Customer Reviews for

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story but don't buy this copy

This is an excellent story. I've read it several times over the years. I would not, however recommend getting this version. I downloaded it as a free version and as they say you get what you pay for. This version has a lot of characters and symbols inserted in the text ...
This is an excellent story. I've read it several times over the years. I would not, however recommend getting this version. I downloaded it as a free version and as they say you get what you pay for. This version has a lot of characters and symbols inserted in the text and, while it is not impossible to read, it is highly annoying.

posted by Stueysmom on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

too many misspelled words!

I know this is a free edition, but why are so many words misspelled? It really detracts from my enjoyment of the book.

posted by HattieJean on September 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story but don't buy this copy

    This is an excellent story. I've read it several times over the years. I would not, however recommend getting this version. I downloaded it as a free version and as they say you get what you pay for. This version has a lot of characters and symbols inserted in the text and, while it is not impossible to read, it is highly annoying.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    too many misspelled words!

    I know this is a free edition, but why are so many words misspelled? It really detracts from my enjoyment of the book.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rating the e-book, not the novel

    I wanted to re-read The Hound of the Baskervilles now that I have my nook. However I couldn't get through the first 5 pages with all of the spelling errors, random symbols and strange page breaks and inserts. This review is not against Arthur Conan Doyle's work, but rather the shotty job of the transcribers...

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    free but bad Free but bad

    I got to page 9 and gave up because of the misspelled words.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Sucks

    This book is so frickin confusing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    This is a solid classic book that I enjoyed.

    I had never read any Sherlock Holmes books and that is why I chose this book to buy. It was a relatively short book compared to most. I enjoyed the descriptions and especially the dry British wit used throughout the book. My biggest "problem" with the book was the fact that it was written over 100 years ago and it took me awhile to get used to the way they talked and many of the sayings they used. I did not find it the kind of book that I can't set down until it is finished but I enjoyed it and am very glad I bought it. As a "classic" I would recommend it to those who like to try a variety of books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Classic

    Still a great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great boik Great book

    Love it. A true recommendation! I am doing this play in my acting class!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Amazing but a little overly detailed

    This is an amazing book. My school class read it, I was the only one who actually read it. All though I think there was too much detail, and I was confused about scene changes... such as I thought they were in a hotel and they were on a road. It was still amazing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Unreadable copy

    I am new at this and learned quickly to read reviews first. This copy is impossible to read with all the little formatting errors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    This stinks!

    This stinks! Who typed this, a five year old. Thank gosh its free. I barely made it through the first sentence! - 100 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Is it real?

    I have to read this book for summer reading, and i wanted to know if this was the real one, because the other versions that seem real are $4.99 instead of just $.99. If someone xould reply, i would be very happy. Thank you for your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    :(

    I hate this book!I had to read it for school and I did not understand it!:(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    maya903

    I love this book one of my absolute favorites!!100% :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    This free version isn't worth it

    There are so many wierd characters & wrong words it is distracting. This review is purely in reference to the electronic verdion & not on the story itself.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    WOW

    It really good for 18 under

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Whateves

    Just reading it for school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    To "Sure"

    You do not understand. First of all, you have to know that they messed Holmes up HORRIBLY in the movie. I am a Sherlock Holmes fan (you couldn't exactly call me a Sherlockian, since I have never joined a group) and Holmes and Watson are the two characters I admire most in literature. Holmes is brilliant, of course, unemotional, bohemian, eccentric in a rather quiet way, and more than a little arrogant. He is, in manners, the picture of a gentleman, very chivalrous, although he "never [spoke] of the softer passions, except with a gibe and a sneer". His friendship with Watson is most interesting and admirable. First of all, he is Watson's superior in everything (except, perhaps, writing!) and the humble doctor is quick to recognize and acknowledge this. Holmes is also unemotional and scientific approaching cold-bloodedness, so that he does not mind using Watson as an unsudpecting dupe in his criminal investigations, although he generally apologizes so sincerely that we, like Watson, are forced to forgive. Watson, with admirable patience and consideration, puts up with all Holmes' faults and peculiarities, and eventually wins the detective's esteem, trust, and affection.
    I am sorry, this is one of my passions and I could go on for hours, however the notice at the bottom of the screen is persistently reminding me I have only 2150 characters remaining, so I suppose I cannot. Anyway, the movie degrades them into a pair of dashing action heroes who quarrel like three-year-olds and, to paraphrase Roger Ebert, spring into action like Batman and Robin.
    Also, you cannot expect to just walk right out of The Hunger Games and into The Hound of the Baskervilles - you won't experience full enjoyment of the latter while the only idea you have of a good thriller is the former! Do not think this book has any similarities to the "more modern stuff" that you are used to or that this Sherlock Holmes has any similarities to Robert Downy Junior!
    Just one other thing - I am honestly sorry if you think I sound snotty and disdainful. It is not my intention, I assure you, to offend you; I just cannot stand to see my favorite characters and literature degraded into super-hero movies and regarded otherwise as "Oh, yeah, my teacher made me read that." Honestly, your review made me angry, and I'm hoping that you might read it again, wiping from your mind all thoughts of the movie and your modern literature. Perhaps you'll see a bit of what I mean.

    Thank you, and, again I apologize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Typos

    Major typos make it a bit hard to follow towards the end. I guess you get what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Great book, horrible format

    I love this book but the format makes it hard to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11