Customer Reviews for

Hour Game (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended

After reading Split Second I was wishing the story would continue so when this book popped up on my Nook screen, I downloaded it right away. It has some interesting plot twists and turns and kept me guessing until the end.

The characters of King and Maxwell are more...
After reading Split Second I was wishing the story would continue so when this book popped up on my Nook screen, I downloaded it right away. It has some interesting plot twists and turns and kept me guessing until the end.

The characters of King and Maxwell are more defined in this book as their association as investigators grows. Intersting play on character names in the book as well.

posted by lindee47 on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring a strugle

I can't believe i struggled to get through this novel. I didn't think it was even possible to struggle so much. I'm sorry I like Baldacci and his previous but this Hour Game was unreadable. If i afdended anyone - I am truly contrite.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I love this author's books but...this one felt like it was "

    I love this author's books but...this one felt like it was "phoned" in and not hung up soon enough. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    ****

    would like to read the whole series.what are the titles of the rest of the series?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Disappointing

    Some real weak parts on the plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Problems

    Hour Game serves as my intro to the work of David Baldacci, and it hasn't tempted me to try any others of his titles. The 150-plus Amazon reviews of this particular novel are divided into two camps, those who loved it and those who had problems with it, and I'm afraid I fall into the second camp. The plot opens with an enthralling vignette, of the encounter of a deliberate and detached serial killer and his hapless victim. Good beginning. For some reason, however, the plot diverges almost immediately, disintegrating into a hodgepodge of murders that may or may not have been perpetrated by the guy who opened the book. The characters are mere caricatures, and the interactions among the FBI, local police, and the intrepid PIs are ludicrous. Hour Game ends with a prosaic but prolonged boat chase, in which our valiant hero comes perilously close to losing his life. Never fear....

    Nothing new or original here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    tape problem

    AFter receiving- My husband listened to the 1st tape no problem. He put in the second tape and it unravelled as soon as he started it. He really likes these audio books and I was really disappointed that this happened.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    TWO STARS SAYS IT ALL

    Two stars says it all... disappointing. In Split Second, Baldacci introduced former Secret Service agents Sean King and Michelle Mitchell in a riveting, fast-paced thriller. I anticipated a sizzling sequel with these two protagonists, but was sadly disappointed when the chemistry between them in the aforementioned novel fizzled by the time Hour Game rolled around. And rolled it did - rolled, lulled,and faded. Not only was the chemisty between the two main characters TOTALLY absent, so was the intensity, thrills and pace of Baldacci's other novels. It made me wonder if Mr. Baldacci had a ghost writer doing his work. Hour Game is not up to speed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Okay, now who is that?

    Way too many characters to keep track of. Baldacci has always been one of my favorites but I feel he is slipping into the Grisham comfort zone of too many books in too short of a time with no real pressure to produce a quality product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Not one of his better ones ...

    I've read most of Baldacci's works and this is one of the poorer ones. Not nearly as fascinating as other 'serial killer' books by D. LeHane, Michael Connolley, or John Sanford .... and not of the same level as ASBSOLUTE POWER or TOTAL CONTROL. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Also Dissapointed

    Ive read most of Mr Baldacci's work and have to agree with previous reviews, clearly one of his least impressive books. The plot is very convoluted, implausible, and seems to have not been thought out beforehand. Rather than slapping myself on the forehead after finding out 'whodunit', I found myself thinking it was all so silly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Mediocre

    Always enjoyed Baldacci, but he like some other successful authors just start 'mailing it in.' The characters were uninteresting and the plot a rehash. Doubt that I will spend $17.00 for another of his books. He should be ashamed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    BLAHHH Baldacci!

    Hour Game is by far Baldacci at his boring WORST! What happened? Instead of rising action, the storyline was a boring exercise in endurance - like a marathon. I kept reading and reading and reading because I thought surely all the convoluted intricacies would lead to a satisfying conclusion. Regrettably, the grand solution to the murders was incredibly ridiculous, defying the logic of any clear-minded reader. So, not only was my time wasted, but my intelligence insulted. I expected better from Mr. Baldacci. I won't waste my time or money again without first reading the reviews of others! Another BIG complaint is I was anticipating this book as a companion/sequel to Split Second, which dynamically paired Sean and Michelle together. Now, their relationship is purely platonic and very flat. The chemistry that held us spellbound in Split Second completely vanished in the interim betwen the two books. In conclusion, the plot was contrived and all the characters were stale and undeveloped. BORING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    Worst Book Yet

    I have read every Baldacci book he's written, and always anticipate the next one. This one was very disappointing! The only reason I even finished it was because I really wanted to know who the killer was. I'll be waiting for the next one...I hope it's better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2