Customer Reviews for

Hot Stuff

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chic Lit at it's best!

Janet Evanovich has the uncanny knack of making her characters so lovable that you are rooting for them from the beginning to the end of the story. Even their flaws are endearing. Evanovich can weave a story that is depicted so well that you feel as if you are there....
Janet Evanovich has the uncanny knack of making her characters so lovable that you are rooting for them from the beginning to the end of the story. Even their flaws are endearing. Evanovich can weave a story that is depicted so well that you feel as if you are there. And you are never ready for the story to end-I always turn all the pages looking for more.

posted by 368767 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Simply Cute

Sure, there were a lot of similarities between this book and the Plum series, but who cares? Janet is a great, creative author, and Hot Stuff is funny, cute, and an easy read. Irish bartender Cate Madigan gets tangled in her cross-dressing roommates problems. In the me...
Sure, there were a lot of similarities between this book and the Plum series, but who cares? Janet is a great, creative author, and Hot Stuff is funny, cute, and an easy read. Irish bartender Cate Madigan gets tangled in her cross-dressing roommates problems. In the meantime, she meets the mysterious, sexy, and possibly good guy, Kellen McBride. Falling in love in a few days isn¿t the most believable, but it¿s still a good little book. Anyone looking for a quick, enjoyable book should read Hot Stuff.

posted by Cupcake247 on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Cute

    Sure, there were a lot of similarities between this book and the Plum series, but who cares? Janet is a great, creative author, and Hot Stuff is funny, cute, and an easy read. Irish bartender Cate Madigan gets tangled in her cross-dressing roommates problems. In the meantime, she meets the mysterious, sexy, and possibly good guy, Kellen McBride. Falling in love in a few days isn¿t the most believable, but it¿s still a good little book. Anyone looking for a quick, enjoyable book should read Hot Stuff.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Chic Lit at it's best!

    Janet Evanovich has the uncanny knack of making her characters so lovable that you are rooting for them from the beginning to the end of the story. Even their flaws are endearing. Evanovich can weave a story that is depicted so well that you feel as if you are there. And you are never ready for the story to end-I always turn all the pages looking for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun

    I just finished Hot Stuff by Janet Evanovich the other day and I loved it. So funny and sweet, with a mix of action, danger and bad dates who talk in the 3rd person. Poor Cate is having a hard time fielding oddballs from her family's misplaced but well meaning attempts to find her 'The One', but she's got a pretty good life. She's bartending and sharing a room with a popular singing drag queen ala Marylin named Marty. Rent is cheap, she can take her classes, what more can a girl want?

    Enter Kellan, dark, mysterious and he seems to be determined to win a date with her. Then Marty disappears, a puppy the size of a pony shows up along with a note that he's to be protection. Just what is going on? Kellan kicks up his efforts and in the fashion of all good stories, all heck breaks lose. Is anyone who they appear to be? Can Cate and Kellan live long enough to get to a real date? Couldn't put it down, a rollercoaster of fun. Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hey

    :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Finished in an hour and a half

    I love reading and reading this book was a great way to spend my saturday!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Typical Janet Evanovich Book - Quick read and funny!

    Typical Janet Evanovich Book - Quick read and funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Great

    This book is a great little book, easy reading, funny very enjoyable. Couldn't put it down till I finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot Stuff and a Big Beast what a pair.

    This book was great reading. Love the mystery of it but most of all it had me laughing. I have been reading all of Janet's books and there is none that I didn not like. Some of the language is a little rough. Overall it was a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!!

    I loved this book! It was an easy read...a cute romance story and good mystery all in one! I would highly recommend it! Another great novel from Janet Evanovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Hot Stuff, an "in-between" book.

    I enjoyed this book, not as much as the Stephanie Plum books, but it was good. The family trying to fix her up all the time, with losers, was very funny. She works for a place bartending, lives with a cross dresser, and when "she" disappears, has to take care of Beast, who is at least 150 pound dog, all baby. It gets nasty when the police start looking for her roommate, then things start to pop. Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Finished in 4 hours

    Great book. I found myself laughing out loud. Once again, Evanovich and Banks do not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was the first bookI have read from Evanovich...it was great- funny and suspenseful, I read it in 3 hours, I couldnt put it down.i cant wait to read more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    a reviewer

    With some authors you start feeling like you are reading the same thing over and over again. Not so with Janet Evanovich. I buy all her books the minute they come out and every one is a delight. I like her writing so much because there is a little of everything in her books. This is a really fun story that any lover of mystery or romance will definitely enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Starts off slow but...

    This book starts off slow, but it's really good! It was so good, that I read it in one day. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Plum awful

    I picked up this book because I'm a fan of both Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books and Leanne Banks's romances. I'm glad I read the first two chapters in the bookstore and put it back on the shelf. It's a disappointment. Nowhere did I see any trace of Leanne Banks in the book and the plot and characters were boring and dull. Basically they've taken a Plum plot and re-worked it into something that well... doesn't work. Cate is TSTL. Pugg is annoying. And Kellen... I didn't get far enough into it to come to any conclusions about him. This one gets a thumbs down from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Great Team

    I thought the collaberation between Evanovich and Banks was inspiring! Terrific humor, a twisted plot and fabulous secondary characters - Go Beast!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Kahn

    Bios here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    I have been a fan of Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series for over

    I have been a fan of Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series for over a year now and picked this book up from a "Free" shelf at our local library.  It was a "light" read that I really enjoyed and was happy that I grabbed it.  It is a shame that it is a "stand-alone" book because I would have liked to have read more about the characters in the story.  If Evanovich and Banks write more about Cate's adventures, I would definitely purchase a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    R0ck$t@r

    $t@r$tre@k <br> My$tic$ong <br> ?ect@rp@w

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    *

    *

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4