr. Collins did hid orthopedic residency at Mayo Clinc in Minnesota. One of the main themes that appears throughout the book is that the patients is always the primary concern and should be treated with the up most respect.
    Hot Lights, Cold Steele begins with Dr. Collins first day of beginning his residency. Dr.collins comes into his residency without knowing the slightest clue of what it takes o become a orthopedic seurgeon. As the time moves forward Dr. Collins learns more about orthopedics and shapes him self into a great surgeon. Along the way of his residency he experiences seeing many successes and many failures. For example he as to do his first leg amputation he does it flawlessly, but when he goes back to check on the patient in a year he finds out that she dies. He was saddened that such a young girl could die at such a young age. But he didn't give up being a doctor he instead tried harder to help people and save more people's lives. This is what made him a great surgeon his die hard will.
    This book is a very memorial book for me because it gives me a side scoop of what I expect the medical world to be when I get older and want to do it for my profession. I suggest that this book to anyone that is interested in pursuing a medical career in the future. I now see the scarifies you must take in order to become a doctor. Before I read this book I just wanted to get into the medical procession for the money. But now that I read this book see that being in the medical procession is all about helping people. And that joy that you recive from helping a person is priceless.
    This book is a great read. As you are reading it you feel that you are at mayo clinc with Dr. Collins himself. This is because he uses such great descriptions of the scenery around him and the hospital. I really enjoyed this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    Very Good - you must check it out!

    He's a very talented writer, witty and interesting. I enjoy reading about medical life and, so far, this has been one of the best books I've gotten.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    A hit

    I appreciated Collins' honesty about his limitations and his sense of homor. I enjoyed watching his expertise grow, especially as he moonlighted as an ER doc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Loved it. A must read!

    Loved it. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER WRITTEN!!!

    One of the best books ever written! If you liked this one, you should consider reading "Blue Collar, Blue Scrubs".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I absolutely enjoyed reading this book. I recommend it to all of my friends because of it's humor and wonderful prose. Plus, it really brings a person into his life and the way he went about his residency.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    A nice book to read...

    I started this book in the evening and finished it by the next afternoon. I couldn't put it down. Dr. Collins describes situations so well that even if you aren't in the health profession, you understand the situation at hand. You desire to know the outcome of the problem he faces. I also enjoyed the softer moments of the book about his ever expanding family and their funny moments together. It's a great book and such a special gift to his loving wife. I've passed this book along to my colleagues who also enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    Absolutely loved It and recommend it

    I absolutely loved this book. It was hard for me to put it down. It is funny and sad at the same time. Dr. Collins' road to become a surgeon at the Mayo Clinic was a roller coaster of emotion. I actually bought this book at Barnes & Noble while in Rochester, MN. I was vacationing there while visiting the Mayo Clinic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    I could not put it down!

    This was a 'can't put it down' read. I was completely glued to this story. From the medical stories, to the 12 children, It was the best medical biography I have read. I would recommend this to anyone. And I have !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    A must read for anyone in the medical profession or considering entering the medical profession

    Hot Lights, Cold Steel is one of the best books that I have ever read. Collins' description of his experience in residency is hilarious, horrifying, and compassionate. He transforms from a shy student, into a determined self confident leader. This book is so well written that it is hard to put down and leaves the reader wanting to know more. This book should be a requirement for anyone considering the medical profession. You will be glad that you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    First class memoir

    This book is to doctors what the book One L was to lawyers -- a gritty, honest account of the pursuit of a profession that few aside from those who've undertaken a similar path can possibly appreciate or understand in any meaningful way. The best feature of this book are the vivid anecdotes of patients who had the privilege of being treated by a very dedicated professional. I was brought to tears at least a half a dozen times which was not due to my being overly emotional (I am a heartless lawyer after all) but can be credited to the author who did a masterful job of making his patients feel real to the reader. I know that after reading this book I now have at least a clue of the level of personal sacrifice that must be made in the name of becoming a surgeon. This book should be required reading for anyone considering medical school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    Springtrap

    *crawls through the vents*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2015

    Foxy the Not-a-phantom-anymore

    He sat down and tried to come up with a new jumpscare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Zach

    Walks to the control center

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Withered freddy

    He walks away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2