Customer Reviews for

The Hot List

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    A True to Tween Story-highly recommended!

    A true to Tween story on friendship, boys, and enemies that makes you hate and love middle school all over again :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great book.

    This book is a really good book for children ages 10-12
    You should definetly get it if you like more girly books that you can relate to yourself I honeslty loved it! It also isnt that long of a read just aroung 150 pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    MY 'Tween Girls LOVE IT!!

    I have two very finicky and difficult 'tween twin girls. With a world of distractions they are very hard to convince that reading is a worthwhile pastime. But I try to get them to stop texting and read at least one book a month.
    I'm so glad I came across The Hot List. I bought this author's previous book, Things Gonna Get Ugly and my daughter's loved that book too.

    They are not much on sharing so I got them a copy each. After reading in separate parts of the house they actually came together and talked about the book. A miracle!
    This author really nails it for 'tween girls and what they find interesting. Highly recommended. Thank you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    Wonderful Read

    I picked up this book because I've had Homzie as an instructor and wanted to see what it was like. I loved it! Read it in one setting and passed it on to my "tween" niece. She has since passed it on to three more friends. The cover is getting a bit worn, in the way of any good book. The best compliment for any author is passing the novel forward with the words, "You've got to read this book."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Poignant, Funny Book Captures the Tween Experience

    In The Hot List, Hillary Homzie portrays the Tween experience in a way we can all understand and relate to. Having a best friend who starts to drift away toward other, flashier and more popular friends is something all kids go through. The Hot List is a sweet, funny book that shows its readers the lengths one girl went to in order to get her friend back. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Havent read it YET

    Im hoping for a rread to this book. Seems interezting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Into the mind of a tween

    Hillary Homzie places us squarely inside the mind of girl tweens with her new book, The Hot List. When the protagonist, Sophie, invents a ploy to keep her best friend, Maddie, it turns into a fad, and she finds herself "out" rather than "in." Struggling to recover, she learns about herself and life. Homzie has captured the voice, thoughts and hyper-sensitivity of pre-teen girls with an authenticity that is just short of amazing. She marries voice, language and humor into a story that moves quickly and is simply fun to read. The characters are a treat. You'll commiserate with Sophie, laugh at Squid, wonder about Blue and learn to live with Nia. It's a delightful book, written for girls and about girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

    totally the coolest book in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Dont ever think about it

    Terible not lying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Kanaya 12:14 (your time) 1:14 (my time)

    OKLAHOMA! COLORADO? WHAT? We are going to Oklahoma. Yes we left friday. Wow. Wow. Tons of questions. A motel has the doors outside and a hotel is all inside. Yes we've already stopped at one hotel. Right now were in Nebraska. We've gone through Idaho, Utah, and Wyoming. Tomarrow were going through this state and Kansas. We're going to get in tomarrow! In the evening sometime. We're visiting dads family first. Dad has LOTS of Uncles and Aunts. Were going to be staying with my dads cousins. They have boys ally and dustins age. No I've never seen Jagur. I've never been to their house. I saw pictures of you on instagram :P Holding chantry of course :) Ummmmmm..... what were your other questions? Right now its 1:00 here. But midnight your time I think. Soon were going to be two hours ahead of you guys. I don't think we are yet. While we've been driving I've watched movies, listened to music, slept, been bored, wrote in my journal. Etc. Etc. I BOUGHT A CAMERA!!!!!!! We stopped by a Walmart today at one point and got some stuff and I bought a camera :P I finally earned enough money ($94) but we didn't go by a store before the trip. But now I have a camera. Yay!!!!!!!!!! Wyoming is very flat by the way. And dry. So is Nebraska. Although sometimes theres cliffs. We haven't driven to Oklahoma since I was two. The last few times we have gone to Oklahoma we have flown. Have you ever been on a plane? I love flying :D I don't know what time the hayride is. I'm guessing around seven? It's on the 5th. HOUSE OF HADES COMES OUT IN 9 DAYS. AND ALLISON IS GOING TO BUY IT BECAUSE SHE STILL HAS A GIFTCARD FROM CHRISTMAS!!!!! AAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! I'M SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!! I will get yo talk to you tomarrow night! Unless the people that I can't remember their names don't have WiFi. Its someone and Shelly. Noah amd Jude are the boys. I remember everyone just not their dads name. Hmmmmmm....... arg! Why can't I remember! Well. Talk to you tomarrow!!!!!!!!!! Oh wait! It's Allen and Shelly! I rememberd!!! Talk to you tomarrow!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    This book...

    Was so good! I love, love, loved it!!! Read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    wtf

    Isbit annygood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    have...

    Have u ever masturbated? Post ur stirues. Haha! :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Hot List is a Great Read

    I'm a tough book critic and as an adult, I loved the book!

    It was a realistic and engaging look at the issues that teens face as they grow into their new social skins.

    Nothing like a great story to drive home the point that relationships are complex and people are not always what they seem on the surface.

    Homzie deals with real issues in real and believable ways with characters that could easily be MY kids.

    And did I mention it was a great read?

    I checked the book out for my own daughter and it get's the big thumbs up from Mom.

    Not just a dumbed down story. Great pacing, great storyline, great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1