Customer Reviews for

The Hourglass Door (Hourglass Door Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome journey and romance

I was excited to jump into The Hourglass Door after hearing many good things about it! I didn't figure it would be such an adventure and a truly unique story. Lisa Mangum created a whole new world where time and balance is everything. The Hourglass Door was the perfect ...
I was excited to jump into The Hourglass Door after hearing many good things about it! I didn't figure it would be such an adventure and a truly unique story. Lisa Mangum created a whole new world where time and balance is everything. The Hourglass Door was the perfect beginning to a promising series. I dove into with high expectations and it definitely didn't let me down.

Abby's life is on track. Her senior year is going well and her plans after high school seems to be unfolding in her favor. But when she meets Dante Alexander everything gets flipped around. She's drawn to Dante, as he is to her, but she's always noticed something was just not right. Especially when time seems to slow down when he's around.

Abby is a strong-willed girl. She's got everything going for her and she doesn't take advantage of that. I appreciated that she was such a normal girl worrying about theater, hurting her boring boyfriend and her school plans. It was easy for me to connect to her. I loved that I was able to make an early connection to her, because it threw me into the story. After a while I was hooked (but I think Dante may have had something to do with that).

Dante the gorgeous Italian exchange student. What more must I say? Well, he's sweet and caring and has a shocking past that the reader won't expect.really. He was such a puzzle to me. I couldn't figure him out, but I never wanted to give up trying to! It was easy to fall for Dante as well as other supporting characters in the book.

Lisa Mangum has such a unique style of writing that it was just a foot in the door of fantasy. Well, actually it is a complete fantastical world seamlessly intertwined with the a normal girl's life. How much more can we ask for? The Hourglass Door was an amazing beginning to what seems to be a journey like no other.

I suggest this book to anyone who loves a fantasy and romance story. It is everything and more that I look for in a great read. Definitely a book to add to your lists!

posted by Tawni on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Twilight "light"?

Lisa Mangum's first book feels strangely familiar. I'm not sure if it's because I'm reading a lot of supernatural romances lately or what. High school senior, Abby, meets a mysterious new student, Dante. Enter the gorgeous, sexy, strong, supernatural male character. Wha...
Lisa Mangum's first book feels strangely familiar. I'm not sure if it's because I'm reading a lot of supernatural romances lately or what. High school senior, Abby, meets a mysterious new student, Dante. Enter the gorgeous, sexy, strong, supernatural male character. What is he? Vampire? no. Warewolf? no. Shapeshifter? no. We spend the whole book answering not who is he, but what is he.

To read the rest of my review, and others, please visit: www.alisons-bookmarks.blogspot.com

posted by alisons-bookmarks on July 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome journey and romance

    I was excited to jump into The Hourglass Door after hearing many good things about it! I didn't figure it would be such an adventure and a truly unique story. Lisa Mangum created a whole new world where time and balance is everything. The Hourglass Door was the perfect beginning to a promising series. I dove into with high expectations and it definitely didn't let me down.

    Abby's life is on track. Her senior year is going well and her plans after high school seems to be unfolding in her favor. But when she meets Dante Alexander everything gets flipped around. She's drawn to Dante, as he is to her, but she's always noticed something was just not right. Especially when time seems to slow down when he's around.

    Abby is a strong-willed girl. She's got everything going for her and she doesn't take advantage of that. I appreciated that she was such a normal girl worrying about theater, hurting her boring boyfriend and her school plans. It was easy for me to connect to her. I loved that I was able to make an early connection to her, because it threw me into the story. After a while I was hooked (but I think Dante may have had something to do with that).

    Dante the gorgeous Italian exchange student. What more must I say? Well, he's sweet and caring and has a shocking past that the reader won't expect.really. He was such a puzzle to me. I couldn't figure him out, but I never wanted to give up trying to! It was easy to fall for Dante as well as other supporting characters in the book.

    Lisa Mangum has such a unique style of writing that it was just a foot in the door of fantasy. Well, actually it is a complete fantastical world seamlessly intertwined with the a normal girl's life. How much more can we ask for? The Hourglass Door was an amazing beginning to what seems to be a journey like no other.

    I suggest this book to anyone who loves a fantasy and romance story. It is everything and more that I look for in a great read. Definitely a book to add to your lists!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Twilight "light"?

    Lisa Mangum's first book feels strangely familiar. I'm not sure if it's because I'm reading a lot of supernatural romances lately or what. High school senior, Abby, meets a mysterious new student, Dante. Enter the gorgeous, sexy, strong, supernatural male character. What is he? Vampire? no. Warewolf? no. Shapeshifter? no. We spend the whole book answering not who is he, but what is he.

    To read the rest of my review, and others, please visit: www.alisons-bookmarks.blogspot.com

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    I loved it

    I read this book a couple months after he broke up with me. Yeah i had emotional swings. It was terrible. I suggest not reading this after someone broke up with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Wow.

    This. Book. Is. AMAZING!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling young adult fiction

    This is a compelling young adult fiction novel written by a new author. It is a love story mixed with science fiction, humor and even classic literature. I am always interested in how people can explain time-travel and their ideas of what "time" really is. I enjoyed the connection that Dante (the mysterious and handsome foreign-exchange student from Italy) had with Leonardo da Vinci. I laughed at Abby (the intelligent and creative high school senior) as she watched her little sister play her homemade A&B Clue (Austen and Bronte). The classic writings from Dante, Shakespeare, Virgil and poet W. H. Auden are woven throughout the story, creating connections with the past to the present. The mysteries of the book are not revealed early in the story, creating a can't-put-it-down read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    OMG I have to keep reading

    This book was amamzing. I usually hate time travel and romance but, Lisa did great in combining these together. I felt the love Dante had for Abby. My husband has go love me like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    This book was really interesting. The characters were well built

    This book was really interesting. The characters were well built a very good plot. I loved this series but warning to those who don't have a lot of patience it is somewhat slow but worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Loved this

    Spoiler alert. Loved when Dave kissed Abby hilarious... yet awkward

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great read the rest of what i have to say

    To those anon people... you most definently do not know a good book. This is a great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Awesome book

    A normal gril with ever thing she need has a spin with time. But when foreing-exchange student Dante Alexsander comes every thing changes. Abby finds out that Dante has been the one for her. But is her love doomed or may i say lost in time. Follow Abby and Dante as they strugle with friend , family and past. But beside strugle things get wierd and she get to trust more and gets to find out stuff out of the box .
    Honestly best book ever couldn't put it down has ever thing a great book need action,love, drama and mistery. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Amazing? I think YES! :D

    This book is amazing! I love it soo much! Theres no confusion, plenty of details, and Dante seems HOT! (: if youre looking for a good read, its your lucky day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Extremely Underwhelmed

    Lisa Mangum had an interesting concept; time travel is cool, and I love the tie in she made with Leonardo Da Vinci. I also really liked the classic literature references (except for Dante's Inferno; Mangum tried to make it seem like it was about a love story between Dante and Beatrice, and it wasn't at all. She clearly didn't read Dante's Inferno). But unfortunately she ruined her book with a really boring romance. I hate when books have the potential to be awesome and then the author ruins their awesome idea with romance. I can't even explain how dull Dante and Abby were as a couple. There was no chemistry between them at all. The author spent more time telling us why they were a cute couple, instead of SHOWING us why they were cute. There was never a moment where I understood why they liked eachother. From what I read the only reason Abby liked Dante was becease he was Italian, sexy, and mysterious. And he liked her because.....she was special? I don't know. This book was filled with two dementional characters, lazy character development, and a boring and slow plot (not that there was much of a plot). If you like stories where the romance is the main plot, then you might like this. But, if you prefer romance to be a subplot, then this deffinitely isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kind of confusing

    I liked the Hourglass Door. It's an interesting story but still was kind of confused. Even when the things I questioned were answered I still felt like they werent fully answered. I wish that the main character was stronger-she seems to depend on the guys in her life to give her a voice. The ending was a pretty good cliffhanger. Looking forward to reading the next one but not in a hurry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommned, beautifully written, a great story!!!

    I absolutely loved The Hourglass Door! This is, obviously, the first novel I've ever read by Lisa Mangum and I don't hesitate to say that she, along with many others, has a beautiful talent. Her writing it wonderful! Although she started the book with the writing style that I typically try to stay away from, I was instantly captivated. I had been told that this particular writing style could be quite effective when used correctly and add more emphasis to a story. This is the first time I've ever found that to be true.

    Lisa Mangum has crafted a beautifully, unforgettable novel full of love and mystery.

    This is easily one of my favorite books. The plot was wonderfully balanced between action, mystery, and love. There were times when she'd begin to reveal something and you'd be able to guess exactly what it was, but only moments before you read the revelation a few lines later. I found that so....smart. Instead of leaving the reader wondering the whole time, she'd bring something up and just as you guess what the answer is, boom. You read it. I don't know if she did that to play to her strengths or not but I think it was smart.

    I really enjoyed reading how Abby and Dante fall in love. For the first 200 pages or so, he comes so close but pulls away from Abby. You can literally feel how close they are to falling in love. The final moment is kept tantalizingly close yet so far at the same time. It was beautifully done. This is possibly by far, the best romance novel I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Will be absorbed

    Follow Abby during her senior year as she meets Dante. A mysterious fellow student who brings charm, and romance and a secret. Discover how Leonardo DaVinci plays into this most fascinating twist of a tale. And if you are like me you will finish it and be running out to get book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    AMAZING

    I am in the middle of this book now and I am having a hard time putting it down for classes and homework! This book is amazing and is definatly one of my favorite books out of all the books I have read (which is a lot)! Dante is easy to fall in love with! I highly highly recomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    An Amazing Romance

    I fell in love with Dante somwhere in this book. Who can't? He's an amazing, mysterious, Italian speaking,time traveler! It's a good love story with a really thrilling back story that makes it different from most teen romances. If you're a sucker for dreamy Italians then this is the book for you, and if not, you'll still love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    Page-turning and heart melting

    I'm a lover of literature. This book however brought about emotions deep within, that no book has ever done before. I tried my hardest to savor every word, every page, to make it last.

    Eloquently written, I finished it tonight at 1:33 a.m and I will purchase The Golden Spiral tomorrow afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Best Book ever

    This is totally the best book ever. This is definitly an all nighter book, which is a total bummer if you have school in the morning. The characters are so real. You can't help but fall in love with the characters, especially Dante:) The plot line is amazing. The plot line is constantly changing and twisting. If you are a Twilight fan then this book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Great

    i couldnt stop reading ! it was great i would recommend this book to anyone who likes a great supernatuural romance book ! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4