BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hot Target (Troubleshooters Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Sorry but no cigar...

    Very disappointing considering the other well-written and exciting books in this series. I was very intrigued with glimpses of Cosmo Richter in the past novels but felt really let down as to how his character developed in this one. The heroine was too mouthy, unbelievably dumb (not heroic or brave) and came across as sleazy in some parts. Lastly, if I had known that half the book was about Jules' lovelife, I wouldn't have bought the book. Jules was a fun character but his lovelife should have been a separate book for those interested in reading about it. I ended up skipping over the parts related to this portion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Dont bother with this book

    This book is really bad. Even the trouble shooters are shallow and trivial. The "guest" characters are impossible to care about. The story line is shallow, trivial and boring. While I wouldn't list Ms Brockman among the great american authors, her previous troubleshooter novels have been acceptable adventure stories and the romance almost realistic. Hot target just isn't. Go ahead and try some of the earlier books in this series, but skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    must read

    All of the troubleshooter books are excellent reading. Filled with action and romance. I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    I love a good action, suspense romance novel, however, this one

    I love a good action, suspense romance novel, however, this one takes it too far with the gay characters, and the over the top use of the homophobic statements against everyone who doesn't agree with the authors position.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    I have been reading these in order and can hardly wait to buy th

    I have been reading these in order and can hardly wait to buy the next two BUT I have to say this one was a total disappointment.
    I flew over the first 5 chapters just so I could get to what I thought was the heart of the book wow what a dissapointment.
    I hope the remaining books in this series are better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    One of the Best in the Series!

    I flew through all 17 books of the troubleshooter series in a month. That's how spectacular they are. But Cosmo Ritcher, Jules Cassidy, and Robin Chadwick are some of my very favorite characters and all 3 were in this book. I couldn't put it down. I love everything Brockmann does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    good book, try it you will like it.

    enjoyed most all, especially travel description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Cosmo, Jane, Jules and Robin...oh my!

    Get this on Audiobook, too!!! Patrick and Melanie ROCK at telling this story...and other SB's Troubleshooters stories. [well, most of them] Talk about entertaining! <3

    Next to "Force of Nature" and "Gone Too Far", this is one of my favorites. The ever quiet Cosmo and the outspoken Jane colide...and voila...a masterpiece is created! And who wouldn't love the tension between Jules and Robin that's starting. The "attraction" tension that is. But stubborn Robin! I enjoy all of SB's characters, and look forward to many, many, many more [fingers crossed] yummy TS, SEAL and CIA retired stories!!! <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Intense and action packed

    This is one of my favorites in the Troubleshooters series. Cosmo and Jane are good characters on their own, but together they sizzle. Cosmo retains his intensity throughout the book (some of the other characters in the series are unrecognizable once love hits them). The side plots are intriguing and don't detract from the main love theme. And I loved the short story about Sam and Alyssa that followed Hot Target.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another "Plus" for the Troubleshooters

    Whew! This book brought me back. Flashpoint - the previous book in the series - left me kind of disappointed but Hot Target was SO GOOD! The chemistry between Cosmo and Jane was Hot; the plot was right on Target. So, I guess the title was perfect..................

    Brockmann used to be (or may still be, I don't know) a screenwriter and I really got a feel for that personal experience in this book. (In case you didn't read the summary, Jane is a movie producer.).................

    I love the Troubleshooter characters and how they interact with each other. (I'm a Brockmann fan and I doubly appreciated her use of Victor Strauss from Heart Throb.) I loved Jules' storyline and I look forward to him being a major character in future books. (And yeah, I dare anyone to read Brockmann's dedication in the beginning of the book and not get misty-eyed.).................

    I've typed it before and I'm glad to get to do it again: Great Book; Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Possibly my favorite book of all time

    Suzanne Brockmann never dissapoints, but this book and the others in this story arc are especially good. Brockmann's engaging writing style sucked me in on the first page; I couldn't put it down. The plot is well balanced between the adventure and romance with just the right amount of thrills thrown in. Jane and Cosmo are a great pair. I also recommend Jules and Robin's books: Force of Nature and All Through the Night. If you're impatient like me or just picking up the series at Hot Target then skip book 9 (breaking point) as it finishes up an earlier plot arc, and go straight to book 11 (force of nature). Book 10 is pretty much independent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Definiate read.

    Gripping. Romantic. Exciting.
    Will definately reread entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Loved it but Kind of Confusing

    I loved this book it was an impluse buy (ladies you know what I mean!) and she was a new author for me. It has a real good plot however I felt that she threw too many characters at me at once. It took me half the book to figure out who was who and why they were essential to the book. Overall though I couldn't put it down!! I love the 'who done it' books and Suzanne did not let me down! And neither did the steamy love scenes :-p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    one of the best

    So far I have read the whole Troubleshooters Series. This was one of my favorites. All of them are great. Can't wait for All Through The Night!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Cosmo Deserved Better

    Although this was an okay read, I feel Cosmo was short-changed. Too many characters and slow-action plot lines muddied up this story. The heroine just didn't match up to a woman fitting for this Super Seal. I like the format of books like Prince Joe where the main character carries the plot and the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Cosmo is soooo the man!

    If you have read previous Brockmann books, you have heard all about Cosmo Richter, a man of few words, who is whispered to be the deadliest of Seal Operators in Seal Team Sixteen. In this book we get to see a different side of Cosmo (his relationship with his mom was too cute!), especially when he comes in contact with Jane Mercedes Chadwick, a movie producer with a party girl image. I won't spoil the rest of the story for you. To find out more, you'll have to go and buy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    'A Thrillingly Hot Read'

    At a time when Hollywood romance has become overused, even cliché, Suzanne Brockmann's 'Hot Target' stands on its own. J. Mercedes Chadwick is an up-and-coming movie producer, and her brother is the star of her controversial movie portraying a homosexual hero. When Mercedes, informally known as Jane, receives e-mailed death threats, she is assigned bodyguards through the elite Troubleshooters Incorporated, featuring the dangerous Cosmo Richter. Danger, passion, lust, and true love drive a cast of strong, yet realistic characters through the paces of deeply moving experiences. This story is about more than a producer falling for her bodyguard. It is about self-discovery, trust and betrayal, and the nature of hate. Brockmann has created a stunning look into both Hollywood and the gay community, which will entertain and educate the reader. Fair warning: This novel is not for the faint of heart or resolutely close-minded. Aside from the traditional love story, there are homosexual themes, strong language, and some violence. The overuse of profanity is why this book receives four, rather than five, stars, as the 'f-word' appears every few paragraphs. If these issues do not put the reader off, then it is a good read. C.W.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Tracy, Avid Reader

    I randomly chose this book, and I glad that I did! It was amazing, fast-paced and edgy, with a great plot and even greater characters. Cosmo was perfection. Within two weeks of reading this book, I have bought all of SEAL Team Sixteen. A definite winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Sad to see the bigotry

    This was a good story. A little predictable in the mystery at the end, if only because the twist came more than 100 pages before the end of the book. As for the 'homosexual agenda' stuff I don't believe it's fair to characterize an author's realistic portrayal of people as an agenda. I'm a straight woman, and have noticed that there are a lot of gay sidekicks in mysteries, but that most authors are scared to discuss those characters' personal lives. To finally read a story where the gay characters are treated like actual human beings with desires and flaws and everything is really exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Hot Target (Troubleshooters Series #8)

    The book was a dull read compared to Brockmann's other novels which I have loved. This one had too many story lines (jumped around too much), had unlikable characters, and spent a great deal of time preaching the authors view on homosexuality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5