Customer Reviews for

Hotel World

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An incredible read

You have to be able to follow a nonlinear story to appreciate the beauty and depth of this incredible book. Ali Smith has written a book that is profound in its humanity. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on October 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a reviewer

This book was a selection for a book club that I was involved in , and it was the only book that all of us agreed was a terrible read. After reading the synopsis of this book I was thrilled to start it, and that was the last time I had a pleasant thought about it. The...
This book was a selection for a book club that I was involved in , and it was the only book that all of us agreed was a terrible read. After reading the synopsis of this book I was thrilled to start it, and that was the last time I had a pleasant thought about it. There are far too many outstanding, recommended, ok and even disappointing books out there to waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    An incredible read

    You have to be able to follow a nonlinear story to appreciate the beauty and depth of this incredible book. Ali Smith has written a book that is profound in its humanity. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    a reviewer

    This book was a selection for a book club that I was involved in , and it was the only book that all of us agreed was a terrible read. After reading the synopsis of this book I was thrilled to start it, and that was the last time I had a pleasant thought about it. There are far too many outstanding, recommended, ok and even disappointing books out there to waste your time on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Classes in Society

    Struggles within classes in society and people of different social classes coming together at one hotel -Hotel World. Broken into 5 chapters representing 5 point-of-views for 5 different people. The homeless girl and the depressed/ mentally challenged girl's POV's are somewhat difficult to understand, but the point comes across either way. A good book with some unneccessary details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Just Didn't Get It

    I work in the publishing industry and consider myself an avid reader, but I just didn't get this book. I couldn't even finish the book, I thought it was so terrible. It was extremely choppy, vague and nearly impossible to follow, not to mention a bit boring. It lacked interesting action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Joel

    Hey sorry ..i been gone am bussywith school n shyt but goodnite

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Joel....

    U stupid mofo..u got lo ked am go to 20res two

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Azul...

    Amm...ill meet u at ur casa...kk? U got locked

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Joel

    Duhh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Maybe it's me......

    .....but I hated this book so much that I literally through it in the garbage 1/4 of the way through. The writing is choppy and completely non-descript. The 'plot' is just monotonous.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    So moving that you don't mind being pulled in

    Though certainly not for everyone, Hotel World is a moving tribute to the complexities of life and death and the stages in between. It isn't a Cinderella story, and is a bit morbid. But if you allow yourself to be pulled in by Ali Smith's effective style of writing, you will certainly be blown away by her stunningly accurate portrayal of women from completely different walks of life and points of view. Very highly recommended, although you may want to read the first page or two to see if Smith's way of writing attracts or repels you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    You'll Never Look at Room Service the Same Way

    I can only describe Ms. Smith's writing style as fresh. The reader feels as lost as the main character, through voice changes and whole sections of the book lacking any punctuation at all. Ultimately satisfying however, as most, but not all, questions are answered on the last page of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1