Customer Reviews for

The Hour I First Believed

Average Rating 3.5
( 608 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

This book is a testament to our past and future.
From Columbine, 9/11, Katrina, Iraq, the story relates the collateral damage done that no one acknowledges. An emotional but fulfilling read.
Don't miss it

posted by maggieNJ on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Oh Well.

I love Wally Lamb but I thought this book was a mess. I had a hard time keeping Lolly, Lydia and Lillian straight - I mean give me a fighting chance man! I didn't like either of the main characters and found the whole thing laborious. It gives me no pleasure to say this...
I love Wally Lamb but I thought this book was a mess. I had a hard time keeping Lolly, Lydia and Lillian straight - I mean give me a fighting chance man! I didn't like either of the main characters and found the whole thing laborious. It gives me no pleasure to say this because I think Lamb is an exceptional writer and She's Come Undone has a place of honor in my permanent library. This book just missed all the marks for me. Sorry Wally!

posted by 134531 on February 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    TAKE MY ADVICE, PASS ON THIS ONE!

    I read and throughly enjoyed 'She's Come Undone' and 'I Know This Much is True', so when 'The Hour I First Believed' came out, I was excited, thinking that Wally Lamb had wrote another masterpeice. Boy, was I wrong!
    Both Caelum and Maureen are completely unlikeable, and therefore impossible to feel sorry for. Caelum is VERY cynical and condesending to others, bitter about his childhood. Maureen is an adulturer in the beginning of the book, whiny and impossible to be around throughout the rest.
    Even though Delores and Dominick were also cynical, they remain likeable throughout the book. No one in 'The Hour I First Believed' is.
    Also, I believe Wally Lamb uses this book as a backdrop for his political beliefs, which I did not appreciate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I wished I would have never wasted my money !

    Couldn't get past the first four chapters, the language was horrible. I will never buy this authors books ever again. He has a rotten mouth and I even tried to over look the language and consentrate on the plot but, that was even a waste of time. Don't waste your money on this one unless you don't mind smut.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Author's very outspoken political beliefs.

    I gave up on page 553. I could no longer stomach this authors political beliefs. What a waste of a good book.
    I overlooked his political agenda in his other books, but this one went too far!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Had a hard time getting through this book

    Just wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Depressing

    And i thought the ending was a cheat. It was like he got tired and just wanted the novel finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    COPLETELY UNLIKRABLE CHARACTERS, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Since I'm a big fan of "She's Come Undone" and "I Know This Much Is True", I was looking forward to reading this book. I have to say, I was very disappointed. Caleum and Maureen were completely unlikable, as were the rest of the characters. Also, If you're a fan of "She's Come Undone," like me, you will hate the stupid twist with Alphonso(sp?) and Delores. *SPOILER ALERT!!!* Get real, Wally, you kill off cool, nice Thayer Kitchen and stick Delores with an over 40 Year Old Man Who Still Gets an Easter Basket From His Mommy. Please! That was enough to make me stop reading right there!
    Plus, I didn't appreciate all the America bashing either. Think I'll skip your next book Mr. Lamb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disappointed

    I loved Wally Lamb's first 2 novels and could not wait to read this one. Unfortunately, this book was a chore to read but after hitting the halfway point, I chose to finish since I had already invested so much time. The characters are boring and I could not infuse myself into the story at all. I cannot stress how disappointed I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Thought it was boring

    I love Wally Lamb, he's a great writer, but this book was disappointing. I KNOW THIS MUCH IS TRUE is in MY top 10 list of best books ever written, and I enjoyed SHE'S COME UNDONE, but this book I put down several times and eventually stopped reading. But I'm still a Wally Lamb fan and look forward to his next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I hated this so much.

    I enjoyed this author's books a lot. I felt buying the hardcover of this was a giant waste of money, not to mention time. The characters are dull. Gross, yawn, never again, Wally Lamb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    huge disappointment!

    Im huge fan of Wally Lamb so I regret to say that this book was a 600+ page self indulgent bore. The characters are unlikable and the story itself drones in page after page. I will be first in line to read his next book, though, because his others were so enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Do not recommend

    This is one of the longest most boring books I've ever read. It started out really good and then went down hill. It jumped all over the place and took forever to get to the point. I think toward the end the author did a lot of Bush bashing which I felt wasn't called for. If he wanted to bash presidents or be political he should write a book just about that. I wish he had stayed on the track he took off on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Would not recommdn this one.

    I always make a promise to myself that I will finish every book I start and after less than one hundred pages I was ready to quit. I did stick with it until the end and never did change my opinion. There were moments when I thought okay, this is it, it's getting better, but then the plot line would go in a different direction and I felt lik the book lost it's way. The main character was a self-centered adult male, who never grows up. Give me a break, either get over your past or get help. At some point in our lives we all must accept our past and leave it behind. Not hang on to it and let it interfere with our ability to be a loving spouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4