Customer Reviews for

Hourglass (Hourglass Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Anticipated and a Sure Not to Miss Title

Hourglass is released this month and it is a long awaited title for me.
I have to say that the cover enthralled me the many months ago that I saw it online and it portrays the elements in the story perfectly.

Hourglass brings us into the topsy-turvy world of Emerson...
Hourglass is released this month and it is a long awaited title for me.
I have to say that the cover enthralled me the many months ago that I saw it online and it portrays the elements in the story perfectly.

Hourglass brings us into the topsy-turvy world of Emerson Cole, who at fourteen began seeing ghosts of history blending into her present day reality.

What Emerson has coming for her will turn her world upside down. What happens when the past flows too fully into reality and the only one experiencing it is you?

Emerson is about to experience a whole new way of looking at her future when her brother hires a new consultant to help with Emerson's abilities. Michael Weaver steps in and changes her whole world forever after he reveals to her the scope of her time-space abities.

Hourglass asks us: How far would you go to change the past? How far would you go for love? How much is too much?

Hourglass will change the way you look at the time that we have, and make you fall in love with it's characters and their stories.

Hourglass is a great first book in a series and I cannot wait to see what the consecutive books have in store for us in our own reading as well as the plight of these amazing characters.

I loved how the title of the book also tied so well into the story since on the cover you see everything turned around and the name of the organization helping/hunting Emerson is the Hourglass. Amazing author, and amazing read. Here is a book not to miss.

posted by terilhack on May 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was g

Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was great or whether you just wanted it it be great? Yeah, that's HOURGLASS for me.

I really did enjoy this book, though. In fact, I read it in two days (which for me, with four small children to take care of,...
Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was great or whether you just wanted it it be great? Yeah, that's HOURGLASS for me.

I really did enjoy this book, though. In fact, I read it in two days (which for me, with four small children to take care of, is quite an accomplishment) because I just kept wanting to find out what happened next. I think Emerson is probably one of my favorite female characters. I do think that she was flawed--I found myself, quite frequently, yelling at her to get her head together in certain parts, but I can't say that I don't find myself doing that with most
of the books I read. I think Emerson is strong, intelligent, and has a great sense of humor. Buuuuuttttt, when it comes to guys, I think she has a whole lot to learn!

I had a hard time with the way she sometimes would just throw herself at Michael. I get that because of her past, she's all about 'carpe diem' and all that, but I still feel like she should have kept a little bit more of herself locked away until she was sure of Michael's feelings. I will admit, however, that this is just MY opinion. I'm sure not everyone will agree with me here. I also feel like there was a whole lot of back and forth between Emerson and Michael. It just seemed as if we were supposed to just support their relationship, no matter how "off" it seemed, because they had "chemistry". Okay, I'm done harping on that. I will say that I liked how the DTR (defining the relationship) went at the end. Okay, now I'm REALLY done.

I really appreciated the time-travel aspect of the book. I am kind of a sucker for time-travel, and I think this one was done very well. I didn't get confused and have a "oh-my-gosh-I'm-SOOO-lost" moment, like I do with some time-travel stories. Ms. McEntire kept the science part of the story simple and easy to comprehend. And I am totally excited to see where she takes the story.

All-in-all, I would definitely recommend this book to those of you who enjoy time-travel, a spunky heroine, and some mystery. I'm really looking forward to digging into TIMEPIECE.


posted by CaptivatedRding on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Anticipated and a Sure Not to Miss Title

    Hourglass is released this month and it is a long awaited title for me.
    I have to say that the cover enthralled me the many months ago that I saw it online and it portrays the elements in the story perfectly.

    Hourglass brings us into the topsy-turvy world of Emerson Cole, who at fourteen began seeing ghosts of history blending into her present day reality.

    What Emerson has coming for her will turn her world upside down. What happens when the past flows too fully into reality and the only one experiencing it is you?

    Emerson is about to experience a whole new way of looking at her future when her brother hires a new consultant to help with Emerson's abilities. Michael Weaver steps in and changes her whole world forever after he reveals to her the scope of her time-space abities.

    Hourglass asks us: How far would you go to change the past? How far would you go for love? How much is too much?

    Hourglass will change the way you look at the time that we have, and make you fall in love with it's characters and their stories.

    Hourglass is a great first book in a series and I cannot wait to see what the consecutive books have in store for us in our own reading as well as the plight of these amazing characters.

    I loved how the title of the book also tied so well into the story since on the cover you see everything turned around and the name of the organization helping/hunting Emerson is the Hourglass. Amazing author, and amazing read. Here is a book not to miss.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Time Travel Novel

    One of the first things that attracted me to this book was the cover. This is one of the most beautiful covers I've ever seen.

    And the book only got better from there. :)

    I went into HOURGLASS thinking it was going to be about ghosts, but the story was a little more awesome than that. While Emerson sees people that have died, she isn't seeing their ghosts, she's seeing their imprint on time. Because she has the ability to travel to the past.

    Only she doesn't know it, and she thinks she's crazy. Which, I think, was a completely realistic reaction.

    With her brother's intervention in seeking out Michael's help from Hourglass, Emerson learns how little she really knows about herself. (And in an incredible, didn't see this coming twist near the end, she learns how little she really knows about her past.)

    I loved Emerson's personality and voice. And I really enjoyed the plot. I liked how the whole time travel aspect was handled. Kind of like in X men, some people are born with special abilities. Hourglass is a secret organization that deals with people who have abilities relating to time. Not everyone can time travel, and time travel seems to be a one way street. You either have the ability to travel to the past or to the future, but not both unless you pair up with someone who has the opposite ability. And pairing up--you travel to the past, he/she travels to the future--is like the ultimate in opposites attracting.

    So there is some heavy attraction at first sight when Emerson runs into her other half. Attraction that leads to love. There is also a bit of a love triangle that happens when Emerson is introduced to others who have defected from Hourglass as the new person director doesn't care so much about helping people deal with their abilities as he does about power. The third side to the triangle is Kaleb, the dead founder of Hourglass's son, who is an empath. And to be honest, as great as Michael is, I really liked Kaleb better in some ways even though he wasn't as straight laced.

    Michael is very intense and, at times, overprotective of Emerson. There were a few times I wanted to smack him, but I didn't have to because Emerson did it for me. I understood his reasoning as the story unfolded, but I appreciated that Emerson fought back when his need to protect her became too constrictive. Kaleb, on the other hand, didn't try to protect her from the hard realities of what was going on. He was there to support and help her, but wanted her to know what she was dealing with so she could make her own informed decisions. Something Michael was learning to do closer to the end of the story.

    All in all, I really enjoyed HOURGLASS, and can't wait for the sequel to come out. I want to know what happens with the bad guy, more about the Powers that Be, and the repercussions of Emerson going back in time--once on a mission to save the founder of Hourglass, and once more to save Michael's life.

    *crosses fingers that it's next year*

    There is some mild swearing and kissing. I received a review copy from the publisher.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Possibly My New Favorite Book of All Time

    Hourglass is snarky, sarcastic, funny, romantic, action-packed, and surprising. And there's two hot guys. Emerson easily makes my list of Lovely Badass Heroines. Is there anything else I can say besides I loved it with the passion of a burning suns? Which, may sound crazy but is totally true?

    No matter what, 2011 is an excellent year for YA and this one is definitely one of my favorites. And Myra McEntire is DEFINITELY an author to watch.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will Make Your Head Spin

    In a good way, of course.

    This is by far the greatest and most clever young adult book I have ever read.

    I purchased the HOURGLASS ebook, because I couldn't get to the book store this morning. My husband said, "Fine, but please don't turn around and buy the hardback next week." I wasn't sure at the time. I told him we'd see. He rolled his eyes.

    See, I have a thing for owning the actual books, but I can't own them all. Not until I'm rich, which I WILL be one day. Until then, ebooks are great for feeding my expensive reading appetite. However, there are certain books I want on my shelf now. Okay, books I have to have on my shelf now. HOURGLASS is the first young adult book that I HAVE TO HAVE ON MY SHELF ASAP. Sorry, dear.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Hourglass...the book that sent my mind forward in time as the pages of the book turned!

    ALL PEOPLE WHO ENJOY TIME TRAVEL AND ROMANCE WITH A PINCH OF SUSPENCE, THIS BOOK MAY BE FOR YOU!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Addictive and Refreshing

    Addictive and refreshing, this time-traveling romance had me glued to its pages right down to the very last. HOURGLASS was a delightful surprise. I got so much more than what I expected - I was utterly captivated.

    What's not to love about Emerson? This girl is a fighter. She's had to endure so much since seeing her so called ghosts. Coping with the death of loved ones, being committed into an institution, and now she must face the fact that maybe she's not crazy after all. With aid from gorgeous heart-throb Michael, Em finally understands her gift. The chemistry between these two sizzles. Em had me cracking up with what she calls her "edit button." When things came out of her mouth unfiltered, especially her thoughts about Michael, I was constantly laughing out loud.

    I enjoyed reading about some of the secondary characters and their abilities. One character in particular captured my heart. The ever charming Kaleb, who's also Michael's best friend, was a constant joy. With the time traveling elements, sizzling chemistry between the characters, and the special abilities that the surrounded the Hourglass inhabitants, at times I forgot I was reading a book. It was quite the page turner for me. I can't wait for the sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I hate the summary of this book. It makes it sound like some che

    I hate the summary of this book. It makes it sound like some cheesy paranormal romance, and - besides that being the wrong genre - Hourglass is so much more than that.

    One, I classify it as science fiction. I'm not quite sure what the rules would be (I'm not a science girl m'self) but there's a definite rule set and science theory that applies to the book. I mean, come on - she might have to deal with 'ghosts', but there's theory to it. This is science fiction, and I wish there was more in YA.

    Two, though there is romance, it's not the focus. Yes, her relationship with Michael is played on throughout the book - hello, what is a book without romance? - but I can't help but think that there's more to this book than that. There's stuff about good and bad and write and wrong and the fine line between that. There's humor and lines that make me laugh out loud. There's friendships and family and tension.

    But once we move past the summary (and that cover! More on that later), I can tell you - if you're a fan of sci-fi or anything bordering paranormal, I recommend reading Hourglass. I've been fortunate enough to come across a lot of well developed characters lately - characters with interesting back story, who (well, Michael and Ava aside) aren't hideous, but aren't drop dead gorgeous. They've got their own brand of wit and humor about them that make them fun to read. None of them are the same.

    And that, I think, is one of the reasons I like Hourglass as much as I did. Besides having an interesting plot - can she really travel in time? Can she do it without ripping the space time continuum apart!? - there were interesting characters to go with it. Anybody who reads WORD regularly knows I'm a sucker for good characters, and Hourglass delivers.

    And, of course, a strong and interesting plot, witty writing, and a swoon worthy boy make this book a fantastic addition to most shelves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Based on ARC. I was really excited to be apart of the Fire and I

    Based on ARC.
    I was really excited to be apart of the Fire and Ice ARC tour. Especially with this novel which I'd been anticipating. I mean, look at that cover. It's completely intriguing.

    I read this book in one day. While it started off slow, the plot really fed you a lot of information that kept me interested enough to continue on. Once I got into the meat of the book, I just didn't put it down.

    For me, the southern spin was really refreshing. It also made it easier for me to relate to Emerson, along with her witty sense of humor. I really got a feel for her in this novel and understood her motives. She really was the stand out character for me.

    I did really enjoy this novel. It does come off predictable at times, but I really thought Myra handled the time travel aspect very nicely. I honestly wanted more of it. Had there been more development there I would have loved this novel to death. I felt the connection. This was a great debut, and I can't wait for the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was g

    Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was great or whether you just wanted it it be great? Yeah, that's HOURGLASS for me.

    I really did enjoy this book, though. In fact, I read it in two days (which for me, with four small children to take care of, is quite an accomplishment) because I just kept wanting to find out what happened next. I think Emerson is probably one of my favorite female characters. I do think that she was flawed--I found myself, quite frequently, yelling at her to get her head together in certain parts, but I can't say that I don't find myself doing that with <i>most</i>
    of the books I read. I think Emerson is strong, intelligent, and has a great sense of humor. Buuuuuttttt, when it comes to guys, I think she has a whole lot to learn!

    I had a hard time with the way she sometimes would just throw herself at Michael. I get that because of her past, she's all about 'carpe diem' and all that, but I still feel like she should have kept a little bit more of herself locked away until she was sure of Michael's feelings. I will admit, however, that this is just MY opinion. I'm sure not everyone will agree with me here. I also feel like there was a whole lot of back and forth between Emerson and Michael. It just seemed as if we were supposed to just support their relationship, no matter how &quot;off&quot; it seemed, because they had &quot;chemistry&quot;. Okay, I'm done harping on that. I will say that I liked how the DTR (defining the relationship) went at the end. Okay, now I'm REALLY done.

    I really appreciated the time-travel aspect of the book. I am kind of a sucker for time-travel, and I think this one was done very well. I didn't get confused and have a &quot;oh-my-gosh-I'm-SOOO-lost&quot; moment, like I do with some time-travel stories. Ms. McEntire kept the science part of the story simple and easy to comprehend. And I am totally excited to see where she takes the story.

    All-in-all, I would definitely recommend this book to those of you who enjoy time-travel, a spunky heroine, and some mystery. I'm really looking forward to digging into TIMEPIECE.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    bad

    bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Defineitly read this

    Seriously i just read this book in one night! It was amazing. Not even lying. Read this!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Best Book I've Read in a Long Time First things first: I love Em

    Best Book I've Read in a Long Time
    First things first: I love Em. She's the most realistic YA protagonist in a very long time, and she's someone anyone would want to be friends with. Em has lost a lot; her parents died in a car accident and she spent several years in a mental hospital. Not from grief, although her grief over her parents is the only time other than Harry Potter that I've read a believable mourning orphan. She was in the mental hospital because she sees 'rips.' Rips aren't ghosts, they're reflections of people from the past, little bits of time that seep in from the past and into the present. Em's the only person she knows who can see them.
    Em has just moved back to Ivy Springs, her home town, to live with her brother Thomas and his wife Dru. Thomas is much older than Em - she was the &quot;surprise&quot; baby - and now he's her guardian. Em and her brother love each other, and you find yourself liking Thomas, even when his protectiveness gets in the way of Em's relationship with...
    Michael. Well, Michael is lovely. He just is. He's polite, and nice, and he sees rips too. Perfect right? Well, Michael knows more than he's letting on about Em's ability. But he's quite fun and sweet, and he breaks the mold common in YA romance, the creepy controlling, possessive, near-stalker guy we read about so much nowadays. Those guys are a dime a dozen, and very scary if you think about it (yes, Edward Cullen, I'm talking to you). Michael is actually a good guy, and even without Em, he's an excellent character.
    Lily is Em's best friend, and you'll wish she were yours too. But i can't say to much about Lily without throwing out spoilers.
    Em is a snarky, sassy, relatable narrator. Some of the things she says will knock you over laughing, and you'll never find yourself sitting there going &quot;Why did you do that!? How could you be that stupid!!??!!&quot; Because she does sensible but believable things.  You'll find yourself wearing converse and drinking too much coffee because of Em. This book gets a 100% A+++. It's a fun read with a cool twist on time travel. Enjoy! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Since her parents's death Emerson has been seeing things others


    Since her parents's death Emerson has been seeing things others can't. Apparitions from old days are crossing her way and she can't make them go away. Her brother Thomas is set on finding a cure, but nothing has helped so far. Until he calls the Hourglass organisation on the plan, and with it super smart and hot agent Michael. Thank you, Thomas! His task is to help Emerson find a way to get rid of her ghosts from the past. And of course all scruples aside he's there to provide us with a swoon-worthy romance. What a lucky providence that he's staying in the same housing complex as Emerson and her brother. Offers room for a lot of flustering encounters and much time for their feelings of attraction to grow into something stronger and more sustainable.

    Only the love story would have been enough to name HOURGLASS an awesome read. A conspiracy, mysterious organisations, insane antagonists, explosions, very short windows of time to act and turn the ending into a happy one and time travelling - loved the time travelling components in HOURGLASS just as much as in recent favourites such as TEMPEST by Julie Cross- complete HOURGLASS to a well-balanced and absolutely gripping read.


    4,5/5 ****/* HOURGLASS series - An action-packed time travel extraverganza with flair and three infectious love stories.

    One minute you are totally relaxed and laid-back, that jazzy feeling of old days bewitching you, the next you are on the run from your past and your future. Trust me, you want to have all three books in your reach when you turn the first page of HOURGLASS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Not verry good

    I didnt like it becuz it was advertised to me as a sci fi novel and i foundd it had wayyyy too much romance in it. I loved the whole time travelling awesome, being a total star trek fan. But i dont like romance so im giving the book three stars. None the less i am going to try timepoce the next book. Remember, this is my opinion only, so dont think u wont like the book just becuz of this one review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    While I did discover SF as a teenager, I did so reading the clas

    While I did discover SF as a teenager, I did so reading the classic SF stories, not the so-called juveniles. So, even though I have been reading SF for decades, I have never paid much attention to the Young Adult sub-genre. That changed in the past few years, as there has been so much YA within the genre that the Darrell Awards Jury (on which I serve) has had to include it as a separate category. This is not the first YA SF I have read, but it is beyond a doubt one of the best. Ms. McEntire has hooked me into her world and I am greatly looking forward to reading the next book in the series. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Awesome

    I loved it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    OMG I love this book !!! I have recently read the Hourglass by M

    OMG I love this book !!!
    I have recently read the Hourglass by Myra McEntire and I absolutely loved it!! This is definitely a book for 
    teenagers like me. The book is filled with suspension, drama, and romance, which got me hooked to the book !
    I just had a feeling I would like this book, the cover was very intriguing, the picture reeled me into the Hourglass!
    The book was 390 pages and it was hard to put it down, every chapter had a new twist! There is no movie version
    but it would be awesome if there was one! I am usually not into reading science fiction novels, but the Hourglass
    might have changed that for me!! I thought the author's style in this book was creative; the author would always leave
    me predicting what will happen next! 
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Loved!

    I absolutely loved the book. At first i was just reading it for a book report, but ending up reading it again. I'm not much of a reader, but I loved the book. I liked how the story was- romantic and suspensful- after i read this I went to see if there were more to the series, and there was! Im going to read the second book again and waiting for the third. Its an amazing series and i loved every minute of it. I highly reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Amazing

    Really awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Nice

    An enjoyable quick read. Well written; a nice teen read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10