Customer Reviews for

Hothouse Flower and the Nine Plants of Desire

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great debut novel!

I picked up this book only because the title sounded interesting. I didn't read any reviews on it, nor did I read through the description. They say not to judge a book by it's cover, but I did, and I'm happy.

This was a very good book. It has love, romance, lust, gr...
I picked up this book only because the title sounded interesting. I didn't read any reviews on it, nor did I read through the description. They say not to judge a book by it's cover, but I did, and I'm happy.

This was a very good book. It has love, romance, lust, greed, passion, death, spirituality, and just about everything else. For a debut novel, I'd say that Margot Berwin did a great job. She's left me with high expectations for her next novel.

The story takes place in New York and Mexico, the Yucatan to be specific. As Lila, Armand, Diego, and Exley are all on the hunt for the illusive Nine Plants of Desire. Oh what a tangled web Ms. Berwin has weaved...

This story was exciting. It was pretty fast paced and it kept me wanting more. The stories behind the nine magical and mystical plants are great. Even with all that Lila went through I want to find these plants. I did do some research on some of the nine and they really do have stories just as great as they are given in this book. (I LOVE when an author does great research!)

I was captivated from the first line to the last. I will be looking for a second novel for sure!

posted by Jennmarie68 on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

eh...

Eh...not so good. Characters too self absorbed in all matters.

posted by LovesReading on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great debut novel!

    I picked up this book only because the title sounded interesting. I didn't read any reviews on it, nor did I read through the description. They say not to judge a book by it's cover, but I did, and I'm happy.

    This was a very good book. It has love, romance, lust, greed, passion, death, spirituality, and just about everything else. For a debut novel, I'd say that Margot Berwin did a great job. She's left me with high expectations for her next novel.

    The story takes place in New York and Mexico, the Yucatan to be specific. As Lila, Armand, Diego, and Exley are all on the hunt for the illusive Nine Plants of Desire. Oh what a tangled web Ms. Berwin has weaved...

    This story was exciting. It was pretty fast paced and it kept me wanting more. The stories behind the nine magical and mystical plants are great. Even with all that Lila went through I want to find these plants. I did do some research on some of the nine and they really do have stories just as great as they are given in this book. (I LOVE when an author does great research!)

    I was captivated from the first line to the last. I will be looking for a second novel for sure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I absolutely LOVED this book.  I had read The Language of Flower

    I absolutely LOVED this book.  I had read The Language of Flowers and that stated the flow of flower novels.  I felt this was a great book and is worth reading.  I did feel like the end was a bit "happily ever after" but it has action, love, romance, sex, drugs and adventure!  Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Julia roberts and i both loved it

    Julia roberts bought the film rights

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great summer read, great characters and settings NYC and the Yucatan

    Margot Berwin brings her protagonist's NYC world alive and meets intriguing mysterious characters who lead her on an adventure where she becomes someone new. The plant magic seeps in gently as the heronine discovers herself and her own magic in the Yucatan. I didn't want Lila's story to end and I don't think it will. Hopefully this is a series and a sequel is in the works?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    eh...

    Eh...not so good. Characters too self absorbed in all matters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    One of the worst books I've ever read

    There is absolutely nothing positive to say about this book. My book club read it and everyone agreed that it was a complete waste of time. It's mindless. The only redeeming factor was that it was a very fast read. No character development, lousy story, and horrendous writing. I'd give it zero stars if that was possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cold House

    If you think you will find another Castaneda here, you will be sorely dismayed. The book's main female character is weak, uninteresting, and boring. She has a one track mind and ambition, which does not include growing plants. The male characters are somewhat more intersting, but not much. The only character in the book that could be very interesting is Armand's wife,Sonali, but she is not allowed to fully evolve. If you are looking for a short chapter, quick read, that leaves you feeling rather empty inside, than this is the book for you. I give it two green thumbs down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    A Rare and Intriguing Debut

    A friend recommended this book to me-it wasn't my usual read, but she was raving so I gave it a turn. Now I can't stop talking about it either, and I'm pretty sure I'm going to read it again.

    It starts off in New York City, and I loved that part. A young divorcee who hates her job in advertising, quits, and finds love with a plant dealer from a green Market. she calls him a "country sexual" because he's a rugged outdoorsy type -(I've used that term all over the place now!)

    The book brings the two of them from New York to the yucatan penninsula in
    Mexico, where they begin their search for the nine most rare plants on earth.
    They are guided by a mysterious shaman named Armand, a plant dealer simply called "The Cashier", and another love interest, the beautiful Huichol Indian, Diego Pinto.
    the quest for the nine plants of desire leads the main character, Lila Nova, to a much closer understanding of herself. The Journey is erotic and exotic. it's got lots of interesting plant facts and plant mythology.

    This is honestly one of the best books I've read in soooo long. There was a review in the Daily Mirror, but I'm not allowed to post the link here...If you can find it, it pretty much sums it up! Simply a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing thriller

    Thirty two years old New York career woman Lila Nova used to enjoy her advertising job, but lately the divorcee is finding it tedious. However, she perks up when she meets David Exley selling tropical plants at the local farmer's market. She already enjoyed plants, but until now never bought any; she purchases one of his offerings.

    She notices at a Laundromat a rare fern in the window. The owner Armand makes friends with Lila and gives her a trimming from the fern. He promises her if the fern grows, he will show her his special nine plants. David sees the fern in her apartment and Lila tells him about Armand. Soon afterward, Armand's plants are stolen and David has vanished. Using guilt and remorse as motivators Armand persuades Lila to accompany him to the Yucatan to obtain new magical plants. There she meets Diego.

    This is an intriguing thriller that takes an unexpected magical spin from a New York adventure into a Mexican semi-fantasy tale. The story line is fun in spite of Lila being too loose as she leaps on one man after another and the plot never deciding which genre is on top. Still HOTHOUSE FLOWER AND THE 9 PLANTS OF DESIRE is an engaging odd thriller with one wild twist that takes a bit of adjusting, but worth the effort for those who relish something radically different with their New Yorkers.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Engrossing

    This book was impossible to put down. Sensual and colorful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Loved, loved, loved it!!

    What a wonderful quick read! I really enjoyed this book. I am an avid gardener, so it was a fun book to get away with. My girlfriend passed it on to me, and I have also. I would definately read another book from this author. -Mika

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    knocked my socks off!

    This was so much fun to read. I could not put this book down. If you want an engrossing book to take to the beach or read any time, I can't imagine anyone beginning this book and stopping till this book is finished. I want more books from this writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2