Customer Reviews for

Hothouse Orchid (Holly Barker Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Steamy from Start to Finish!

Enjoyed this immensely - from first Chapter to Last. I bought it with a Gift Certificate I got for my birthday - read it in 1 sitting - it was that good - page turner! I guessed wrong on the bad guy - but did not mind at all - it was so good - wish I read it slower. W...
Enjoyed this immensely - from first Chapter to Last. I bought it with a Gift Certificate I got for my birthday - read it in 1 sitting - it was that good - page turner! I guessed wrong on the bad guy - but did not mind at all - it was so good - wish I read it slower. Wanted it to last but Holly and the rest of the gang were too good to let languish on a slow read. The book has travelled on for my Dad's enjoyment as well as a sister - think I'll keep passing it on until the ink fades from the pages.

posted by Pmopals on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have always liked Wood's work. This is a nice read but not one of his best. Teddy as we knew him in previous works would never have made the mistakes he made. i.e. SHIPPING FROM THE UPS OFFICE.

Thank you.

posted by JIMMYBOY on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Steamy from Start to Finish!

    Enjoyed this immensely - from first Chapter to Last. I bought it with a Gift Certificate I got for my birthday - read it in 1 sitting - it was that good - page turner! I guessed wrong on the bad guy - but did not mind at all - it was so good - wish I read it slower. Wanted it to last but Holly and the rest of the gang were too good to let languish on a slow read. The book has travelled on for my Dad's enjoyment as well as a sister - think I'll keep passing it on until the ink fades from the pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    another wonderful book from stuart woods

    this holly baker book is great. i enjoy the interaction of the characters,holly with ham-her father, as well as with others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Great read.

    Loved it! Wish there were more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I have always liked Wood's work. This is a nice read but not one of his best. Teddy as we knew him in previous works would never have made the mistakes he made. i.e. SHIPPING FROM THE UPS OFFICE.

    Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    As usual it kept me wanting to read on

    Can't wait to get another

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Fast pace, hard to put it down.

    Great series, hope there are more Holly Barker books to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    ?

    Why did no one notice that the secretary Jane Gray resurrected? She was killed in the first book but she is miraculously back in place as the secretary at the PD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    One of his best.

    One of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Check it out

    Very good way of getting Holly Barber and Stone Barrington together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Captivating

    Felt like you were in Florida...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    HOTHOUSE ORCHID

    Stuart Woods really knows how to tell a story. His adventures are fast and fun, but with "Hothouse Orchid" he outdoes himself. The main series character Holly Barker is more of an outsider in this adventure and is only in 65% of the book. The true star is Teddy Fay - fans will know who this is and new readers will be curious to find out - who shakes things up on Orchid Beach. This is one of the best thriller concepts I have read in years and with the added fun of Teddy Fay, the novel moves down unexpected avenues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hothouse Orchid Typical Woods

    Stuart Woods writes intriguing mysteries with fun characters, even some of the bad guys are interesting enough to hang out with on any given day. One of the best aspects of Wood's novels is his female characters. He writes them as women would like to be, not as some helpless or otherwise romanticized version of a heroine.

    His style is effortless to follow, and takes you away to an adventurous escape. There is no redundance or indulgence in emotion, yet you end up emotionally attached to his characters and some of his locations.

    You can count on Woods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    okay read

    This was not as good as I remember the Holly Barker series being. Perhaps because I read it just after the Girl Who Played with Fire - it just seemed a bit lacking. I usually love Stuart Woods and I had particularly gone to find this book but I wasn't totally blown away with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    More Than Usual

    I am a total Woods fan, have all the books from the beginning. Not a big fan of the Holly Barker character but this one is better. Woods is becoming more graphic and sexual in his old age. Good to see that. He is fun reading and this step makes her personna better. Always an addition to the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Great Read

    easy book to read. great for a beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Thrills in South Florida

    Stuart Woods always is a great read. His style is fast moving and interest-grabbing. The links between his characters in different series is a lot of fun. This book brings back an old 'villain' but gives him more chances to tease the protagonists.

    Very enjoyable and fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Like a par 3 where you always hit the green, Woods isn't challenging but an enjoyable respite.

    Stuart Woods' "Hothouse Orchid". Like a par 3 where you always hit the green, Woods isn't challenging but an enjoyable respite. You look forward to the hole and sometimes can yell "Birdie!" Hothouse Orchid is more like a tap-in par. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Typical Stuart Woods

    Excellent book such as you would come to expect from Woods

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Fun Read!

    As is usual with SW books...this is another fun read. Not something you will discuss in book clubs but an enjoyable escape none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    Let me rate this....

    I must have missed something with this book. I have read all his books. This one? Just didn't get it with me. I'll wait for the new Stone Barrington book, I enjoy Stone and Dino.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5