Customer Reviews for

The Hour of Dust and Ashes

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    When the Going Gets Tough, Get Charlie.

    Kelly Gay has created an amazing heroine with Charlie Madigan.
    Let me say what i love most about Charlie's character is that she feels very real as you read. There are not a lot of single mother heroines who actually talk about their kids in books, and Gay does that very well blending parenting and family into her books. I also love that Charlie gets tired, she fails occasionally in her exploits and she encounters loss, while at the same time arising from these low personal times of herself and then picking to to kicking some arse and getting retribution.
    Sometimes dealing with life takes some spongebob panties, and dirty torn clothes. Add in some dirt and near death drowning, king murder, creepy black swirly death mist, and dino sized lizards and you have a fantasmic story.
    The Hour of Dust and Shadows was an engrossing read that I did not want to put down. The pages flew through my fingers and the characters really caught my attention. As the plot twisted and problems arose, Charlie dealt her hand in the mix and kept on pushing for a happy ending. When Hanks character takes a turn, ohh I love Hank-where is a Siren when I need one, Charlie will not let the ending of this book go. I cannot wait to read more from Charlie and everyone in the book.
    The Hour of Dust and Shadows was a powerhouse of a read. The plot was fast, thick and catching, and the characters were awesome.
    If you have missed the Charlie Madigan series, go pick it up, because it is a real treat to read.
    What started off with a Better Part of Darkness, and then moved into The Darkest Edge of Dawn, swings us into The Hour.
    Kelly Gay has created a fantastical new future filled with everything that goes bump in the night, while slipping in some luscious men and challenging us with some dangerous women.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an excellent character driven tale.

    Atlanta Detectives Charlie Madigan and Hank the Siren earn R&R after their successful confrontation with the Sons of Dawn in the Underground. Charlie wants to spend time with her daughter Emma and her sister Bryn, but the battle may have been won, but the war remains heated.

    The two sleuthing partners have information that implies the addictive "ash" enables the otherworldly to possess the human host, which has led to deaths that some say are homicides and others insist are suicides. To Charlie she fears for Bryn who is addicted to ash and acts as if a dead Sons of Dawn zealot possesses her. Mysterious Alessandra suggests Charlie seek the sylphs since there is no exorcist is in town. However as she tries to prove her worthy of the sylphs, she realizes in order to save her sister she must go to hell and back; next stop is Charbydon which is easy to enter and impossible to leave.

    The third Charlie Madigan urban fantasy (see The Better Part of Darkness and The Darkest Edge of Dawn) is an exciting thriller as the beleaguered heroine and her partner (along with another ally) struggle to save her sister as time runs out. Filled with action inside of the complicated Kelly Gay world, fans will enjoy this strong entry as Charlie makes decisions that she loathes to do knowing the likely outcome of what she chooses. The Hour of Dust and Ashes is an excellent character driven tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    The series is actually fairly decent, however her publishers hav

    The series is actually fairly decent, however her publishers have decided not to pay her to write any more books for the series.  The problem with that is that the first 4 books amount to an introduction to a larger body of work.  Since she won't be paid to write any more of this series she isn't going to focus on this.  Too bad because the heroine is pretty good.  The premise of taking care of family and doing good is admirable and the plot is lively and witty.  It suffers the typical vein of writers lately though where everyone, protagonists and antagonists, alike are all super gorgeous and nearly all powerfu and overthink everything.  I wish more writers were like GRR Martin and portrayed people more evenly.  So 4 stars for content and 1 for the overall series since it is a dead end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    LEADER'S DEN

    Sparrowstar's Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Love it!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    More like 4.5 stars

    Read this series. The story and characters are not average and you won't be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Yes! Especially if you read the first 2 books. This one gets better. And we get answers! Full of action and fast pacing of the plot.

    One week after the huge battle on the roof top in The Darkest Edge of Dawn we pick up with Charlie trying to find out if her sister is possessed with the let down that all the exorcists have suddenly vanished from the city. The breakdown of self-will that ash has done to it's victims makes it possible for the Sons of Dawn cult to suppress human will and place spirits of their dead jinn priests in their bodies to do their bidding. Who Charlie is and what she does makes Bryn, Charlies sister, the one person who could help the cult recover, if she is possessed...which Charlie has no proof of. Compounding the want is now fear as the ash victims are committing suicide. Charlie finds there is one way to find out, but it is a dangerous journey for her to undertake and if not completed by all four visitors with in a time block, she will die. While Charlie is meeting these visitors she finds herself taken to the hellish world of Charbydon which could mean death if she doesn't get back home. And the reason for going to Charbydon could be huge trouble for her and her family as well. Then there are jinn and others after Charlie for her knowledge of the First One.

    Fast start, right back into Charlie's world where she is always being chased by someone and knocked around. She is a fighter! By now you know whats happened so we pick up a week later. You don't need the rehashing, you want to get to the action which Charlie is known for finding, or finding her. Along with the thickening plot with ash, Bryn, Hank, and all others.

    I was worried we wouldn't get much of Hank in this book. He was nearly comatose since his "singing" or use of his siren powers to help with the war at the end of book two. But we do get more Hank, lots more. And now, I can't wait for the next book! Charlie learns more of the tattoo her and Hank share and the warmth that comes with it.

    We get more Rex! Lots more Rex. It is really neat to see this man in action. He is a kick arse fighter of old jinn. But he has a softness that has come from the years of living with humans. He is a wonderful addition to the series, and really makes the choice of Will or Rex even harder.

    Charlie has to face some difficult decisions with her loved ones. Ones that are very difficult, but needed to be made in the moment. This is the area Charlie doesn't want to have to make chooses. She is a family geared person, and one that wants to defend them all.

    Not only is Charlie trying to save her sister, she has many mages after her from Tennin not believing the sarcophagus of the First One is gone. Then we have a new dark presence that has us curious about it and wanting to know more. And they keep falling down the dark hole of troubles, which keeps the action full.

    I think this book became my favorite of the three thus far. Each book has gotten better for me but this one digs deeper into the worlds of the off-worlders. And I like learning more there. And seeing Charlie fight her way out of everything and the wake of destruction she leaves behind. Yet the sensitive side of Charlie for her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charlie Goes to Hell!

    I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Better Part of Darkness and the Darkest Edge of Dawn) prior to reading this installment. I've been impatiently looking forward to this release and was not disappointed. The ingenuity of the storylines from previous installments were wrapped up in a simply brilliant ending of one era of Charlie's life. By the end of this book the author cleverly steers us toward the next chapter in Charlie's evolution. This series is a perfect authentic combination of what I categorize as light SF and heavy dark urban fantasy. In this series the preternaturals are actually "off worlders" not just from another dimension but are from different worlds altogether. Charlie takes a fascinating trip to a "hell" planet in this installment. I loved the mode of travel she took to get to and from, and the planet description was so creative. Occasionally, I fruitlessly tried to savory this story slowly and make it last, but there was a fat chance of that! This story was just too exciting and compelling to put down. The action was plentiful, the world depictions and descriptions were flawless, and the storyline was so completely spellbinding that I never wanted this book to end. With every Charlie Madigan installment this author effortlessly grabs my attention and keeps it. This is definitely one of my top favorite series and I eagerly look forward to every book. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to book four due out summer 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    BookHounds

    Charlie Madigan, my favorite kick butt, special forces huntress is back in action and trying to save her sister, Bryn, from her deadly addiction to ASH, a drug made from a flower found in the underworld. The drug is making inroads with humans and helps the Otherworlders possess them. Charlie's ex husband's body has been taken over by the Revenant, Rex and is now her go to guy for domestic issues. There are a lot of laughs from his direction. Oh, and her hot siren partner, Hank, has gotten his voice back and Charlie finds herself drawn to him more than ever. Now, she must take all the help she can get, even from the snarky Oracle, Alessandra and go meet with some vicious lady sylphs in search for a cure that will end the humans' addiction to Ash. She should have taken the Oracle's advice and learned to beware of slyphs bearing gifts. These so called gifts cause Charlie a lot of wear and tear, but that which doesn't kill her, makes her stronger.

    This latest installment is fast paced and humorous filled with romance, action and witty dialogue. Em, Charlie's daughter has matured a bit and understands her mother more and I want to read more about Em. I thought it was wonderful to watch this relationship grow. The more fun lines are delivered by Rex though. If you haven't read the other two books in this series, I don't think you will have a problem jumping right in to this one since there is a nice one page recap done as a report on the first page. Although, you really should read the others first since Charlie's descriptions of the new Underground Atalanta as spectacular. Oh and the HellHound makes another appearance. Can't get better than that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3