Customer Reviews for

Hound Dog True

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a ch

I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a child. Linda Urban's writing is sweet and refreshing, heartfelt and insightful - a book for all ages to read, experience and be inspired by.

Mattie has one week to adjust before becoming the new kid in schoo...
I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a child. Linda Urban's writing is sweet and refreshing, heartfelt and insightful - a book for all ages to read, experience and be inspired by.

Mattie has one week to adjust before becoming the new kid in school again. She decides that maybe this time it won't be so bad if she can convince her Uncle Potluck, the custodian to her school, to let her become his apprentice in order to avoid any moments to where she would have to be forced to talk to her classmates. She is very observant and records all of their odd jobs in her notebook.
Will her idea work?

Then the neighbors niece comes into town for the week. Mattie's mother and Uncle would like them to be friends. But Mattie is awkward and doesn't know what to do with Quincy who looks to be older and outspoken, the complete opposite of what Mattie is.
Will Mattie be able to trust Quincy to be her friend?

Mattie's mother, although very loving and caring, is flighty and in denial. Her motto being "When the going gets tough, the tough get going." After getting some advice from Uncle Potluck, she decides that it is finally time for her and Mattie to stay put for once. That they weren't going to run anymore 'when the going gets tough'... Mattie doesn't agree at first. She is having a tough time adjusting and wants to get going... will they?

Will Mattie stay "Hound Dog True"?

It is a coming of age story of a painfully shy girl; a fifth grader who overcomes some of her fears by accepting what is, opening up and accepting how good things can be if she allows herself the opportunity.

I truly recommend reading this book!

posted by TheBumbleGirl1 on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No.

Even i could write better than this . If your lookong for a good long read this is terrible.

posted by 6496543 on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a ch

    I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a child. Linda Urban's writing is sweet and refreshing, heartfelt and insightful - a book for all ages to read, experience and be inspired by.

    Mattie has one week to adjust before becoming the new kid in school again. She decides that maybe this time it won't be so bad if she can convince her Uncle Potluck, the custodian to her school, to let her become his apprentice in order to avoid any moments to where she would have to be forced to talk to her classmates. She is very observant and records all of their odd jobs in her notebook.
    Will her idea work?

    Then the neighbors niece comes into town for the week. Mattie's mother and Uncle would like them to be friends. But Mattie is awkward and doesn't know what to do with Quincy who looks to be older and outspoken, the complete opposite of what Mattie is.
    Will Mattie be able to trust Quincy to be her friend?

    Mattie's mother, although very loving and caring, is flighty and in denial. Her motto being "When the going gets tough, the tough get going." After getting some advice from Uncle Potluck, she decides that it is finally time for her and Mattie to stay put for once. That they weren't going to run anymore 'when the going gets tough'... Mattie doesn't agree at first. She is having a tough time adjusting and wants to get going... will they?

    Will Mattie stay "Hound Dog True"?

    It is a coming of age story of a painfully shy girl; a fifth grader who overcomes some of her fears by accepting what is, opening up and accepting how good things can be if she allows herself the opportunity.

    I truly recommend reading this book!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED this book!!! It was just a wonderfull story of freindship and finding were you belong! I DEFINATLU recommend this book to everyone!!!!!!!!! : )

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    It's official. I'm a fan of Linda Urban. What a sweet little bo

    It's official. I'm a fan of Linda Urban.

    What a sweet little book! I really love this story about a young girl and her seemingly insurmountable shyness. Maybe it is just the fact that I can relate so well to the story, but I love the way Ms. Urban captures the personality and thoughts of an introverted young girl. The characters in this book are fantastic. I love the way Quincy looks past Mattie's quiet demeanor and continues to befriend her. Quincy accepts Mattie the way she is, and even helps her overcome some of her fears.

    This is not the type of book that everyone will love, but I sure did.

    Linda Urban is also the author of A Crooked Kind of Perfect.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Read Linda Urban's, "Hound Dog True". It will inspire you with all the kindness and love and friendship in this book. You will love this book.

    This book will tell you how much the characters use love and kindness and lots more! But, I've read this book and love it. So I know you would love it too. And if you like it, please rate it. It will make the authur happy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    It is a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I feel like I am in the book in some parts! I am a big I mean big book reader. And tyi

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Jfjekdfjjc

    Hdjydkjfdhdd

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No.

    Even i could write better than this . If your lookong for a good long read this is terrible.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    ARIEL

    WUZ HERE, GO TYPE 'MACBETH' IN THAT SEARCH BAR AND PRETEND YOUR A CAT! OR FOX! THEN GO TO 'ERIN HUNTER' OR 'WARRIORS' FOR MORE CHOICES!!!!!! THIS IS CALLED RPING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Whats the point

    They only say hound dog true twice and what does it mean somebody answer me PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!ps not not recomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Pretty good

    Linda urban is a great author i had 2 readit for school and it is better than i thought i liked the part when Quincy pretended to be the good lint and Mattie was Moe the button off of her pjs and the where against the bad lint in the washing machine

    -Secret book lover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Too confusing for young readers

    My 5th grade son has just read this book as well as myself to assist him in understanding most of it. He was completely bored with the subject matter and I felt the writing style to be very, very awkward for children. I understand the message that was trying to get out, but unfortunately it is lost in the poor writing. Maybe for an older person, but even I was bored with it as well as the charaters did not impress me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Good book

    I liked this book POOR MOE

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Hound Dog True by Linda Urban

    Hound Dog True iz a gud buk i likd it verri alot i tink u shud reed it it was verri gud reed it i rekomend it tu evrewun

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Loved it sooo.much

    Poor moe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Love

    This is like the best book ever i love it it is the best

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1