Customer Reviews for

Hourglass (Evernight Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

LOVEd iT

a little sad at the end yes, but that dosn't mean its dissapointing, it left us with a "OHMYGAWD NO! DUDE THATS IT?! I WANNA READ MORE!"...lol and any book that has that effect on me is a good one. With each book it has gotten better and better. can't wait for the next ...
a little sad at the end yes, but that dosn't mean its dissapointing, it left us with a "OHMYGAWD NO! DUDE THATS IT?! I WANNA READ MORE!"...lol and any book that has that effect on me is a good one. With each book it has gotten better and better. can't wait for the next one. :]

-Naz

posted by Nazdar on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What happened?!

The first 2 series was awesome and then this comes out. It was horrible. I will probly never read this again. The ending really sucked.

posted by Book_Lover2010AB on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Weakest of the 3 books.

    I AM A HUGE fan of the evernight series..i've been waiting on this book for almost a year now..and now that i finally read it i believe it was the weakest of the 3 books.. the first two books was more edger and had more conflict.. they were defineatly a page turner, but Hourglass.. was sadly not..i read the book because i thout is was going to be worth the wait but it was the opposite..while reading i wanted to just stop but i already "knew" the characters and i had to find out what happened to them because i already was attached from the first 2 books... but this book i found myself forcing me to continue reading because it was so so boring okay they're was parts in the book that were Excellent but then the majority of it wasnt... the ending was good.. it left us at a cliff hanger. i belive that the next book will be GREAT because the last page left off on a new adventure and new problems.. this book is not my favorite of the 3 books but it did do one thing for me..it now has me anxiously waiting of the fourth book................
    Love THIS SERIES NOT MY PARTICULAR FAVORITE BOOK OF THE OTHER 3.. but if you read the first 2 books you'll have to read this one...:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    very good development of characters and plot of story

    nice continuation of a story. Interesting mix on the main character - a sad ending but the story is not over. Like how the author changed this vamp story up from the norm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    What happened?!

    Tell me what happened at the ending again. i forgot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Getting better

    When I first started this series I didn't like that much, the story seemed pretty like any other vampire series. There were a few ideas that I hadn't run into yet but overall it hadn't really fallen into my love series. This third book though changed my view. It started off once again like the rest with nothing different about. Towards the end though things changed, I was a little shocked by the turn of events and now I want to read the fourth book. Before I read these just to finish the series cause I hate not finishing series but now I am curious to see if this series will turn into something that I am willing to reread. So I'd say this is a library book not one I'd pay for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Evernight Series book 3

    was one of the books i have been waiting on the next installment of and was not impressed by this one. the book overall was decent, but has broken away to more of a daytime drama than a captivating series imo. the first 2 books of the series were one sitting reads, but this one i had to force myself to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Left me uninterested in following this series...

    I did not like the ending! So much so I'm not sure if I will read the next one. It took a direction that I'm just not interested in AT ALL. Throughout the whole book I felt like shaking the characters because IT (will not say what IT is to avoid spoilers) seemed so obvious but they didn't see it. I don't know if it's possible for Gray to make this series interesting to me again which is a total bummer because I rated the other two books 4 or 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring and Depressing

    I liked the first two books very much. But I never did feel anything towards Lucas, and he was all in this book, so that is part of the reason I didn't like it. From when I first met Lucas, I thought he was okay, but Gray never continued to develop him as a character to make me like him. He was nothing to me at all. I really liked Balthazar though, which is another reason I liked the second book very much (!). I think they would have been better together and it was odd that the author would make Balthazar so dreamy and great, when he was only to be with Bianca for a temporary time. Also, since these books came out like, 6 months apart, I forgot some of the things that happened. Like I never remembered what Charity did to Balthazar in teh other books or why Balthazar changed her in the first place. I couldn't figure out why Raquel had such bad memories with ghosts, and so on. Usually, when the author reexplains everything in a book, I get so tired of it. But now I realize why they do it, but Gray did not give enough of a recap. She just said something quick about it, but didn't summarize the full story. Another thing I scratched my head over was the lack of imagination towards the whole vampire thing. I mean, churches and holy water? Get real. Isn't that supposed to be like older day, myth belief thing about vampires (if they were actually real). As for the book and it's plot, I felt like the whole thing was running from enemies and there was never a good strong story that was built. There wasn't much tension at all or love for the characters. And what ruined it the most was the ending. It should go down in history as the worst ending EVER. It left you hanging and lead to the destruction of everything. Nothing was accomplished and nothing was recieved in return to make this a complete book. It was very, very, odd. So much so, I was stuggling to get through the last 50 pages. So, I don't recommend this book to anyone. I gave it two extra stars because I liked the preceeding books and the beginning and middle of the book was not completely terrible, it was bearable to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hourglass (Evernight Series #3)

    I have been anticipating the release of the third book in the Evernight series for some time now. I could not wait to find out which way the story would lead Bianca and Lucas next. Now that I have read it, I must admit I am disappointed. Though I really enjoyed Lucas' character much more in this book than the others, the more I read the more annoying Bianca's character actually got. The book got too bogged down in just 'nothing' - the entire section where they have jobs and live in a wine cellar was a real waste of a good story. I can only hope that for the fans of this series the 4th book redeems the story for us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hmm. . .

    I just finished this third book in the series, and as time goes on my opinion may vary. But from what I just read, I would have to say that this third book was pretty interesting, but also it seemed to be lacking some kind of emotion. I think that if it was really great and I got into the characters enough, I would of been able to cry at the end. I mean when I read New Moon I cried when Edward left Bella, so I should of been able to cry and that "sad" thing happened towards the end of the book, but I just couldn't. Obviously it wasn't sad enough, and I just didn't feel extremely connected to the characters as I would have in a another one of my fantasy/romance novels. It was an alright, and I have to admit the best of the three books, but it definitely could of been better. The plot rocked, and you have a pretty good idea of each character, I just think some of them need to be a bit more developed, and there needs to be more emotions. I wanted it to make me cry! Ahhh, but I'm hoping the last book Afterlife, will be better, but it's going to be sooo annoying waiting a whole stinkin year for it!!!!! All in all, it was pretty good, could of been better is all I'm saying. Read the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4