Customer Reviews for

The Hound of the Baskervilles: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story but don't buy this copy

This is an excellent story. I've read it several times over the years. I would not, however recommend getting this version. I downloaded it as a free version and as they say you get what you pay for. This version has a lot of characters and symbols inserted in the text ...
This is an excellent story. I've read it several times over the years. I would not, however recommend getting this version. I downloaded it as a free version and as they say you get what you pay for. This version has a lot of characters and symbols inserted in the text and, while it is not impossible to read, it is highly annoying.

posted by Stueysmom on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

too many misspelled words!

I know this is a free edition, but why are so many words misspelled? It really detracts from my enjoyment of the book.

posted by HattieJean on September 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Classic

    Still a great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great boik Great book

    Love it. A true recommendation! I am doing this play in my acting class!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Amazing but a little overly detailed

    This is an amazing book. My school class read it, I was the only one who actually read it. All though I think there was too much detail, and I was confused about scene changes... such as I thought they were in a hotel and they were on a road. It was still amazing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Is it real?

    I have to read this book for summer reading, and i wanted to know if this was the real one, because the other versions that seem real are $4.99 instead of just $.99. If someone xould reply, i would be very happy. Thank you for your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    maya903

    I love this book one of my absolute favorites!!100% :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    V<br> V<br> V

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    WOW

    It really good for 18 under

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    To "Sure"

    You do not understand. First of all, you have to know that they messed Holmes up HORRIBLY in the movie. I am a Sherlock Holmes fan (you couldn't exactly call me a Sherlockian, since I have never joined a group) and Holmes and Watson are the two characters I admire most in literature. Holmes is brilliant, of course, unemotional, bohemian, eccentric in a rather quiet way, and more than a little arrogant. He is, in manners, the picture of a gentleman, very chivalrous, although he "never [spoke] of the softer passions, except with a gibe and a sneer". His friendship with Watson is most interesting and admirable. First of all, he is Watson's superior in everything (except, perhaps, writing!) and the humble doctor is quick to recognize and acknowledge this. Holmes is also unemotional and scientific approaching cold-bloodedness, so that he does not mind using Watson as an unsudpecting dupe in his criminal investigations, although he generally apologizes so sincerely that we, like Watson, are forced to forgive. Watson, with admirable patience and consideration, puts up with all Holmes' faults and peculiarities, and eventually wins the detective's esteem, trust, and affection.
    I am sorry, this is one of my passions and I could go on for hours, however the notice at the bottom of the screen is persistently reminding me I have only 2150 characters remaining, so I suppose I cannot. Anyway, the movie degrades them into a pair of dashing action heroes who quarrel like three-year-olds and, to paraphrase Roger Ebert, spring into action like Batman and Robin.
    Also, you cannot expect to just walk right out of The Hunger Games and into The Hound of the Baskervilles - you won't experience full enjoyment of the latter while the only idea you have of a good thriller is the former! Do not think this book has any similarities to the "more modern stuff" that you are used to or that this Sherlock Holmes has any similarities to Robert Downy Junior!
    Just one other thing - I am honestly sorry if you think I sound snotty and disdainful. It is not my intention, I assure you, to offend you; I just cannot stand to see my favorite characters and literature degraded into super-hero movies and regarded otherwise as "Oh, yeah, my teacher made me read that." Honestly, your review made me angry, and I'm hoping that you might read it again, wiping from your mind all thoughts of the movie and your modern literature. Perhaps you'll see a bit of what I mean.

    Thank you, and, again I apologize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    A must read for Sherlock Holmes fans

    I've read this book once as akid and now as a adult and it even more special to me now. Arthur Conan Doyle paints a great picture with his words to tell a real tale of mystery and terror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    My favorite holmes adventure

    East read, fun from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    To free version isn't worth it

    What you are saying is contradicting the other reviews you should try reading it out loud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Words

    How an author chooses to write his stories is just as important to the stiry so you can't hate tge wording but like the story at the same time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Sweet

    I have to read this for school,
    very convineint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    a must read for enjoyers of mystiers

    i. love this book it is full of great twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    In 1901, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle created a dark and mysterious story that will haunt true readers till the day they die. Although I believe 'A Study in Scarlet' and 'The Valley of Fear' to be his most artistic, 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' is my favorite of all of his written work. I am only fifteen, but I have drawn great inspiration from this very book. Doyle elicts a certain forbidding feel to the book when he describes the moors of Dartmoor. He even gives a unique and dark feel to the streets of London in the beginning and end of the book. Although parts of the beginning are a bit slow, this novel triumphs in really catching and snaring the reader with its unique mystery by melding dark legends and folklore with a semi-modern case that conjures an interesting plot that eventually ends with a conclusion of the overall story. In a sense, the antagonist's' are the plot and Sherlock Holmes, being ever omniscient, is the story that true readers will love and be haunted by. This book is definitely a true classic and one of my favorites of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Best Book Ever!

    I recently discovered the Sherlock Holmes short stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and I was hooked. I picked up a copy of 'Hound' at the bookstore, knowing it was going to be great, but I was wrong. It was outstanding! This is quite possibly the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    The Honest Best of Holmes

    Doyle has met and exeeded the standards for any book I have ever read. From his exclusive characters to climax of the story this book is a must read for holmes fans and dispisers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Best Book Yet!!

    This wonderfully written work has Hlomes and Watson back again for another adventure. A Phantom Dog is haunting a mansion and its up to the two detectives to figure out how to get rid of it.It has suspense and excitement and I reccomend it to anyone that enjoys to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    This book is definitely a classic and after you read it you will know why!

    It is the classical novel that most people have heard of and never read, The Hound Of The Baskervilles. The question is, is it really worth reading? My answer is yes and here¿s why. First of all it is a classic. It has to appeal to somebody or it would not be considered this. Secondly, although it is quite an old book it still has situations and lessons that can still teach and apply today. Although it is fiction, it seems, in so many ways, to come alive. As I stated above most people have seen or heard of this book from somewhere but if you haven¿t I will help you out. This book takes place in 1884 in London and Devon, both places in England. It is about the adventure of Sherlocke Holmes to solve a mystery of a death on a Dartmoor moor. This death is believed to be a murder, and the main suspect, the hound of the Baskervilles! This book has many twists and turns many of which I do not want to give away so I will tell of my favorite sections but I will not explain what is happening in the situation (you will have to read the book yourself and find out). One of my favorite parts in the book is when Sherlocke is disguised as a worker on the moor and Sherlocke discovers his secret. He goes and talks to the man who he believes is Sherlocke. It turns out to really be Sherlocke and tells of the reason he is on the moor in disguise and that he believes the master of the house was murdered and did not die of natural causes as expected earlier. Another part of the book that I verily enjoyed was a scene near the end when they are all on the moor looking for the murderer (note I am not going to say who he is) and then a pair of mysterious eyes appears. They of course believe that those eyes belong to a monster of legend, a monster so terrifying that it can scare a man to death with just a glance. They believe that these eyes belong to the hound of the Baskervilles. I am not going to tell what happens from here to keep the plot a secret. Mystery, murder, and a detective on a mission, what more can you ask for. This book is definitely a classic and after you read it you will know why! I recommend this book to anyone who has the time to enjoy a good book for a change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    The hound of baskervilles

    The Hound of Baskervilles is one of the greatest Sherlock Holmes mysteries ever (trust me, I have read all of them). It starts when a man named James Mortimer came into the house of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson with the news that the baronet Charles Baskervilles of Bsakervilles Hall was dead. He was an escort to the heir, Sir Henry Baskervilles, and he wanted to know who had killed Charles. Well, as you know if you have read any Sherlock Holmes mysteries, he went chasing of after the mystery, though through his associate, Dr. Watson, rather than going himself. He had Dr. Watson give him reports as to keep him updated. After some rather distressing happenings, it turned out that Holmes had been there himself the whole time, thou he was in hiding. I do not wish to give away the ending, so if you want to know what happens, you will have to read the book. I give the book a 10 out of 10, a must read, especially if you like mysteries.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5