Customer Reviews for

Hot Mahogany (Stone Barrington Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed this book. Stuart Woods has great characters and keeps you involved every moment. Stone Barrington is once again funny & loveable. I enjoyed this and would recommend to anyone who's looking to be entertained.

posted by MHH66 on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I love the characters of Stone Barrington and Dino and as a rule find Stuart Woods' books delightful to read. Hot Mahogany unfortunately was not one of his better books. The plot seemed to be disjointed and did not flow well. Rather than building up and savoring the ...
I love the characters of Stone Barrington and Dino and as a rule find Stuart Woods' books delightful to read. Hot Mahogany unfortunately was not one of his better books. The plot seemed to be disjointed and did not flow well. Rather than building up and savoring the characters and plot it seemed like Woods was writing just to meet a deadline. Even though this was not one of my favorites, I am still a fan. I will not judge one book by its cover as I know Woods can and will continue to write good reads.

posted by mazeydazey on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Disappointing

    I love the characters of Stone Barrington and Dino and as a rule find Stuart Woods' books delightful to read. Hot Mahogany unfortunately was not one of his better books. The plot seemed to be disjointed and did not flow well. Rather than building up and savoring the characters and plot it seemed like Woods was writing just to meet a deadline. Even though this was not one of my favorites, I am still a fan. I will not judge one book by its cover as I know Woods can and will continue to write good reads.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    Rip Off

    Extremely disappointing. Woods used to be one of my favorites,but this one is so trite.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    Not what I expected.

    Unfortunately I buy everything Woods' writes. I feel I have thrown my money and time away on the last three books. Not again.<BR/><BR/>It appears Woods' has sunk to the level of Higgans and Cussler and Clancy. They produce crap and people buy it based upon passed reputation.<BR/><BR/>I'll stick with Demille and Connelly and Silva and Childs. They produce wonderful stories with excellent characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Woods has lost touch

    I feel like I am throwing my money away on woods, this book was just boring, I read it in a day, and lost that day, maybe he should stop and write like he used to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed this book. Stuart Woods has great characters and keeps you involved every moment. Stone Barrington is once again funny & loveable. I enjoyed this and would recommend to anyone who's looking to be entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wooden

    It wouldn't be politic to criticize a book that I enjoyed reading, so let me simply say that it was light reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Stone Barrington thriller!

    Good reading ~ Stuart Woods always comes through. Love the Stone Barrington character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hot Mahogany

    I always like the Stone Barrington series because of the returning characters. I wondered by the title what this one was about. Its a book to read for fun can pick it up and know where you left off. I enjoyed this one because it dealt with antiques. My mom & sister are
    Stewart Woods fans so we trade books back and forth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Hot Mahogany

    I love Stone Barrington -- so shallow but entertaining. However, Woods did not elaborate on the Barton Cabot character enough. He hinted at serious spy secrets but didn't really flesh that out adequately in my opinion. Still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Losing touch

    I, too, read this in a day. And have again been disappointed with this series. The last few books have really lost their thrill and suspense. How many women can he continually be tossed into bed with? I love Stone but he's losing his credibility.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner for Woods

    An amusing romp through the surprisingly intriguing world of antiques and coin collecting, Woods' latest Stone Barrington mystery finds the popular sleuth back from the Caribbean at his favorite Manhattan eatery, Elaine's. There, he is approached by his CIA pal Lance Cabot, who asks him to keep an eye on his brother, Barton Cabot, an antique restorer who has partial amnesia after recently falling victim to a violent crime. Barton's former career in Army intelligence makes him a risk given his current affliction, but the plot takes a different turn when one of his pieces, worth tens of millions, is stolen from his workshop, a theft that might be related to a cache of gold coins smuggled out of Vietnam by Barton's old unit over thirty years ago during the war. An interesting premise paired with Woods' engaging cast of regulars make Hot Mahogany another winner in the Stone Barrington series. Also recommended: A STRANGER LIES THERE - winner of the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery, its protagonist is a former 70's radical whose part in an anti-Vietnam War action left three people dead. His past comes back to haunt him one morning in the form of a dead body on his front lawn.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Great, as usual

    Loved this book just as much as all his others. Stone Barrington, and of course Dino, are wonderful characters and I'd read anything Stuart Woods writes. Hate I have to wait so long for another of his books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    fine investigative thriller

    In Manhattan former police officer and now highly regarded lawyer Stone Barrington is in Elaine¿s restaurant with Dina Bochetti they both are shocked to see Lance Cabot, CIA Deputy Director for Operations looking disheveled and foreworn. A few minutes later the real Lance arrives at the nightclub to the amazement of Stone and Dina he explains his doppelganger is his older brother former army intelligence specialist Barton, who still suffers from an amnesia causing blow to the head. ---- Barton is also an artisan who makes antique reproductions, but when he gets to his workshop, he seems one of mahogany desks has been stolen the original is a Goldbard-Townsend worth millions, but he is unsure whether the original or his replication was taken. He hires Stone to help him find it Barton¿s theory is one of the men who served under him in Nam stole the desk because he was dissatisfied with his share of the contraband smuggled out of Viet Nam by the unit. While avoiding jealous and cuckold lovers and still making love to a variety of women, Stone accompanied by Dina investigate Barton¿s allegations, but only the amnesic can take them to the perpetrator. ---- As always a Stuart Woods novel is a special treat and HOT MAHOGANY is no exception. There are many amusing scenes especially since Stone consistently thinks with his wrong head and ends up taking it up the shorts. From the opening page, the action begins and never stops keeping the audicne on the edge of their seats whether Stone dodges a lover or someone trying to end his investigation. Though Stone in this thriller is much more a sleuth than a lawyer fans will enjoy Stone¿s look at the dangerous world of antique sales. ---- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Lucia

    She flew into Mahogany Town as Latias. "Hi Grandma. A Gyrados is rampaging again at Lake Rage again, right?" Her grandmother nodded. She then flew off to res 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    loved it

    another winner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Great read, Stuart Woods keeps you reading

    I'v been having problems with the pages turning in my Nook color. The only books so far that does this is Stuart Woods. The last three books I had problems with and had to go to the menue to turn the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Bad bad bad

    I have read EVERY Stone Barringtin book and loved each. This
    drivel is the most boring, tedias book i have read in years. I first tried to read it in paperback 3 years ago and threw it away it was so bad. I just tried again on my Nook and stopped dead at page 150 because life is too short to suffer through a book this ridiculous.
    Good riddance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Another GREAT Stuart Woods read!

    Like all of the Stone Barrington books I have read (and I have read them all!), this is a must read for those who are unfamiliar with the Stone Barrington Series. I eagerly await the next book and can say this one, is one of my favorites. I met Stuart Woods when he was touring last year in Arizona. He is a very down to earth guy and his books have many twists and turns. If you have never read a Stone Barrington book, start with this one and I guarantee you will end up reading the entire series as I have. Great Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME

    I thought that this book was full of mystery and suspense... it is perfect book for any age. I absolutly loved this book..it is an absolute page turner... it doesnt disapoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Boring

    This was one of the worst Stone Barrington books I've read....just boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4