BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hourglass (Hourglass Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Anticipated and a Sure Not to Miss Title

Hourglass is released this month and it is a long awaited title for me.
I have to say that the cover enthralled me the many months ago that I saw it online and it portrays the elements in the story perfectly.

Hourglass brings us into the topsy-turvy world of Emerson...
Hourglass is released this month and it is a long awaited title for me.
I have to say that the cover enthralled me the many months ago that I saw it online and it portrays the elements in the story perfectly.

Hourglass brings us into the topsy-turvy world of Emerson Cole, who at fourteen began seeing ghosts of history blending into her present day reality.

What Emerson has coming for her will turn her world upside down. What happens when the past flows too fully into reality and the only one experiencing it is you?

Emerson is about to experience a whole new way of looking at her future when her brother hires a new consultant to help with Emerson's abilities. Michael Weaver steps in and changes her whole world forever after he reveals to her the scope of her time-space abities.

Hourglass asks us: How far would you go to change the past? How far would you go for love? How much is too much?

Hourglass will change the way you look at the time that we have, and make you fall in love with it's characters and their stories.

Hourglass is a great first book in a series and I cannot wait to see what the consecutive books have in store for us in our own reading as well as the plight of these amazing characters.

I loved how the title of the book also tied so well into the story since on the cover you see everything turned around and the name of the organization helping/hunting Emerson is the Hourglass. Amazing author, and amazing read. Here is a book not to miss.

posted by terilhack on May 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was g

Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was great or whether you just wanted it it be great? Yeah, that's HOURGLASS for me.

I really did enjoy this book, though. In fact, I read it in two days (which for me, with four small children to take care of,...
Have you ever read a book where you couldn't decided if it was great or whether you just wanted it it be great? Yeah, that's HOURGLASS for me.

I really did enjoy this book, though. In fact, I read it in two days (which for me, with four small children to take care of, is quite an accomplishment) because I just kept wanting to find out what happened next. I think Emerson is probably one of my favorite female characters. I do think that she was flawed--I found myself, quite frequently, yelling at her to get her head together in certain parts, but I can't say that I don't find myself doing that with most
of the books I read. I think Emerson is strong, intelligent, and has a great sense of humor. Buuuuuttttt, when it comes to guys, I think she has a whole lot to learn!

I had a hard time with the way she sometimes would just throw herself at Michael. I get that because of her past, she's all about 'carpe diem' and all that, but I still feel like she should have kept a little bit more of herself locked away until she was sure of Michael's feelings. I will admit, however, that this is just MY opinion. I'm sure not everyone will agree with me here. I also feel like there was a whole lot of back and forth between Emerson and Michael. It just seemed as if we were supposed to just support their relationship, no matter how "off" it seemed, because they had "chemistry". Okay, I'm done harping on that. I will say that I liked how the DTR (defining the relationship) went at the end. Okay, now I'm REALLY done.

I really appreciated the time-travel aspect of the book. I am kind of a sucker for time-travel, and I think this one was done very well. I didn't get confused and have a "oh-my-gosh-I'm-SOOO-lost" moment, like I do with some time-travel stories. Ms. McEntire kept the science part of the story simple and easy to comprehend. And I am totally excited to see where she takes the story.

All-in-all, I would definitely recommend this book to those of you who enjoy time-travel, a spunky heroine, and some mystery. I'm really looking forward to digging into TIMEPIECE.


posted by CaptivatedRding on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Based on ARC. I was really excited to be apart of the Fire and I

    Based on ARC.
    I was really excited to be apart of the Fire and Ice ARC tour. Especially with this novel which I'd been anticipating. I mean, look at that cover. It's completely intriguing.

    I read this book in one day. While it started off slow, the plot really fed you a lot of information that kept me interested enough to continue on. Once I got into the meat of the book, I just didn't put it down.

    For me, the southern spin was really refreshing. It also made it easier for me to relate to Emerson, along with her witty sense of humor. I really got a feel for her in this novel and understood her motives. She really was the stand out character for me.

    I did really enjoy this novel. It does come off predictable at times, but I really thought Myra handled the time travel aspect very nicely. I honestly wanted more of it. Had there been more development there I would have loved this novel to death. I felt the connection. This was a great debut, and I can't wait for the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    While I did discover SF as a teenager, I did so reading the clas

    While I did discover SF as a teenager, I did so reading the classic SF stories, not the so-called juveniles. So, even though I have been reading SF for decades, I have never paid much attention to the Young Adult sub-genre. That changed in the past few years, as there has been so much YA within the genre that the Darrell Awards Jury (on which I serve) has had to include it as a separate category. This is not the first YA SF I have read, but it is beyond a doubt one of the best. Ms. McEntire has hooked me into her world and I am greatly looking forward to reading the next book in the series. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Nice

    An enjoyable quick read. Well written; a nice teen read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    My Review Favorite Quote(s): "'I have to go away for a day

    My Review
    Favorite Quote(s):
    "'I have to go away for a day or two. I thought if we were both buckled in, I could have an actual conversation with you before I left. It's important. So don't touch me.' He made a noise that resembled a growl. 'I mean, again.'"
    "'Aren't you just a knight in shining armor? ... Wherever do you keep your horse? And who scoops up the crap it leaves behind?'"
    Favorite Character: Emerson because she was a very strong female character, and I can definitely look up to her.
    First Line:
    "My small Southern hometown is beautiful in the haunting way an aging debutante is beautiful."
    My Musings: Very interesting story! I haven't read many books about kids with gifts--the only one that comes to mind is the Gifted series. This novel was very exceptional--although not astounding, it was interesting. The writing was great, the characters were great, and the romance was great. Everything was great!
    I liked that the novel was written in Emerson's point of view. It gave a great prospective of the main character and allowed me to become one with Emerson. Seeing everything as she saw it made me feel a familiarity with her as well as the other characters in the book. The writing was moderately descriptive, with a fast paced plot that kept my nose in the book. It took me a bit to warm up to the concept of the character's gifts and well as the background on who killed who, who was evil, and all the like, but once I did, the book became that much better.
    Emerson was by far my favorite character. Although small in size, she shows that females can be strong characters. She was your typical female heroine, and I loved that she is stubborn and determined to do what was right. Michael also appealed to me. For once, I just love the name. Anyways, Michael's feelings for Emerson were adorable; I wish I had a guy that felt that way about me. He was determined to keep her safe, keep his best friend Kaleb safe, and to keep Kaleb's father safe. I loved seeing all the characters interact and form bonds, even though Kaleb kept trying to get in the way of my favorite couple!
    Over all, the book was a great, interesting, quicker read. It showed you that trust shouldn't just be given; however, it also shows that love and determination can yield great results. This was a great read, and for those of you who like unique paranormal books, this is the one for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    The ending left me completely satisfied and I honestly thought t

    The ending left me completely satisfied and I honestly thought there wasn't going to be a sequel. Loved it! Love the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    **Originally posted at Libby Blog** What if everything you belie

    **Originally posted at Libby Blog**
    What if everything you believed was true...isn't?
    Emerson Cole sees people who shouldn't be there that no one else can see. Of course, once others know you can (or know that you think you can) see people and talk to people who aren't there...there's medication, counseling, and even a facility. What do you do when you can see people who aren't there? How can you tell who's real and who isn't? What if they talk to you? What if they already know your name?

    My thoughts: What the heck was I waiting for on this one? I can't believe this book, with a stinking GORGEOUS cover, has been in my HS LMC for a year and I didn't read it!
    Ok, here's what I loved:
    -Emerson! She rocks! I love that her "edit button is broken." I also love that she's broken and a bit crazy. All the best people are honestly.
    -Thomas and Dru. What a wonderful brother and sister-in-law! How more wonderful could they be!?
    -Lilly. She's such a great bff! Through it all she hasn't abandoned Emerson and has a great personality to boot! I'm really hoping she gets to be a bigger part in things in the future!
    -Jack. He's such a great bad guy! You truly hate him so easily! I literally wanted to rip into the book and rip into him!
    -Kaleb. Dang I want to meet this boy! AND, I want to see that tattoo! There's just something about a bad boy isn't there!?
    -That I had no idea where the heck the story was going! I hate it/get really annoyed when I can see or guess exactly what's going to happen each step of the way in a book. That did NOT happen here! Holy cow! What a roller coaster ride of twists and turns! Brilliant Myra!

    Final thought: I'm on to book 2...pause the world and shhh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Hourglass

    I’ve been really eager to read the Hourglass series for quite some time now. I expected a lot of things from the novel and had very high expectations since I have read a few reviews that said it was simply amazing, though I have to admit that Hourglass stirred a lot of mixed emotions in me. Having only read the synopsis on Goodreads before reading the novel, I expected the novel to be somewhat like Clockwise where it was just strictly time-travel. And not a mix of X-men and romance—which is what I got from Hourglass.

    If there is one thing I absolutely loved about the novel it was the way author Myra McEntire wrote the beginning of the novel. I personally loved the opening chapter because it introduced us to both the main character Emerson Cole’s life, but also to her amazing ability. We see that Emerson can see people from the past and if she touches them they just…disappear. However, since a tragic accident, Emerson has been able to do this and now her family believes that she is losing her mind. That alone had caught my attention, but it turns out that those people from the past are “rips” or “ripples”. Since Emerson is thought insane, her older brother has hired multiple people to try and fix her and finally he hires Michael who works for the Hourglass.

    Since we are on topic of Michael I have to admit that he was absolutely amazing as a character and as a romantic interest. He makes me think of the song One Thing. Yes I know, totally random, but the way he treated Emerson had me thinking of the fact that because of his relationship with her being strictly client-patient he can’t ever be with her romantically. Myra McEntire did an amazing job at showing the way that Michael not only cared for Emerson, but how he was willing to do just about anything to keep her safe. Not to mention that Michael held an aura of mystery and danger that I found pretty hard to resist. As if there wasn’t enough romance already however, McEntire introduced a type of love triangle between Michael, Emerson and Kaleb. While I personally didn’t like Kaleb as a character (he came off as a perv), I also don’t really think that the story really needed a love triangle but oh well.

    The Hourglass itself was a place that I found really interesting. It reminded me a lot of (and I’m a nerd for saying this) the X-men since it’s a place full of people with outstanding abilities that set them apart from the rest of humanity. And apparently getting your abilities is genetic *cough* X-men *cough*. Though, the most memorable part of the Hourglass for me, was a conversation between two of the characters where it was an argument over who was the better superhero, Batman or Superman. That had me laughing out loud and it managed to be my most favorite part of the entire story.

    All in all, I do think that Hourglass went into the origins of all the characters a little bit too much and had a lot of room to be a bit longer, but I am looking forward to reading the sequel Timepiece. I would recommend this to fans of X-men type novels (is there a genre for this?), time-travel and YA readers who want a romantic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Worth it!

    Whenever I look for nookbooks, I always see this book as a recommendation but I was always skeptical. I finally decided to buy it and was disappointed that I waited so long.

    Simple overview: Emerson thinks of herself as crazy because she sees ghosts. When her brother hires someone to help her deal with them, she learns that seeing ghosts is just the beginning of her complicated life.

    Hourglass has has a little bit of everything in it to attract everyone; comedy, mystery, romance. This is a great read so don't hesitate on purchasing this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Great Book

    I loved this book so much. It was different from all those teen novels. It was funny and sad at times but altogether I enjoyed this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book sat on my 'to read' list for over a year and now havin

    This book sat on my 'to read' list for over a year and now having read this I'm torn. I should have read it sooner! But considering I now have only 8days left til the sequel comes out, I'm sure glad I waited because I'm not sure I could have waited.

    Hourglass is completely unputdownable. From the first chapter I was pulled into a story and world that kept me until the final chapter. The chapters themselves are short and snappy, but contain the key elements to keep the story going. The writing is modern and relaxed without any attempt to be hip or 'street'.

    The cast McEntire creates fills out the story nicely. The key players offer the good guy, bad boy and best friend to support the heroine. Yes there is a whisper of a love triangle, but its not the be all and end all of the story. The support cast has enough story to keep them from been wooden and actually make you want to know more about them; can't wait to see more in Timepiece

    All in all Hourglass is a book that is an engrossing read with a great plot told through excellent writing. Yes, it is a little on the shorter side, but that makes for a quick read that can be enjoyed over and over.
    MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe I waited so long to read this one! Hopefully I w

    I can't believe I waited so long to read this one! Hopefully I won't let another gem like this one fall through the cracks again in the future. I've had this title since it was released and somehow I overlooked it until now. While I'm regretting waiting so long, I'm thrilled that I corrected my mistake and finally gave myself the chance to read this fabulous title! I simply enjoyed every single turn of the page on this one. McEntire created a scenario that fascinated me. Time travel has always been one of those phenomena that I couldn't help but be intrigued by. And when you take that and add in all the other remarkable details and twists that McEntire did in her novel, it became a combination that is utterly impossible to turn away from.

    I stayed up late into a few nights reading, so that I could try and race through this title and was simply sad when I would have to close it for the night. If that isn't a clear mark of a great read, I'm not sure what is. Emerson is one of those characters that shows a great combination of bravery and spunk, while remaining humble and somewhat vulnerable at all the right times that makes it impossible to not adore her. The other characters like Michael, Lily and Emerson's brother, Thomas and his wife, Dru, are each endearing in their own ways. It's a great cast of characters and the situations they find themselves in will leave readers rooting for them to come out on top. But when so much is at stake it's hard to predict what will happen, and where McEntire will leave her characters in the end. After finishing up this series opener, I'm extremely anxious for the chance to read, the second installment, Timepiece, when it releases in June 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hourglass

    When I first heard about this book I really couldn't wait to read it. Now that I read it I can see why so many have loved the story. I could not get enough of the whole story. I love Michael! When I was first introduced to the character, I knew that he would be my favorite. He was so mysterious but yet at the same time he is a great addition to the story. I love stories that has a main character that you just do not know about. A main character really grows with the story. I think that what turns a good story into a great story.

    Emerson thinks that she is seeing things that aren't there. Deep down she thinks she is kind of going crazy. But she is not. So they bring in Michael and he is going to try and help her. But is she really there to help him....

    I loved this book. It was a truly great story! It kept me on my toes and it is a great page turner. I can not wait to start the next book, which I got from Netgalley!!! (Thank you!) So look back in the coming days for that review!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Start to a Promising New Series

    So, Emerson is your typical orphaned teenage girl with one big exception: she sees dead people. This obviously causes a great deal of drama in Emerson's life because, once you start talking to people whom no one else can see, you just bought yourself a one way ticket to the loony bin.

    Now, Emerson is supposed to be on her meds (she's not, natch) and her "visions" are getting worse. What's a girl to do? Well, enter hunky, mysterious, Michael (hired by Emerson's brother to help her out.) Turns out, there's more to the people Emerson sees than your typical spectral encounter. Michael knows a thing or two about it thanks to a secret group called Hourglass.

    When Emerson becomes more entrenched with the Hourglass group, that's when things really get interesting. I like that McEntire threw in a couple of curveballs that I didn't see coming. The other people in the group seem to have compelling backstories and I can't wait to see more of them in future books in this series.

    Naturally, there is a love angle (or tri-angle, if you will) with Emerson and Michael having literal electricity between them when they touch and then Emerson and Kaleb (super-playah-type with the required heart of gold) having numerous flirty-type encounters. Not to ruin it for you, but my money's on Michael being the obvious victor in the war for Emerson's heart here. Have to say though, Kaleb is a man after my own heart in a hunky, bad-boy way.

    Overall, I really liked Hourglass and feel that it is an excellent start to what is sure to be a page-turning series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good for a vacation reading!!

    I'm a collage student, the story was good written and good plot. Easy to understand if I'm bilingual person. The story was really cute and amazing. I could say was the best book I read about ghost this holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A book for everyone!

    Ok, if it has time travel in it I try my best to read it. I love the theory of being able to see past and future events. This book puts a spin on it that is very intriguing. Mix in apparitions, a really hot guy, and a really sinister villain and you have this book in a nutshell. It offers a great perspective and story for time travel that will leave you wanting more.

    The characters shine throughout this book. McEntire's writing illuminates them through snarks, quips, and situations that made me giggle many times over. If you read this book for nothing else, it should be this. The personalities of the main and secondary characters mesh so well together because of it. Emerson is a very interesting character. She knows something is different about her and she runs with it. I believe you could put her in any situation and she would be able to adapt to ride it out regardless of what it is. Her sarcasm is how she deals with the difficult situations that she has to experience. While not so great for her, it does wonders for a reader! Oh yeah, that "dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy", he has to be one of the most chivalric persons I've ever read about. He is definitely an intriguing compliment to Emerson and they create a plot that keeps you turning the page.

    There's many layers to paths taken by Emerson and her comrades. She first has to deal with the issues within herself, but then that opens up a whole new set of scenarios. The books shifts easily between situations in which you learn more about the characters and situations that make you hold on to the edge of your seat. I do like how the book turned out and the way in which it gets there, but it felt like it just lagged at little in some spots. This was especially true for the ending for me. It had a great action sequence and then the book wrapped up nice and tidy. I was expecting just a little more "umph" in it I think. I really do look forward to seeing where this story goes, it has endless potential for making your toes tingle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    It is very good holds supense ,,romane and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Help!!

    How many pgs is this????? i need to know 4 a report.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Very Cool Book

    First of all, this cover completely drew me in. Beautiful work. Second, I loved this book! At first I thought it was an "I see dead people" book, and then I discovered it was something else entirely. It was an extremely unique concept I thought. It was so easy to read. I blew through it. The characters were all fairly likable, so I found myself cheering them on quite frequently. The story was so easy to get into, and it managed to hold my interest throughout.

    My only negatives were that Emerson sometimes seemed a bit too aggressive to me. Also, why does the lead male in young adult novels so often have to be so perfect and model handsome? Why can't they be slightly good looking but really attractive to the girl in question? Personal issues aside, these two things weren't enough to take away anything from my enjoyment of the book.

    There were twists and turns, and they made for a very fun experience. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in paranormal, science fiction, or just a good romance. It had all of these elements. The ending was a bit open-ended, so I hope we get more story in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Thoroughly enjoyable.

    This is well written, with great characters and an excellent story. A new and interesting twist on time travel and what genes can make possible in so many different ways. The cover of this one nails not only the tone of the book but Emerson herself to perfection. Her life has not been right side up in years and now the entire world is beginning to tip off its axis as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3