Customer Reviews for

Hourglass (Evernight Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

LOVEd iT

a little sad at the end yes, but that dosn't mean its dissapointing, it left us with a "OHMYGAWD NO! DUDE THATS IT?! I WANNA READ MORE!"...lol and any book that has that effect on me is a good one. With each book it has gotten better and better. can't wait for the next ...
a little sad at the end yes, but that dosn't mean its dissapointing, it left us with a "OHMYGAWD NO! DUDE THATS IT?! I WANNA READ MORE!"...lol and any book that has that effect on me is a good one. With each book it has gotten better and better. can't wait for the next one. :]

-Naz

posted by Nazdar on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What happened?!

The first 2 series was awesome and then this comes out. It was horrible. I will probly never read this again. The ending really sucked.

posted by Book_Lover2010AB on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 478 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVEd iT

    a little sad at the end yes, but that dosn't mean its dissapointing, it left us with a "OHMYGAWD NO! DUDE THATS IT?! I WANNA READ MORE!"...lol and any book that has that effect on me is a good one. With each book it has gotten better and better. can't wait for the next one. :]

    -Naz

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

    In this third book in the EVERNIGHT series, Bianca has fled Evernight Academy with her boyfriend, Lucas, and holed up with the team of Black Cross vampire hunters Lucas used to be an avid member of.

    For a time, Bianca is able to hide her emerging vampiric nature by feeding on birds in secret. But she knows every minute she spends among the Black Cross her life is in danger, and she and Lucas plan to take off on their own as soon as they have the means.

    But when a friend from Evernight Academy is captured by the Black Cross, and a series of events leads to Bianca's true nature being discovered, the pair must go on the run sooner than they expected. Even that, however, is not their greatest challenge. Because as Bianca's parents warned her, her first taste of human blood was the turning of an hourglass, and it's no longer clear whether Bianca will be able to choose how she'll live the rest of her life.

    EVERNIGHT fans will be far from disappointed in this continuation of Bianca's story. The suspense never lets up as her situation becomes increasingly desperate. But there's still plenty of both tenderness and heat in her relationship with Lucas, who has matured a great deal since the first book.

    The book's many twists and revelations will only leave readers all the more eager to get their hands on the final book in the series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS A MUST READ!!!!!!

    I read this book in two days!!! This book had me from chapter one. This is full of love, advantage, twists and turns. You won't be able to guess what will happen next. I would highly recommend this book!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happened?!

    The first 2 series was awesome and then this comes out. It was horrible. I will probly never read this again. The ending really sucked.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Depressing

    This book was a very sad one for me to read.... I cried multiple times...I like the story of Bionica and Lucas but this was just too much sad and not enough god...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    dissapointed

    i'm not a fan in the direction that the series has taken, and saw them coming in book two. i wish i would have skipped this book, and i dont plan on reading book four.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    Disappointed!

    I am really disappointed in the way this one ended. I am going to read the next one but only because I have alreay preordered and paid for it. If the next book does not get better I will not follow this series any further. Loved the first two though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Amazing!!! Recommended

    This book is amazing. Claudia Gray created amazing characters, settings and a great plot. I loved it. This whole series is romantic, thrilling, and unforgettable. This book is definitly for teens. I would read other books by Claudia. It all comes down to Afterlife... Hope you'll be reading it along with me. :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    IT ALL DEPENDS ON WHAT HAPPENS IN AFTERLIFE

    It was good. The first one was my favorite by far. The rest were good too. Its an excellent series. But, I will not lie, this book pissed me the hell off. You'd have to read it, i mean the fist second and then this one, to have any idea what everyone is going on about. But this series is definitely insane. That's all i can think to say is it is INSANE. But right now, if Lucas and Bianca don't end up together, i will never read any of Claudia Grays books again, because it would literally break my heart. In this series you forreal get into the characters minds. It's like the Twilight series a little yes. But this is better to me. Much better. Read it. You'll probably cry...i did. Patiently awaiting the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Great read, but I'm worried about the next novel

    This book was similar to the other two. Mostly predictable, but it had it's surprises. This book and series are really good, however, I am really curious (and worried) as to the direction the next book will take. We'll just have to see

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Buy it without hesitation!

    This book made me cry. Really hard, so hard I had to put it down because the pages were getting all wet and I could read a word! It is emotional and thrilling... and depressing. It is happy and sad at the same time. Claudia Gray is even writing a 4th book called Afterlife if you continue to love this series. Claudia Grays breaks hearts in this book, but read it anyway!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition

    This was a great read. A truely wonderful addition to the Ever Night series. Hourglass took some turns that I was not expecting. I actually cried with this one. I can not wait to see what the next step is for Bianca and Lucas.
    This book really gets into the battle for Bianca between the wraiths (ghosts) and the vampires and it will shock you along the way. For me it was an emotional rollercoaster. Claudia Gray is an amazing writer and will take teens and adults on a journey with Bianca and the evernight series. I am thiry-one and I really enjoyed this story. Great for teens, there is a little sex in this book but I feel it is acceptable after how long Lucas and Bianca have been together. Also there are no details in the sexual relationship which I feel is appropriate for a teen series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!

    I really love this series. I was so excited when I saw this book at barnes and noble. I thought it was amazing up until the last few chapters... then it became tragic (in my opinion) and it had me in tears. I cannot wait to see what Mrs. Gray has instore for Bianca and Lucus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    what a cliffhanger!

    I honestly thought this was the best book out the series. There was some depressing parts in it, but i just couldn't put it down. I'm totally looking forward to the next book "Afterlife" and since Balthazar will be having his own book, that will be the icing on the cake. Although the cliffhanger in Hourglass drove me crazy, I'm hoping that somehow Lucas and Bianca will find a way to be together. I highly recommend this book. Along with love and romance, there's some cool vampire battles and a few deaths.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    an incredible book

    i think that is a really good book, i love it, i can't wait to read the next one. it's true is a little sad but at the end that's what makes the book a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Weakest of the 3 books.

    I AM A HUGE fan of the evernight series..i've been waiting on this book for almost a year now..and now that i finally read it i believe it was the weakest of the 3 books.. the first two books was more edger and had more conflict.. they were defineatly a page turner, but Hourglass.. was sadly not..i read the book because i thout is was going to be worth the wait but it was the opposite..while reading i wanted to just stop but i already "knew" the characters and i had to find out what happened to them because i already was attached from the first 2 books... but this book i found myself forcing me to continue reading because it was so so boring okay they're was parts in the book that were Excellent but then the majority of it wasnt... the ending was good.. it left us at a cliff hanger. i belive that the next book will be GREAT because the last page left off on a new adventure and new problems.. this book is not my favorite of the 3 books but it did do one thing for me..it now has me anxiously waiting of the fourth book................
    Love THIS SERIES NOT MY PARTICULAR FAVORITE BOOK OF THE OTHER 3.. but if you read the first 2 books you'll have to read this one...:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Uhhh

    Usually I dont write reviews, in fact this is my first one but I needed to say that I was a little dissapointed with this third book well the ending anyway, the ending and chapters leading up to it were depressing. I love this series but this book feel a little short..still worth the read though, I hope Afterlife redeems the series.
    P.S. I love Vic, he's awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't know how to feel

    I was so excited to read this book. I made sure I bought it on my Nook Tuesday, and I have to say i've gotten to a point in the book where now i'm dissapointed. I'm not happy w/ how it is ending so far. I will continue to read it but so far it has been a total let down as far as happy ever after goes. I just hope that when "Afterlife" is realeased that there will be a happy ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CANT WAIT!! This book is going to be GREAT!

    I started reading the first book last year and couldn't stop reading it. It took me 2 days to read Evernight, thats just how good it was. Stargazer...EVEN BETTER. So I've been waiting a year for Hourglass and just that fact that it will be released tomorrow is driving me crazy!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    must be mine!!!

    I read the first book from one of my friend loved it bought it and I also own the second one and ive been counting down the days after I finished reading Stargazer

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 478 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24