Customer Reviews for

Hotel Vendome

Average Rating 3.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

I loved this book. It was great, a story that won't be easily forgotten

posted by bookholiday on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Boring

As much as i love her and have read most all her books, i unfortunately have to say this is literally one of the most boring of hers. I feel i wasted money on this. Go rent it at library if u feel u want to read it. :(

posted by Anonymous on November 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Boring

    As much as i love her and have read most all her books, i unfortunately have to say this is literally one of the most boring of hers. I feel i wasted money on this. Go rent it at library if u feel u want to read it. :(

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Hotel Bendome - boring

    Wow - while this was interesting reading I kept waiting for a reason to be reading it. Go to your local library and "rent" it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Bad bad bad bad bad!

    Its hoirible its bad its boringI hate it he's the worst!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Disappointed

    Same dialog, descriptions over and over. Very predictable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Sorry

    This is the first book I have read by this author. I wasted my money. Information was repeated too many times. And it dragged on for too long.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Terrible!

    First book read from this author and probably the last. She kept repeating the same story over an over in almost every chapter. Eithershe thought her readers had short memory or she could not come up with anything else more interesting to say. The story line was very lame.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Very disappointing

    This is only the second danielle steele book i've read. I am extremely disappointed! The story line was too predictable, soooo much repitition, and completely lacking excitement!! I did read it to the end, but i have no idea why!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Terrible book

    I kept reading it expecting something to happen. Very dull, no plot. Can't believe Danielle Steel wrote this book. Boring!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Ahemmm!

    Please DO NOTpost if you are not talking about the book!

    c+B&N

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Vccxx

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Kidnapper

    I go harder and the co.nd.om breaks, letting the com out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Rose

    She closed her eyes, seathing Insomnia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    One of d Patsy22

    One of steels worst novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Not a great read

    Sorry to say I was not pleased with this book at all. I love all Krantz earlier books unfortunately this story fell short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Extremely slow, boring, & just plain cheesy. The only reason

    Extremely slow, boring, & just plain cheesy. The only reason I finished this book is because I was on vacation & had nothing else to read on the beach. Very disapointed in you Danielle Steel..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    decent book to read

    I liked the book. Had many twists but it wasn't what I expected. It seemed to drag out. Steel kept repeating her self over and over. But I did like how the book was based on a father and daughter relationship all the way to the end. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Dragging...disappointing from steel

    Cannot get through this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Color me shocked.

    Ms. Steel's writing style is, in a word, horrendous.

    I decided to pick up a book by Danielle Steel because I needed a new fiction book and had run out of reads from my old favorites. I assumed that, considering Ms. Steel's popularity, Hotel Vendome would be a safe bet.

    The story begins in a very expository style; Ms. Steel tells us, rather than showing us, about the first ten or so years of the protagonist's career. But then that exposition never ends. This enitre book is a collection of infrequent, brief episodes of dialogue sprinkled into an overly long, dragging exposition. Imagine listening to a coworker tell the story of her marriage. That's what this book is like.

    She also fails to establish a single main character and develop any level of personality. My suspension of disbelief, which shouldn't be stretched at all in a book of realistic fiction, was torn asunder by the main characters' absolute "goody two shoes" doll-like perfection. It was boring reading about characters with no real conflict except imagined fears about each others' reactions.

    What was also annoying on a stylistic note was Steel's repetition of the same adjectives, and the same descriptions, within pages of one another. Where was the editor when so many of her sentences were repeated page after page? Where was the editor when Steel started calling things beautiful and perfect at every turn? Did anyone do a simple word search to see how many times Steel was reusing the same bland adjectives for her descriptions? Maybe the boring adjectives would have even been forgivable, if she had chosen to give concrete descriptions instead. But we have no such luck.

    As for the plot, if you want a feel-good story about marriage and divorce and extremely rich people managing to be happy, read it.

    This novel is horrendous and embarrassing and I have been reminded never to follow the crowd when choosing an author. Even if the crowds have been around her for decades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Awful

    I am so over DS. This book was so repetitive and copied Eloise at the Plaza so much even if she tried to deny it. Awful, awful, awful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3