Customer Reviews for

Hot Rain

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Kat Martins Best

I am a HUGE Kat Martin fan but this book started pretty slow. But, I hung in for 100 pages or so and then it picked up and got more interesting... Allie and Jake were a delightful couple who went through a lot of excitement to fall in love... Allie starts out as a stowa...
I am a HUGE Kat Martin fan but this book started pretty slow. But, I hung in for 100 pages or so and then it picked up and got more interesting... Allie and Jake were a delightful couple who went through a lot of excitement to fall in love... Allie starts out as a stowaway on a luxury yacht manned by three less than trustworthy men. I think that was the part that moved slow for me... Once they landed in the jungle in Belize things started to move and the story line became more exciting... Gun running can be pretty dangerous... Allie is a young woman looking for her place in life and she took the hard way to find it when her friend and roommate winds up dead and Allie thinks it is murder... Jake was a two time loser in marriage whose ex had disappeared with his five year old son... An ex Special Forces officer working undercover added to the story... I don't know how believable parts of the book were but overall I enjoyed it.

posted by SaraBetty on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A TEDIOUS READ

I WAS VERY SHOCKED AT THE WAY THIS BOOK TREATED THE SUBJECT OF RAPE SO LIGHTLY. THE FEMALE CHARACTER WAS MAN HANDLED SO OFTEN AND BY SO MANY DIFFERENT MEN IT WAS AWFUL. THE STORY WAS SLOW AND PLODDING, NOTHING OF MUCH INTEREST.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    A TEDIOUS READ

    I WAS VERY SHOCKED AT THE WAY THIS BOOK TREATED THE SUBJECT OF RAPE SO LIGHTLY. THE FEMALE CHARACTER WAS MAN HANDLED SO OFTEN AND BY SO MANY DIFFERENT MEN IT WAS AWFUL. THE STORY WAS SLOW AND PLODDING, NOTHING OF MUCH INTEREST.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Not Kat Martins Best

    I am a HUGE Kat Martin fan but this book started pretty slow. But, I hung in for 100 pages or so and then it picked up and got more interesting... Allie and Jake were a delightful couple who went through a lot of excitement to fall in love... Allie starts out as a stowaway on a luxury yacht manned by three less than trustworthy men. I think that was the part that moved slow for me... Once they landed in the jungle in Belize things started to move and the story line became more exciting... Gun running can be pretty dangerous... Allie is a young woman looking for her place in life and she took the hard way to find it when her friend and roommate winds up dead and Allie thinks it is murder... Jake was a two time loser in marriage whose ex had disappeared with his five year old son... An ex Special Forces officer working undercover added to the story... I don't know how believable parts of the book were but overall I enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Overdone & Implausible

    This book was far too long given the content. The heroine, despite the hero's opinion, is simply not that bright given her actions. It was emotionally shallow and the author goes overboard with physical descriptions that add nothing to the plot. It doesn't lack steamy sections, but they don't properly complement what should have been a far more serious and intense story that I simply couldn't buy into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed romantic suspense

    In San Diego, Mary Alice Parker drops her friend Christine Chambers off by the yacht, but before Mary Alice can reach her car and leave the bay area, Christine and boyfriend Donnie Markham die in an explosion on the Dynasty Corporation owned craft Dynasty I. Mary Alice ponders several recent conversations in which Christine worried about the unknown activities, perhaps illegal that Donnie performs for Dynasty Corporation. Soon Mary Alice begins to wonder if a double homicide occurred to eliminate Donnie from the company rather than the official opinion that an accident happened. <P>She investigates leading to her sneaking on board the Dynasty II just before the vessel sets sail for Belize. On board along with the female stowaway are Agent Jake Dawson and two thugs. When one of the goons finds Mary Alice, Jake claims her as his and makes it clear that if she wants to survive this trip without rape and death she must pretend to be his beautiful bimbo bunkmate. However, feigned sex begins to turn into love complicating the complex even further. <P>HOT RAIN is an action-packed romantic suspense that contains quite a wallop of a story line. Though why Mary Alice insists on making inquiries including trespassing when no evidence existed seems out of character is a mystery in and of itself. Still, fans will relish her feisty behavior, as she appears like a modern day Rosie (Hepburn) to Jake¿s Alnut (Bogart) in the African Queen. Kat Martin has written a strong tale that sub-genre fans will enjoy the ride. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Random tree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Pebnlesplash

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Autumnbreeze

    This is my den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Nursery

    This is the nursery~•maplestar•~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    once again miss kat has delivered a story that more than pleases

    once again miss kat has delivered a story that more than pleases. allie parker just knows that her friend chrissy's death was no accident. in her quest for truth she gets trapped on a gun runner's yacht with three men, two of which have unwelcome plans for her. the third, jake, is protective of her, but she can't figure why. the story continues with heart pounding love scenes, and pulse pounding action scenes that will leave you breathless at times. turns out the three men aren't running drugs as allie thought, but guns, and trading for the antiquities of mayan ancestors. dangerous is not a strong enough word for the dangers they face. miss kat has done what she does best and written a story guaranteed to leave you wanting more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Utterly HOT

    I usually can call a books end by the 2nd chapter of the books. I was quite thrilled to find a book that made me second guess my conclusions on more than one occasion.
    I have reread the book more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great story!

    Action, adventure and steamy romance. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    You guys

    R IN MY TERRITORY!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Redfeather

    "You are a respected medicine cat. No one will treat you that way. But my lips are sealed."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Midnight to storm star

    Hey there. Im wondering if i could b ur mate. Description of myself. Jetblack fur. long tail. and d ark blue eyes i am a warriir also

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    LEADERS DEN

    Below the High Ledge is a cave in the rock. Inside it is fairly roomy. It is perfect for the leader. And maybe his mate. -Stormstar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No

    No

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Gingerblaze

    Gtg bye

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great Book! Can't wait to read more from this author!

    Great Book! Can't wait to read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    First 9 chapters missing

    I feel I really wasted my money on this one. Very disappointed! The first third of the book is missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Book was fair

    Knew what was going to happen no suprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3