BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Hour Before Daylight: Memories of a Rural Boyhood

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Loved It! Even though I'm not a Democrat...

    No politics here. Just a great read about real life memories from a man who also became our nation's president. I liked it because he spoke of his life without the political side. Very down-to-earth, honest and exposed. He didn't appear to glorify any of the details that for most people would be situations that would make you less than proud. Would recommend for any history / culture buff.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Oh! What a Delight to Read!!

    This book is delightful, honest and nostalgic. It carries you back to a place in rural America where people were 'who they were'. Plain and simple, the life and culture was formed into a certain mold which eventually unfolded itself. Jimmy Carter has written a masterpiece similar to Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House Books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    A Boy's Adventures - and he grows up to be President.

    An Hour Before Daylight By Jimmy Carter This was a very enjoyable book and I felt it provided double value! It is an autobiographical account of the early life of one of our Presidents and at the same time provides an inside view of rural life in the South before, during and after the Great Depression. It was fun and educational to compare Jimmy's childhood with my own. Although I grew up in a northern city and would have been the age of his brother Billy, it is interesting how much there was in common. I was able to relate to many of the childhood friendships and the interactions of a young boy with adults in the community. While Jimmy's relationship with his father is intriguing. How was it possible for a boy of such common circumstances to become President of the United States of America? I'm not sure that question is answered. Maybe it is as one of my colleague always says, "¿only in America!" A title is always important and in the case of An Hour Before Daylight I continued to look for the significance of this title to Jimmy Carter. Read the book and see what you think. There are many very interesting similarities in this story and those contained in John Glenn's memoirs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    I enjoyed reading this book so much!!!

    I have always respected the quiet strength and Christian attitude that Jimmy Carter displays and now that I have read his book I understand more how he came to acquire those attributes. My father and mother would be his age if they were still living. They have told me similar tales of growing up in the South during the depression and it was almost like listening to them again. Mr. Carter's attention to detail and his writing ability kept me excited to continue reading this book. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    I did not like this book

    I did not think that this book was very good. There are many things that were bad about this book. One of the main things i did not like about this book is that the subjects in this book were switched too randomly. Another problem with this book was that things that it talked about were outdated. Like for instance how to drain the blood from a pig. All in all this was not the best book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    I loved it!

    Jimmy Carter's memoir of his childhood is near the top of my list of 'all-time favorites.' His descriptions of southern life during the depression would have been great reading even if he wasn't a former president. I loved hearing about his fascinating family and about his black friends and mentors that had such an influence on his life. I've always admired President Carter, and reading this book has increased my admiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Fascinating Read

    I knew next to nothing about Jimmy Carter except from history and the news. To read about his childhood and the people that shaped his life, you can get a excellent perspective of him and why he does things in his own unique way. His writing is also very easygoing and flows nicely which made it easier to understand and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2001

    Excellent review from audio books

    This was a very knowledgeable, entertaining and interesting book to have listened to on audio cassette. What was even better was that Jimmy Carter told his own life on tape. How great of an experience this was for me. I would truely recommend every American to either read the book or listen to it on audio. So many times we do not know anything about a president, but in this case we learn a great deal. Thank you Jimmy Carter for a rare and truely memorable experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Magnificent...A Terrific Read

    What a beautifully written book! It has some gritty details in it, but it intimately brings to light what life was really like while growing up in the Deep South during the Depression. Impressive to hear how in the midst of all the confusion and turmoil he experienced as a child, his love for family and close friends never wavered. I especially enjoyed reading about the simple things he took joy in doing and experiencing. I have a new found respect for the former President, and for the simple pleasures in life that I now want to relish in and pass along to my children. Magnificent. Highly recommended. Cris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Amusing Anecdotes Galore

    Who knew that the office of president, with all its complications and bureacracy, could be filled by a man with such a rural, farm-life upbringing. Jimmy Carter had a fun, outdoorsy childhood filled with many adventures. It sort of reminded me of Mark Twain's Tom Sawyer, only Jimmy Carter was infintely better behaved. This book was pretty entertaining; not as entertaining as my trip to Wal-Mart where jimmy carter himself signed my copy of his book on his promotional booksigning tour. Nonetheless, the book was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    A great book to give to a friend

    This story could have come from rural Alabama or Arkansan. It show how poor people lived and surveyed and had fun with nothing. The story show how importance each one of us are, regardless of where we came from. It will leave you up lifted. You got to get this one. Terry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    One Of The Greatest Books Of The Millennium

    This is a great book. Mr Carter tells it like it was and is. I can relate because my boyhood was very similar. I grew up on a family farm in Screven County, Sylvania, GA and we still operate the farm. Parts of the book brought tears to my eyes. I knew Mr Carter was a great President and was amazed to find that he is a superb Author as well as a good citizen to the world. I purcahsed and read this book on a business trip to Kentucky and since have purchased 5 more copies for family members. I only hope I can soon meet Mr Carter and get my copy signed. I understand he was in NC for signing recently. Please come to Columbus, GA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    Some American History

    President Carter has written a touching portrait of his rural boyhood in depression-era Georgia. It's hard to believe life was as depicted only 60 or 70 years ago. The details and anecdotes of community, race relations, agriculture, and the general ways of rural southern society are very interesting, and President Carter seems to portray them honestly and as he remembers them. His prose is easy and direct if the subjects are sometimes foreign and curious to an urban, post-war generation. I found the fact that these are the beginnings of our 39th President to add another quality to the whole story. It is a good read about another time and the very humble beginnings of a great man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1