BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hotter after Midnight (Cynthia Eden's Midnight Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A dark yet amusing police procedural romantic fantasy

Therapist to the paranormal Emily Drake¿s client list includes vampires with a psychotic reaction to blood and legendary Others with phobias. Because of her abnormal caseload, Dr. Drake has been asked to provide profiling skills to the police investigating the Night Bu...
Therapist to the paranormal Emily Drake¿s client list includes vampires with a psychotic reaction to blood and legendary Others with phobias. Because of her abnormal caseload, Dr. Drake has been asked to provide profiling skills to the police investigating the Night Butcher murder. She will work with Detective Colin Gyth, who makes her lust for him, but the psychiatrist to the Monster species knows never trust a shifter with your heart, soul or body.-------------- Soon more creatures are killed even and they begin to meet powerful demons, out of control shifters, and an apparent human with special powers. As they get closer to solving the serial killing case, alpha Colin lets the beast out that he has controlled as much as possible to keep his soulmate safe from the Night Butcher who looks forward to tasting Emily¿s terror. However, in spite of her impudent rejections that she does not want anything to do with his only natural shape shifting organ, his desire for her has taken charge of him.---------------------------- This dark yet amusing police procedural romantic fantasy is fast-paced and filled with non stop action. However it is the cast that makes this a superb thriller as nasty demons, disreputable shapeshifters, and other paranormal species prove anything is possible under the sun, and a fabulous abnormal psychiatrist who keeps the whodunit and romance focused. HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT is fantastic heat anytime of the day.---------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good

Werewolves and cops

posted by happyendingamust on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A dark yet amusing police procedural romantic fantasy

    Therapist to the paranormal Emily Drake¿s client list includes vampires with a psychotic reaction to blood and legendary Others with phobias. Because of her abnormal caseload, Dr. Drake has been asked to provide profiling skills to the police investigating the Night Butcher murder. She will work with Detective Colin Gyth, who makes her lust for him, but the psychiatrist to the Monster species knows never trust a shifter with your heart, soul or body.-------------- Soon more creatures are killed even and they begin to meet powerful demons, out of control shifters, and an apparent human with special powers. As they get closer to solving the serial killing case, alpha Colin lets the beast out that he has controlled as much as possible to keep his soulmate safe from the Night Butcher who looks forward to tasting Emily¿s terror. However, in spite of her impudent rejections that she does not want anything to do with his only natural shape shifting organ, his desire for her has taken charge of him.---------------------------- This dark yet amusing police procedural romantic fantasy is fast-paced and filled with non stop action. However it is the cast that makes this a superb thriller as nasty demons, disreputable shapeshifters, and other paranormal species prove anything is possible under the sun, and a fabulous abnormal psychiatrist who keeps the whodunit and romance focused. HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT is fantastic heat anytime of the day.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Loved it

    ## Not my normal genre. But I had just finished reading "Deadly fear" by Ms. Eden (romantic suspense) and loved her writing style, so I tried this. It was superb really. Once again I loved the way this author combines intrigue, suspense, humor and romance. The two leads have fabulous chemistry and I can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Good

    Werewolves and cops

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love this Author

    She writes a great romance novel. The story holds your interest and made me feel as if I was in the story myself. I have read all her books and look forward to more written by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Love the paranormal book

    Loved this story line with Colin and Emily and she being a doc to the paranormal and can help him in his day to day work in the police department and with the "other" Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Gotta love Niol

    Dangerous and sexy Niol is a girl's wet dream. The story is perfectly tied into another book. I would suggest any of Cynyhia Eden's paranormal series to everyone. Let me just say, my Nook is quickly being filled up with books written by Cynyhia Eden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    i really enjoyed this book. plan on reading the rest of the seri

    i really enjoyed this book. plan on reading the rest of the series :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot Hotter Hottest

    The first of a trilogy where each book can stand alone. This book follows Dr. Emily Drake, the monster doctor, who treats Others with some mental hang ups. As she helps the police detectives assigned the the Night Butcher case she feels a strong connection with Det. Colin Gyth. Colin is hiding a secret(he is a werewolf) from his partner, Det. Todd Brooks, and the entire police force. As they work together and apart to find a brutal killer, the world of the Others is uncovered for the reader with demons like Niol Lapen, a nightclub owner, and others who hold down everyday jobs. If you have not read any Cynthia Eden books, you really need to dive right in. Her world of The Others is filled with intrigue, suspense, fighting, strong female characters, and lots of excellent, mind-blowing sex. The other books in this trilogy are: Midnight Sins(Todd Brooks) and Midnight's Master(Niol Lapen). Cynthia Eden has a ton of books set in her Others world so even after finishing this trilogy there will be more to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Wow!

    I could not put this book down! This is not my usual genre of choice, but this story had so many amazing elements. The story drew me in from the beginning and moved quickly, the characters were great and I loved how you got to read some of their thoughts (like the sarcastic comments you make to yourself after you do something dumb.) It laid out the myths/rules for each type of being in a way that flowed well with the story. It was full of suspense, sexual tension, several steamy sex scenes, and it still had me laughing out loud because of the quippy dialogue. I highly recommend this book and I can't wait to read more by Cynthia Eden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great introduction

    Wonderful 1st book that was steamy, thrilling and full of great characters! My very first Cynthia Eden read but most certainly not my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    just warm after midnight

    I can't say I couldn't put the book down, It was not one of those books I couldn't wait to get back to, but it was fair reading. The story was forgetful, I didn't feel like I had to rush out and get another book written by Cynthia Eden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Demons, vamps, shifters... what more could you ask for

    Okay this book really was awesome. I like how that she wrote three books and in each book theres a love story to it... i really got hooked into these type of books with twilight.. but as i got more and more into these type of books i really found that cynthia eden writes the books that im most into. I get into them and cant seem to put them down. So if you like excitement with all the supernaturals then pick this one up its awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First but definitly not my last im addicted

    This is my first time reading a book by Cynthia Edens, and i have to say i am now addicted. She mixed in thriller, hot scenes and drama as well as comedy all in one book.
    Colin was so intriguing, Emily had a gift and was a strong but at times sensitive female.
    Definitly getting the rest of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    amazing!!!

    This is a FANTASTIC book! Colin is the perfect bad-boy hero, and the plot will have you captivated until the very end! Filled with excitement, romance, and adventure, I'd highly recommend to anyone who loves romance and fantasy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6