Customer Reviews for

Hounded (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 467 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

New Favorite Series

Other reviewers have given good synopses, so I'll skip that bit and go straight to the subjectivity: this book was FANTASTIC. Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, well plotted and peopled with interesting characters. Our hero, Atticus, is not perfect, which only makes h...
Other reviewers have given good synopses, so I'll skip that bit and go straight to the subjectivity: this book was FANTASTIC. Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, well plotted and peopled with interesting characters. Our hero, Atticus, is not perfect, which only makes him more likeable. Hearne knows his mythology and builds a rich world around it.

There are some secondary characters I'd like to know a lot more about, but with two more books coming and the promise of more, that will probably come in time. The author has set himself up with a lot of material to work into future stories, and I for one can't wait!

posted by 2PointySticks on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I cou

I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I could get my hands on. To be fair to this series, it isn't Dresden, but I found so many similarities it almost seemed like fanfic in the Dresden universe. Butcher by no means has a lock on urban fantasy, nor...
I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I could get my hands on. To be fair to this series, it isn't Dresden, but I found so many similarities it almost seemed like fanfic in the Dresden universe. Butcher by no means has a lock on urban fantasy, nor is he the first. Hearne's concept should be able to stand alone, but it has a bit of a 'me too!' flavor to it.

But that said, it is still good, a quick, light-hearted read. The main character is tough to the point of almost being omnipotent, which wears thin. The secondary characters with the exception of the dog are fairly flat and wooden. But I'm willing to suspend this because it is 1st person and Atticus may just be an arrogant guy who doesn't notice much beyond cleavage.

I'll give the second book a try, and give this series a chance to hit it's stride. But if you love Dresden, make sure there's some distance between the two series before starting this one, then you can enjoy it.

posted by Lefinn on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I cou

    I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I could get my hands on. To be fair to this series, it isn't Dresden, but I found so many similarities it almost seemed like fanfic in the Dresden universe. Butcher by no means has a lock on urban fantasy, nor is he the first. Hearne's concept should be able to stand alone, but it has a bit of a 'me too!' flavor to it.

    But that said, it is still good, a quick, light-hearted read. The main character is tough to the point of almost being omnipotent, which wears thin. The secondary characters with the exception of the dog are fairly flat and wooden. But I'm willing to suspend this because it is 1st person and Atticus may just be an arrogant guy who doesn't notice much beyond cleavage.

    I'll give the second book a try, and give this series a chance to hit it's stride. But if you love Dresden, make sure there's some distance between the two series before starting this one, then you can enjoy it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not a terrible read, but some of the writing came across as a li

    Not a terrible read, but some of the writing came across as a little sloppy (he has a magic sword that can cut through any armor, but he can't cut through a chain made of soft silver?). I was entertained, and I'll keep going with the series (in between Jim Butcher books), and hope that the author gets better...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as Good as I'd Hoped

    This book was by no means awful. It was an interesting story and the plot moved along pretty well and I certainly didn't feel like I had to fight through it just to get done and move on to something else. That being said, I don't think I'll be putting much effort into getting my hands on the next book in the series. The main character is by far one of the most un-likable main characters I've encountered in a long time. He's over confident, over powerful, and comes out of the main conflict almost completely unscathed. I like to see my protagonist struggle a little to beat the baddie and save his friends, but there was something about the way the conflict was written that made it seem unimportant. I found myself coming to the end of the book thinking, 'really... that was it... that was what all the buildup was for?' The author also over estimated his own abilities at character building when he attempted to make his protagonist over 2000 years old. It's certainly an interesting concept but would need to be carried out by someone else because this author obviously can't write well enough to make Atticus's supposed age even remotely believable. I definitely won't be spending any more money on Kevin Hearne's books when there is so much out there that is so much better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Very much like the dresden files

    A fun and engaging urban fantasy. Many parallels to the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher while maintaining it's own mythos. I really like the use of Irish and European mythologies in a present day setting. Also recommended for fans of the Merry Gentry books by Laurell K. Hamilton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Iron Druid Chronicles and I would

    This is the first book in the Iron Druid Chronicles and I would say its shaping up to be a wonderful Fantasy Fiction series. I would say there is not a lot of character development, but the action and the twists and turns in the plot more than make up for it in this readers opinion.

    Atticus O’Sullivan, a seemingly college-aged man running an occult book store, is really a 2100 year old druid; the last druid to be exact. Atticus, being a druid and deriving his powers from the tattoos on his body connecting him to the earth, hasn’t had an affinity for witches since his friend was killed by one early in his life.

    Atticus he has been chased by the god of love – Aenghus Óg. Aenghus wants a sword that he claims Atticus stole sometime around 150 A.D. Since this time Atticus has been chased by different creatures ranging from Faeries to Demons, each unsuccessful in their attempts to kill him and retrieve the fabled sword Fragarach, ‘the Answerer’. The latest attempt by 5 Fae happened outside his shop.

    After learning from the Gods (yes they are real…. ALL of them) that he has once again been found and Aenghus is on his way, Atticus decides 2000 years of running has been enough. Enlisting the help of his Lawyers, the werewolf and the vampire, Atticus makes a plan to finally rid himself of the god of love; however in doing so he also unwittingly enters into a pact with the local witch coven.

    Nothing goes to plan, as usual, and his wolf lawyer and his faithful Wolfhound Oberon are kidnapped by the head witch and held for ransom, only to be exchanged for the sword. The queen of the Druidic gods and the queen of the hunt each visit Atticus in turn promising him assistance and gifts to defeat Aenghus. In his travels around town setting things in motion, he gets an offer from a witch with split personalities, one a long dead Indian witch, the other a young girl anxious to become an apprentice Druid.

    The book is full of action, cover to cover and twists and turns in the plot keeps the story extremely interesting. You will have to read to find out if Atticus’ plans work or if the god of love will finally get his revenge. However the best laid plans of Druids never take into account the deceit cloaked in the honeyed words of beautiful goddesses.

    My biggest question at the end of this magical tale still remains unanswered. How soon can I make it to the store to purchase Hexed, the second volume in the Iron Druid Chronicles?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2