Customer Reviews for

Hounded (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

New Favorite Series

Other reviewers have given good synopses, so I'll skip that bit and go straight to the subjectivity: this book was FANTASTIC. Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, well plotted and peopled with interesting characters. Our hero, Atticus, is not perfect, which only makes h...
Other reviewers have given good synopses, so I'll skip that bit and go straight to the subjectivity: this book was FANTASTIC. Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, well plotted and peopled with interesting characters. Our hero, Atticus, is not perfect, which only makes him more likeable. Hearne knows his mythology and builds a rich world around it.

There are some secondary characters I'd like to know a lot more about, but with two more books coming and the promise of more, that will probably come in time. The author has set himself up with a lot of material to work into future stories, and I for one can't wait!

posted by 2PointySticks on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I cou

I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I could get my hands on. To be fair to this series, it isn't Dresden, but I found so many similarities it almost seemed like fanfic in the Dresden universe. Butcher by no means has a lock on urban fantasy, nor...
I read this book right after reading all the Dresden books I could get my hands on. To be fair to this series, it isn't Dresden, but I found so many similarities it almost seemed like fanfic in the Dresden universe. Butcher by no means has a lock on urban fantasy, nor is he the first. Hearne's concept should be able to stand alone, but it has a bit of a 'me too!' flavor to it.

But that said, it is still good, a quick, light-hearted read. The main character is tough to the point of almost being omnipotent, which wears thin. The secondary characters with the exception of the dog are fairly flat and wooden. But I'm willing to suspend this because it is 1st person and Atticus may just be an arrogant guy who doesn't notice much beyond cleavage.

I'll give the second book a try, and give this series a chance to hit it's stride. But if you love Dresden, make sure there's some distance between the two series before starting this one, then you can enjoy it.

posted by Lefinn on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    New Favorite Series

    Other reviewers have given good synopses, so I'll skip that bit and go straight to the subjectivity: this book was FANTASTIC. Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, well plotted and peopled with interesting characters. Our hero, Atticus, is not perfect, which only makes him more likeable. Hearne knows his mythology and builds a rich world around it.

    There are some secondary characters I'd like to know a lot more about, but with two more books coming and the promise of more, that will probably come in time. The author has set himself up with a lot of material to work into future stories, and I for one can't wait!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you're are fan of Jim Butcher check this out

    I thought this was a great fun urban fanstasy novel. It reminded a great deal of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, in a good way. I also though that using Irish mythology was a refreshing change from the typical vampire/werewolf centered stories (though both appear in the book they are not the focus). I read through all three books in the series in a few days and I look forward to the fourth comming out in the spring.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grab your shorts it is a fast fun freaky ride

    I love Hounded. No seriously it is fantastic. Inside this book is a progressing storyline that leave you never a dull minute, is a masterpiece. There is enough fabulous snark that you could stir it with a stick, and moody plotting characters that pop in and out of the story all of the time.
    Poor Atticus (no wealthy kick arse really) just wants some down time after two thousand years to sit back, brew at his tea shop, sell at his bookshop and hunt with his wolfhound. Is that too much for a guy to ask for, it might be when you are packing a hot sword lifted from a bygone war.
    Hounded will keep you reading and enthralled in its characters. I am so happy that a book per month with be released so there is no year wait between books.
    Want a great new fresh read that packs a punch, then get Hounded and you wont be left unsatisfied.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Funny, Adventurous Book

    Excellent beginning to a cool series. Nice take on Celtic mythology, with lots of humor, and quite a bit of action. Celtic gods and witches figure prominently throughout the book, as well as werewolves and a very distinguished vampire. I laughed quite frequently at Oberon, Atticus' dog (Atticus is the main character in the series); Oberon was my favorite character.

    Read the series: Hounded, Hexed, and Hammered. You'll enjoy it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hounded has catapulted itself to be my new favorite book.

    Kevin Hearne's brilliance shines in his debut publication, Hounded, an epic novel that encompasses modern day life with Norse and Irish mythology. His humor is unlike anything I have read and I found myself wishing I could be friends with Atticus. I enjoyed that while reading this book I learned about Druid magic (Which I wouldn't mind wielding). I also appreciated the dictionary Hearne provided at the beginning of the book so that I could understand the Irish pronunciation better.


    Oberon the loveable Irish Wolfhound gained my loyalty and affection with his one track poodle obsessed mind and smart alec humor. Hearne has written the voice of a dog so perfectly I ended up staring at my own Labrador Retriever trying to read her thoughts. Alas, it did not happen, but I did have sudden and serious craving for sausages.


    Atticus O'Sullivan embraces all aspects of shifters that I love while maintaining self preservation and honor. He is clever and made me laugh-out-loud several times throughout the book. He interacts with the other characters of the book very well and brings out the cantankerous side of his werewolf buddy. The dialogue is smooth and believable. The assortment of diverse characters leaves many possibilities for future novels.


    Would I read this book again? Absolutely, I will also be getting it in Audiobook too. I know that my husband will appreciate this book - especially being written from a mans point of view. (Swords, fighting and a faithful dog - a guys guy will enjoy this book)


    The suspense was so intense that I carried this book with me everywhere I went just in case I got an extra minute to read. When I finished it, I immediately wanted to read it again. Hounded has catapulted itself to be my new favorite book. I would recommend Hounded to anyone that enjoys paranormal and urban fantasy series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A perfect urban fantasy

    Atticus O'Sullivan the Druid has lived for over two millennia and in that time he has made friends like Van Gogh and Galileo but also has alienated essences who want him dead. Some are extremely powerful, but perhaps his most persistent and strongest enemy is the Celtic God Aenghus Og. The Druid stole a magic sword from the God who vowed to hunt him down, kill him, and retrieve the sword. Over the centuries, Og has located Atticus, but his attempts to kill his adversary have failed.

    O'Sullivan plays soccer while he also owns and operates Third Eye Books and Herbs store (hiding his Celtic heritage behind eastern beliefs) in Tempe Arizona. He has kept a low profile so that his sworn foes will not easily find him. Og locates him again and sends his nastiest minion to take care of him with instructions not to come back alive without his sword and O'Sullivan's corpse. The Druid's faithful Irish wolfhound Oberon is acceptable collateral damage.

    This is a super urban fantasy in which the Hearne's mythos comes across as possible due to reasonable explanations interwoven into the fast-paced plot. Readers rather quickly anticipate an OK Corral showdown between the Druid and the God once Og locates the rodent who desiccated his deity. Sub-genre fans will appreciate Kevin Hearne's humorous tale of the "Mouse That Roared" against the superpower.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Amazing!

    Thrilling book, a definite must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Great read

    The writing is strong and well-paced.The main character, Atticus, is funny and witty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Fun Book, Fun Series

    This book (and the entire series) was recommended to me by a friend. I was extremely pleased I managed to get around to reading it! It's a quick read packed with action and occasional wit. The voice of the book is definitely a male in his twenties. It's a fun perspective, but be aware if you find that demographic irritating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    VERY entertaining read. Highly recommended. After reading book !, I immediately purchased book 2 in the series.

    Mr. Hearne writes with a sense of humor that really appeals to me. The story progresses at a pleasant rate and doesn't generally get bogged down in too much detail about the how-to of a certain scene - just enough for my tastes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun, Magical Romp! - I absolutely loved the first installment

    A Fun, Magical Romp! - I absolutely loved the first installment of the Iron Druid Chronicles! This was a truly original book with outstanding character development and world-building. I jumped straight from the first into the second and bought the remaining books in the series. I can't recommend it highly enough to fans of fantasy and magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    What a fun read!

    This was one of the most enjoyable fantasy romps I've read in a long time. Fast paced, the right amount of humor and action and some great characters, especially the dog!

    You've got to give this a read if you enjoy the genere, and the modern setting adds to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous & Fun!

    Fabulous and fun, lot's of action...a supernatural twist mixed with Irish mythology that makes it different from all the other paranormal books out there, which tend to be indistinguishable. Loved it and already to start book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Atticus O'Sullian maybe quiet "dude" until you mess with his dog!

    Enter a little town in Arizona U.S.A. and peruse the mystic book and tea shop in town. Look for lite readings on Buddism, Taoism, Wiccan and have a Invigo-tea mixed up especially by the "Dude" Atticus. He's sports some cool tattos and his life is easy with his Irish wolfhound. Just don't assume this guy is another bygone of limp intellect of some college youth lest the ground literally "opens up to swallow you. " Atticas is friendly with more than the old Irish lass on the street; his vampire lawyer or his werewolf friends may serve you a"summons. " HA HA HA!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loads of fun

    What a wonderful read. Druids and wolfhounds and gods Oh my!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Great tweak on urban paranormal

    This book kept me glued to my Nook! Charming relationship between a Druid and his dog playing out with a worldwide pantheon of gods and goddesses. Cannot wait for the new release!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Witty, Fast-Paced Urban Fantasy Adventure

    I was lucky enough to be able to read this book as an ARE (Advanced Reader Edition), and I highly recommend it as both a fast-paced urban fantasy adventure and a witty, snarky look at modern life through the eyes of a 2100 year-old druid. The basic setup is that Atticus, the only druid from ancient Ireland still living and the sole possessor of the knowledge of druid magic, is hiding out in Tempe, Arizona from the pantheon of old Irish gods. Half of the gods want to kill him (he made enemies by stealing Fragarach from the alpha male head honcho a long time ago and has been on the run ever since) and the other half want to use him as a pawn in their political struggles and learn the secrets of his power and his near immunity to magic. As the story begins, his whereabouts are uncovered - but instead of running, Atticus chooses to stand and fight. So begins what is promised to be a trilogy of adventure stories pitting Atticus against deities, witches, demons, and more. The world, where the old gods have power proportional to the strength of their followers' beliefs, and where gods can appear in human-like form and expose themselves to mortal danger, is reminiscent of the world Neil Gaiman created in American Gods and Anansi Boys. However, Hearne has forged something really special here - a page-turning romp that is as full of action and suspense as it is humor and wit. You'll read the entire book in one sitting as the time flies by and be left thirsty for the next installment. I hope Hearne is a fast writer, because I can't wait for the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    Fantasic Series!

    My granddaughter recommend this series to me. I find it to be highly entertaining, educational & very funny. I liked it so much that I ordered the rest of the series and all the short storis before I had finished the first book. Can't wait to read what he writes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Great read!

    Look forward to next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    For the well educated geek

    I'm currently reading book 4, but I thought this would be the best place to include my encouragement; because that's what this is. If you consider yourself a geek, well versed in cultural puns and rifs, and are not religiously uptight (Christian history is not glossed over here) then I wholeheartedly recommend this series. It seems like The Iron Druid series was written by a Gen-Xer FOR Gen-X geeks and outsiders. There are references to all our cultural tropes and some pretty obscure 80s / 90s underground stuff that only the well educated geek will get. While there are jokes and puns here for everyone, there are some references younger,modern readers just won't get (eg, Elfman; Monty Python; Terminator; a slew of 80s film references). I laugh constantly while reading these books! The hound Oberon is, by far, one of the best anthropomorphic characters ever!

    My only complaint is the presence of some repetitive language (for example, to bemuse is used quite a bit in its various conjugations) but the story is so fun, I find I am not bothered by the repetition the way would normally be.

    If you:
    1. Love fantasy
    2. Respect that all people can believe in the divine in their own way
    3. Find ancient culture fascinating
    4. Want to laugh while you read (not exaggerating here)
    5. Are ok with animals talking
    6. Are seriously geeky!
    7. Love a good action / adventure
    Then this series will make you VERY happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14